Breihan Malecek Associates

Agent Team Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Alliance Real Estate - Clayton/Ladue Office

The Power of Teamwork: We've grown to meet the demands of the marketplace and better serve our client base. Breihan Malecek Associates includes six full time professionals including Steve Breihan, Carolyn Malecek, Erik Petersen, and Lizz James who have over 50+ years of combined real estate expertise. "Meeting our clients' needs is our first priority!"

Janet Embree, our transaction coordinator, brings a unique and desirable skill set with 35 years experience in mortgage banking and title services guaranteeing a smooth buying and selling process and experience for our clients.

Michael Gianino, our marketing coordinator, brings over 30 years of marketing expertise to our team and is responsible for implementing progressive and innovative strategies to market your home.


Experience: Over 50 years of combined real estate expertise in assisting buyers and sellers

Consistency: Recipients of Saint Louis Magazine's 5 Start Best In Client Satisfaction Award for 11 consecutive years

Proven Results: Ranked in the Top 1% of all St. Louis agents and Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices agents nationwide with over $421 million in sales

Background Counts...
  • Licensed Realtors with 50+ years of combined experience
  • Life-long St. Louis residents - excellent market knowledge
  • Multi-million dollar producers - sold over $38 million in 2017
  • Ranked in the top 1% of all real estate agents in entire St. Louis metro area
  • Ranked #2 in the Berkshire Hathaway Alliance Clayton/Ladue Office in 2017
  • Ranked #4 companywide at Berkshire Hathaway Alliance in 2017
  • Member of the prestigious Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Chairman's Circle Diamond Club - only the top 1% of all Berkshire Hathaway agents nationwide are members
  • Recipients of St. Louis Magazine's "Five Star Best In Client Satisfaction Real Estate Agent Award" for the past 11 consecutive years
  • 2016 Berkshire Hathaway Alliance Distinguished Community Service Award given to Carolyn - annual company award given to the agent who is most exemplary for their commitment to community service work
  • 2015 Henry J. Aydt Service Award given to Steve - annual company award given to the agent in the company who represents the highest level of honesty, integrity and ethics in the real estate industry
  • 2013 Berkshire Hathaway Legend Award
  • Berkshire Hathaway Alliance Rising Star Awards given to Lizz and Erik for their high achievement in sales in their first full years as licensed agents
  • Certified Corporate Relocation Specialists for clients relocating to and from St. Louis
  • Luxury Home Specialists
Sep 27, 2017
Steve and his team were extremely responsive during every part of my purchasing process. Steve always made himself available. His attention to detail was excellent. He truly cared about me and wanted to make sure I found the best home. He was open and honest and always gave me great insight. I would certainly refer Steve to others, and I will be certain to use him in the future.

Jan 30, 2017
We were first time home buyers, and Steve took the time to prepare us for the process ahead of time. He and his office seemed like they were always anticipating what was coming up next.

Steve was always very quick to respond to our texts and to keep us updated on developments.

I felt like Steve was very easy to communicate with. He was great at advising us while allowing space for us to make decisions. He took the time to get to know us and what we were looking for in a home.

We didn't really have many issues, but the few minor things that came up were taken care of very quickly.

Steve and Carolyn and their office made the process of buying our first home as stress-free as possible. I appreciate their attention to detail and felt like nothing was going to slip through the cracks with them.

Oct 6, 2016
All in all, every phase of the experience was professional, and friendly. Could not ask for a better experience. A 10 in every way.

Sep 9, 2016
Steve game me a lot of information that I didn't know.

I was kept in the loop during the whole process.

Jun 24, 2016
Steve was a professional, thoughtful and helpful expert while we navigated the unknowns during our first home search and buying experience. By the time we move again I'm sure Steve will be retired, but I know we'll search him out for a recommended agent in the future.

Jun 2, 2016
Felt very comfortable with Steve and team; very helpful as I had to move out of the country before the process was complete - was confident all was in good hands. Very appreciative of his help. G

May 31, 2016
Steve is the BEST in the business. This is the second house third house I've bought with him, and I'd definitely use him for all of our St. Louis Real Estate needs.

May 4, 2016
Very pleased with all service. Steve was attentive, helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant at all times.

Dec 16, 2015
Steve and Carolyn are professional, knowledgeable, and supportive. I felt as if I was in good hands throughout the process of selling my home. Working with them was such a pleasure I could sell my home every couple of years. Too bad I hate packing. :-)

Aug 4, 2015
Here is the email that we sent to Steve and Carolyn shortly after the sale. It summarizes our opinions and pretty well answers the questions above. David Wolfersberger Steve and Carolyn , Well we are out of the house! With the help of some friends and the movers we got everything into the trucks and our car and left about 3:45, a bit later than desired but not a problem. We arrived in Paducah about 7 – our Florida adventure has officially begun! Kathleen and I want to thank you again for your efforts to sell our house. We are impressed with your organization, professionalism, attention to detail and the marketing plan, which as Steve said today really did not get fully rolled out! We just cannot imagine a better team we could have used to sell our house. We are especially thankful for your patience with me. Since we have not been through a house sale for years, and then it was a corporate relocation, and because of my predisposition to worry and fret over everything, I am sure I bothered you more than needed but your constant reassurance and advice was very much appreciated. We were thrilled that the house sold without going on the market at over the listing price! Certainly relieved a lot of stress early in the process. Two other things we really appreciated: Sending us all of the documents (sales contract, home inspection, etc.) to us in one package – nice to have all of these documents in one place. Then today Steve presented us the final package of information. These are but two examples of your dedication to your customers. Thank you again. We could not have been more pleased with our relationship with both of you. If this was TripAdvisor we would say you are rated five stars! Sincerely, David and Kathleen

Apr 29, 2015
Steve was fantastic to work with. He kept me up-to-date on everything I needed to know and provided me with a timeline in which I needed to have things completed by (as did Jamey). I had a great experience working with Steve!

Jan 16, 2015
They presented themselves and their marketing plan very well during the initial interview.

They kept us informed all through the process as to what was going on and got back to us by the next day at the latest.

The market would not support the initial listing price. We did more than they suggested in getting the house ready to show and we were glad that we did. It was a very competitive market with very particular buyers.

Their notebooks are very helpful with explaining their approach to selling a home and putting all the paper work together after the closing for reference.

Not approaching the Tile Company before most of the work was done with a suggestion that we made right from the start about the property line dispute.

We achieved our goal of selling a house that we would call difficult in a timely fashion. Steve was very positive about the house from the beginning through out the entire process.

Any concerns that we had were not with the agents but with the process. The real estate contract seems to favor the buyer rather than the seller in the number of times that they can walk away without losing their earnest money. In our opinion, once the sale price is agreed upon and the negotiations finished after the inspections they either buy the house or lose their earnest money. If the can not get insurance or a loan, too bad. They should lose their earnest money for keeping the house off the market.

Sep 21, 2013
Steve would answer my messages even while he was vacationing over a holiday weekend.

He was able to make me feel better when there were bumps in the road.

Aug 25, 2013
Very knowledgable of real estate in the area, and provided helpful suggestions and contact names in preparation for listing and showing the property.

Always available and very professional.

Up to date with the market and keeping informed of any changes and planning accordingly.

Good listener and personable when trying to meet our needs and answer our questions and concerns.

Gave attention to detail in document preparation and provided information and checkpoints to meet requirements for the real estate process to be successfully completed.

Tactfully negotiated several points of concern before the sale was finalized.

Definitely satisfied with the sale of the property, knowledge and attention given by us Mr. Breihan.

Jul 30, 2013
Vert exoerienced, represented me as the buyer with MY interests first.

exceptional follow-up great team in place

Would provide insight on properties before I even had to ask.

Came up with a solution given the quick closing that did not delay our closing

N/A

I've had 10 relocation... Steve and Carolyn were THE BEST!!!

Feb 20, 2013
N/A