Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty - Durham

Home to over 245,000, Durham is at the core of the Durham-Chapel Hill Metro area. Being at the core, it attracts people from all over the state (and further) for work. Whether you are moving to, within or from Durham, our Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty team is ready to help you with any of your real estate needs.

Some fun facts about our office and the Durham area:

Our office has been in the Durham community since 1967, and we continue to love the community more and more each day.

Being in Durham, we are surrounded by some of the most popular universities in the country with NC State University, Duke University, and UNC all less than 30 minutes from our office.

We like to spend our lunch hours dining at Blue Olive, a family operated Mediterranean bistro.

Our favorite thing about the Durham neighborhood is that we are just one mile away from Cameron Indoor Stadium and we get to be part of the "Cameron Crazies" every once in a while.

We have over 50 real estate experts ready to help you buy or sell your next home.


Recommendations (359)

Mar 12, 2018

Katie recommends Sarah and Welsford Artz

After 5 years of marriage and renting, my husband and I were finally ready to purchase a house of our own. We were completely green and knew we needed professional help. Had heard wonderful things about this husband - wife team and they did not disappoint! They walked us through every aspect from all the walk throughs, the inspections, the offers and even referred us to a fantastic mortgage lender. We found the perfect house and hope to be here forever! They really helped take all the fear and guess work out of the whole process. We felt so taken care of with all of their knowledge and experience. We are now thinking of purchasing some investment property and would never work with anyone but Sarah and Welsford!
Mar 12, 2018

Harriett Ware recommends Michelle Stanback

Administrative Assistant

I met Michelle Stanback at a housewarming celebration in Oct, 2017. I expressed my interest in buying a home to her.
Michelle and I spoke via phone call to discuss my options. She assured me that she could have my closing completed by the first of the year.

Michelle is knowledgeable and is very professional!
She is a woman of her word, and she cares about her clients.

If you are in search of a realtor of expertise, do yourself a favor and contact Ms. Michelle Stanback. You'll be glad you did!

Thanks Michelle for an awesome experience with closing on my house, and helping me realize my dream of becoming a homeowner!
Mar 12, 2018

Randall Lanou recommends René Hendrickson

René is positive, professional, skilled, and responsive. What more can you ask?!
Mar 10, 2018

Arnesa & Dženan recommends Dea Irby

Dea came into our life almost by fate, and we could hardy imagine having a different agent. She helped a lot to make this process smooth, efficient and clear to us. We are very pleased.
Mar 10, 2018

Jerome Love recommends Patrick Donahue


Patrick is a real professional, armed with skills chiseled from his years in construction, sales, and project management. He really understands the triangle real estate market and wastes no time offering insight and assistance towards helping his clients. We completed several RE transactions with Patrick's help. He has proven himself to be a valuable part of our property sales and acquisitions team.
Mar 9, 2018

Cameron Richards recommends Patrick Donahue

I have worked with Patrick on several real-estate transactions. His knowledge and professionalism is top notch. Patrick goes out of his way to be available to you as his client and spend time helping you through the entire process rather it be listing a property or searching for and ultimately purchasing a property. You will never feel pressured or rushed. I highly recommend Patrick, you will not find better!
Mar 9, 2018

Frederick Ravin recommends Johnathan Howard

Business & IT Strategist

To say Mr. Howard did a great job as a realtor assisting us in the sale of a family home would be an understatement. He went above the call of duty multiple times working with whomever he needed to in order to close the deal. I would recommend him as a realtor of choice to all of our family and friends.
Mar 8, 2018

Samantha P. recommends Patrick Donahue

Patrick goes above and beyond for his clients. He helped my husband and I with our first home purchase. Throughout the process, he was extremely responsive to calls, texts, and emails. He helped educate us on the loan and closing process, and dealt with issues that arose with our seller quickly and professionally. He even helped us connect with people who were moving and trying to get rid of their furniture and tools so we would have a head start on furnishing our new home.

Since our first home purchase, we have returned to Patrick for help buying a house for our relatives. He networked to get us showings in a competitive neighborhood before homes had even gone up on the market and guided us through to a quick closing. Overall, Patrick is an absolute pleasure to work with and I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a positive realty experience.
Mar 7, 2018

Jeremy Purvis recommends René Hendrickson

René was fantastic. It seems like she knows just about every person, property, and business in the area! When my family moved here almost 5 years ago, she took us under her wing and showed us around Chapel Hill. We weren't ready to buy just then, but she was patient with us an eventually found a perfect starter home for us. We will certainly call René when it's time to move again.
Mar 7, 2018

Mike Pitruzzello recommends René Hendrickson


We moved to the Durham area from Alabama to be close to our grandson. Rene helped us find the perfect home in a great neighborhood, and also found the right financing option for us. She was great!
Mar 7, 2018

Dania Riser recommends René Hendrickson

It is a pleasure to recommend Rene Hendrickson for all of your Real Estate needs. Rene is extremely professional and goes beyond what it's required of her. She is supportive and always readily available to answer questions and address concerns. Most of all she quickly gets the job done.
Mar 7, 2018

Amber Sowa recommends Johnathan Howard

John worked with my husband and I for a year on our home purchase. We knew when we initially reached out that we weren't quite ready to purchase but wanted to get an idea of neighborhoods in the Raleigh-Durham area since we were relocating from Northern Virginia. Without hesitation, he took us on as his clients knowing it would probably be a year before we would purchase. John was very helpful throughout the entire process, giving us a wealth of information on different neighborhoods and towns, sending us potential homes based on our criteria, and checking in with us frequently. Every time we planned to come into town to look at homes, he made sure he was available or made provisions so that one of his colleagues could show us homes. Before we purchased the home we have now, we had an offer in on another home and John went above and beyond to try to make the purchase possible. Although things fell through, we quickly gained momentum again and found our perfect home less than a month later. Working with John over the past year was great and we could tell he is passionate about real estate, finding the right home for his clients, and has grown to be an even more stellar realtor than he was when we first met. Thanks John, for all you did to make our home buying process go as smooth as possible and helping us to find our perfect home.
Mar 6, 2018

Rebecca Merrill recommends René Hendrickson

Executive Coach

Rene is highly skilled at her job and is an incredible negotiator. On top of that, she is charming, engaging, delightful and savvy. I have used her for many different real estate transactions and keep coming back for more. Can't say enough good about her.
Mar 6, 2018

Cliff zinner recommends René Hendrickson


Renee brought us a qualified customer and worked with them and us thru the process to make a happy closing for all.
Mar 6, 2018

Michael Silberman recommends Patrick Donahue

Senior Sales Associate - Auto

Patrick worked with us for well over a year. Keys to his final success were attention to details - even when the "details" ...budget, needs, and wants varied over the 12 plus months; willingness to meet us at times convenient to us even if at strange hours or late on a weekend or even a second or third time as various parents or in-laws wanted to visit the property having not been available on our first visit; and through it all kept a good attitude.
Mar 6, 2018

Rob Maitland recommends René Hendrickson

Attorney at Maitland Law

Rene' Hendrickson is a true professional who always goes above and beyond for her clients. She has a remarkable knack for making relatively small changes to properties which produce huge impacts! She knows well how to maximize the value and marketability of sellers' properties, and also negotiates effectively for buyers' interests. Can't go wrong with Rene'!
Mar 5, 2018

Anna Beggs recommends Dea Irby


Dea is a caring professional. she goes the extra mile for her customers doing her best to deliver the best available solutions. I highly recommend her as a real estate representative
Mar 4, 2018

Shannon and Dee recommends Patrick Donahue

Lovers of Real Estate

Working with Patrick has been a wonderful experience. He is professional, and extremely attentive to our needs and desires for our dream home. Once he finds out what you want, there is no stopping him from finding you the home of your dreams. Patrick is the best and we look forward to continuing to work with him for all of our real estate needs!
Mar 2, 2018

A. Teixeira recommends Patrick Donahue

Associate Director

Patrick has been incredibly knowledgeable, reliable, patient and warm. He has gone above and beyond in supporting our search process. From sending us listings and insights on properties to helping connect us with a variety of inspection professionals-- he's been by our side every step of the way. Patrick has offered grace and calm in the face of some challenging negotiations and been a trusted advisor.
Feb 28, 2018

Tom Justice recommends René Hendrickson

Home Inspector

Rene is a great realtor and a great lady. She has extensive experience and knowledge of the triangle real estate market and always looks out for the best interest of her clients.
Feb 27, 2018

M.Z. Santiago recommends Patrick Donahue

Program Director

Patrick was very professional, patient and supportive as we looked for just the right property for our group. Beyond his skills and experience, Patrick also brought a kindness, warmth and generosity of spirit that made our experience all the better!
Feb 26, 2018

Angela Halley recommends René Hendrickson


Rene has bought and sold four houses for my husband and me. She's done such a great job with every aspect of the process. We refer to her around our house as our Fairy God Realtor. She's smart, strong, and yet wonderfully kind. I'm very grateful to have met her and been so lucky to watch her work her magic. She has a natural talent. I trust her with my life and will always want her on my side.
Feb 25, 2018

Valerie Dunlap recommends Dea Irby


Dea was definitely by our side, all the way. From advising us prior to placing our home on the market to supporting us through the closing process she was there for us. She communicated with us frequently and took care of all the details large and small. She is professional and hard working!
Feb 23, 2018

Tracey Goetz recommends Patrick Donahue


Patrick is one of those people who work extremely hard on problem solving and he doesn’t give up until a solution is found. He is very devoted to helping his clients and using his years of experience in real estate and construction to represent their best interests. He cares about those he works with and is calm and patient in navigating through the home buying and selling process. I am very happy to recommend Patrick
Feb 23, 2018

Mark Wiesner recommends Patrick Donahue


Patrick helped us with two purchases in the Durham Area. The first one was an apartment to be used as rental property and the second was our residence. He was always available at the drop of a hat to show us properties, and was essential in lining up inspections, etc. He is a terrific guy to work with, who also has a background in environmental engineering that is useful in many scenarios. I recommend him very highly.

Our Team