Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty - Durham

Home to over 245,000, Durham is at the core of the Durham-Chapel Hill Metro area. Being at the core, it attracts people from all over the state (and further) for work. Whether you are moving to, within or from Durham, our Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty team is ready to help you with any of your real estate needs.

Some fun facts about our office and the Durham area:

Our office has been in the Durham community since 1967, and we continue to love the community more and more each day.

Being in Durham, we are surrounded by some of the most popular universities in the country with NC State University, Duke University, and UNC all less than 30 minutes from our office.

We like to spend our lunch hours dining at Blue Olive, a family operated Mediterranean bistro.

Our favorite thing about the Durham neighborhood is that we are just one mile away from Cameron Indoor Stadium and we get to be part of the "Cameron Crazies" every once in a while.

We have over 50 real estate experts ready to help you buy or sell your next home.

Share

Recommendations (243)

Nov 4, 2017

Vic Collins recommends Johnathan Howard

Georgia REALTOR

John is a great real estate professional! John knows the markets and provides excellent insight on real estate. If you're looking for a nice, authentic professional experience and knowledgeable expert consider John to help you with your real estate needs.
Oct 30, 2017

Iris Musselwhite recommends Micki Stewart

Collections Tech III, American Red Cross

Well, may I say the Micki Stewart is the absolute best real estate person I have ever dealt with. She is really on top of the game. She is always looking out for your interest in whatever she is doing. The big thing with me is she is always dependable. She is on time and doing whatever she can to see to it that her customer is in on whatever is going on. Can't say enough nice things about her.
My husband and I have been looking for the perfect condo to purchase to retire.
We have made one bid and did not get a deal. Micki was upset and I told her no problem. I said do you have any idea I hear no in my 73 years. Well moving on to the next best deal..
Oct 25, 2017

zuser20170114125946228 recommends Susan Hertz

Susan is nothing short of fabulous! She sold my first home many years ago and recently sold my second. What I love about Susan is that she genuinely loves what she does and is energized by helping her clients meet their needs. Susan walked me through every step of the process, offering her expert knowledge, while listening to my needs and advocating for my interests. I highly recommend Susan Hertz for your next real estate transaction!
Oct 25, 2017

leslief119 recommends Susan Hertz

Having bought six houses and sold three houses, I've seen both what Susan does and how other agents work and I just feel so lucky that I know Susan. She is a great overall agent and an especially great buyer's agent. She saved us from a real mess when she noticed a pipe cover in the back yard and wondered if there might be a water line. It turned out to be a water main and the house wouldn't have been insurable: the people who put an offer that weekend were taken to court to get their earnest money when they backed out. Susan pays attention to EVERYTHING and she gets to know what you like and what you're looking for and she works really hard to make sure you're happy. I enjoy looking at houses with her, talking through details with her, and knowing she has my back. I just love her.
Oct 25, 2017

rshushaker recommends Susan Hertz

I could not have asked for a more competent, knowledgeable real estate agent. I had worked with Susan before, and had the same experience with her thoroughness and extremely helpful ways. She has the expertise and experience that makes the process so much less stressful than it could be. I would highly recommend her to any potential home buyer.
Oct 25, 2017

mcmooney27 recommends Susan Hertz

Susan was the best! I wanted to buy my forever retirement home in Durham but was living 3 hours away. Susan knows the market here and lined up properties that met my specific requirements to optimize my trips to the area. It only took 2 trips and she found the perfect property. Not only that, but Susan went the extra mile to detangle unusual legal issues prior to closing - contacting an absent neighbor about a fence encroachment on the property and resolving a title issue that had to be researched back over 20 years to close. Susan also has great contacts for surveys and other work related to closing and homeownership! Her ethics are beyond reproach and you can count on her for advice and to do what is best for her clients. I have bought and sold several homes over my lifetime and Susan is definitely the best and most helpful realtor I've ever worked with and she will be my friend forever.
Oct 25, 2017

kellydellarocca recommends Susan Hertz

Susan is an amazing real estate agent. We were unfamiliar with the area, and she took a great deal of time to show us various neighborhoods and areas of town. When we finally settled on a house, she was extremely thorough and was most definitely an advocate for us during the negotiation process. We would absolutely use Susan again for our real estate needs in the future!
Oct 25, 2017

SueJarrell9 recommends Susan Hertz

Susan sold my first little "starter home" for me years ago and I've been a fan ever since. She sold our more grown up home as well, and helped tremendously with suggestions for improvements and staging, and we ended up with a full-price contract in just 36 hours. She knows how to price a house.
After that, Susan hung with us as we searched for our current home for more than a year, shifting our thinking about what we wanted several times. Whew!
In between our different transactions my spouse and I recommended Susan to at least a half-dozen friends, and each of them has been happy enough to keep working with her through multiple purchases and sales. I continue to recommend Susan to anyone who is looking to buy or sell - she's the best!
Oct 25, 2017

elizabeth t chang recommends Susan Hertz

Susan found a great agent who helped us sell a condo in our former city. We had worked with a few agents there over the years, but no one we were thrilled with -- so needed help. Susan's method is to get an understanding of your needs, then call realtors in the area and ask around until she gets a recommendation of someone who is a really good match. She contacts that agent, feels them out, then passes on contact information. It worked! We never met the other realtor in person, but talked and emailed with her many times -- she was a great find -- and sold our condo in a week!

Susan also helped us buy a house. I LOVED working with her. She knew her way around buying a brand new house, how to work with the developer, the importance of getting it inspected, and more. She also pointed us to an amazing loan officer. I would work with Susan again in an instant.
Oct 25, 2017

rcjackson2 recommends Susan Hertz

Over the last 20 years my husband I have bought and sold 2 houses with Susan's help and we are currently living in the third house we bought with her help. If I ever decide to move again, my first call will be to Susan. There's no need to call anyone else. Susan is knowledgeable, attentive, and professional. I've learned over the years that no real estate deal is ever smooth. You know you have a great agent when she can successfully represent your interests and ultimately close the deal. Susan is a deal closer!
Oct 25, 2017

lucy817 recommends Susan Hertz

I was a mortgage loan officer for 30 years in Durham and was able to see close up what a fantastic job she did for her clients, time after time. So, when my husband and I decided to sell our house, it was easy to decide to use Susan Hertz as our listing agent. She is extremely knowledgeable about all aspects and concerned, always, about the best interests of her clients. She is calm and thoughtful. I knew we were getting the very best advice on every aspect and at every turn. Our house sold very quickly for an excellent price and the deal went very smoothly. We were both so grateful to be working with Susan. I highly recommend her to anyone wanting to sell or buy a home in the Triangle area.
Oct 25, 2017

user8628810 recommends Susan Hertz

Susan is a real pro. She knows the local market intimately, and was really helpful in pricing the property and developing a marketing strategy that resulted in multiple offers OVER the asking price. She is great on follow-up with all the required paperwork, and was always quick to respond when there were questions.
Oct 25, 2017

lookingforwalter recommends Susan Hertz

Susan Hertz was a great agent when I moved to NC helping me buy and sell my house. But she did much more, she put her knowledge and experience to work and matched me to a great agent in Ohio. Her recommendation was a perfect match who helped me find a new home in one weekend.
Oct 25, 2017

szgeorge recommends Susan Hertz

Susan was recommended to us by employer to assist with finding a home when relocating from FL to NC. In all our interactions she was personable, professional, and very helpful. Easy to talk to while driving around the triangle (even when we had our 3 kids), and knew some good places to grab lunch! Made sure we were weighing all factors (especially resale consideration) in our purchase decision - which was very helpful as we didn't know the area all that well. Finally, she went "above and beyond" in helping to schedule estimates for fencing during the home inspection so we could time fence installation with our occupation.
Oct 25, 2017

RosaCastro4 recommends Susan Hertz

Susan Hertz was recommended to us by a dear friend and we are very glad that we reached out to her. She helped us through the whole process of buying our first house. She is an extraordinary real estate agent and a gentle and friendly person.
She helped us with inspections, repairs and provided advice on issues including permits, taxes and other specific questions for our case. When she didn't know the answer she surely knew where to ask.
She knows well the zone, and she is a hard-working and responsive professional. Susan was always responded quickly to our queries through email and phone. She also reminded us of all deadlines and obligations from the contract.
I would highly recommend Susan.
Oct 25, 2017

adampfaber recommends Susan Hertz

1st time home buyer spoon-fed entire process and grateful for it. Susan Hertz gets it done. Calm, professional, detail oriented, expert knowledge, advocate, a really nice human being. Confidence inspiring. You want Susan in your corner.
Oct 25, 2017

sarahkumacdonald recommends Susan Hertz

Susan was an invaluable asset who came highly recommended, to our family when my father had a stroke and we had to sell his home rather quickly. Not only did she help usher us through a difficult situation, her 30 years of experience proved useful at every turn. She created a feeding frenzy and we had 16 showings in 2 days with 10 offers and we got well above our asking price, even though we listed below. Her understanding of our family's needs during this difficult time was truly remarkable seeing as I was pregnant, and taking care of my father, and we had to do everything remotely from South Carolina while she sold Dad's house in NC. She also navigated the tricky situation of having renters in a current lease while selling our property. I cannot recommend her highly enough!
Oct 25, 2017

beth chang6 recommends Susan Hertz

Wow. Susan Hertz is an extraordinary real estate agent. I've worked with 4 other real estate agents over the years and I'm picky -- and I would choose Susan again in an instant.

Susan helped us identify a house and stayed with us every step of the way, recommending an excellent inspector, mortgage banker, and other subcontractors. She also educated us about the process in North Carolina and what was reasonable to expect.

Susan is knowledgeable, hard-working, flexible, professional, friendly, down-to-earth, resourceful, realistic, and an outstanding problem solver.

She is also incredibly persistent. We had a problem with lots of mold in the crawl space of our brand new home, and she worked on resolving the problem longer than I would have -- and I am one tenacious chic. She first worked with the builder's representative, then -- when we didn't get a satisfactory response from them -- she went up the chain and up the chain and up the chain. For weeks she worked on getting the answers we needed (where did this mold come from? how are you going to keep it away?). I gave up, frankly. There was no other inventory in our price range in the neighborhood we wanted, or she and I would have both walked away from that deal. (We never did get satisfactory response, by the way -- the builder is Lennar.) If there's one person in the world I want fighting for me (outside of my family), it's Susan Hertz.

My sister recommended Susan to me -- she bought and sold three houses with her. At one point in the crazy process, I texted my sister "have I told you how much I love Susan Hertz?". She wasn't surprised.
Oct 25, 2017

MichaelLutz42 recommends Susan Hertz

I strongly recommend Susan as a realtor based on my experiences working with her to sell a rental house that I owned. This was a complex transaction with repairs required, multiple owners of the house, and limited data on pricing. Susan’s expertise and help made this process run extremely efficiently with an outstanding outcome. Susan has great knowledge of the geographical areas that she covers and has extremely helpful advice on vendors that may be needed to address repairs. She is a skilled negotiator and is well versed in all of the intricate details of the residential real estate business. She was incredibly responsive, returning emails and phone calls promptly and was always available.
Oct 25, 2017

dmwojdyla recommends Susan Hertz

We were incredibly lucky that a friend recommended Susan to help us find our first house in Durham. She listened to what we wanted so carefully that, after looking at numerous houses, we settled on the first one she showed us. She knows her stuff and smoothed the way through the negotiating process and the various inspections. She steered us toward the right bank for the best mortgage deal. We thought buying a house would be stressful, but with Susan as our realtor, the experience was a relative breeze. Very highly recommended!
Oct 25, 2017

kpringle1 recommends Susan Hertz

Susan made buying my first house a genuine pleasure. She listened to what I wanted in a house and neighborhood and knew exactly what to show me (and what NOT to show me!). She knows Durham like the back of her hand and she knows housing even better. Susan was able to point to potential issues with houses and made sure the inspector addressed everything thoroughly. I'm still in love with the house I bought! And if I ever want to sell it and by another, I will be going back to Susan!
Oct 25, 2017

Jenette Simpson recommends Susan Hertz

Susan was great. She recommended local resources for home inspection, pest etc. She also checked out on multiple properties if I could add a screen porch by code. She helped me with my two offers and pointed out the pros and cons of each property. She also took my sister and brother in law on house hunting trips to assist with my search as I was in Massachusetts. I would highly recommend Susan. Post buying the property she provided names of handymen, plumbers etc that either she had used or other customers had. I used 3 of them and they were all great.
Oct 25, 2017

zuser20140403180023819 recommends Susan Hertz

Susan Hertz has been acting as a buyer's agent for me. When we visit a house, she points out details (positive and negative) that I might have missed. She can explain the finer points of various heating/air conditioning systems, as well as other expensive items. She is very responsive when I contact her to show me a house. I have not yet purchased a house, so I cannot comment yet on her negotiation skills.
Oct 25, 2017

clb7d recommends Susan Hertz

I have bought and sold a number of houses over the past twenty years, and having Susan working with me on my purchase in Trinity Park was the best support I have ever had in the real estate market. She tirelessly showed me every new house that came on the market, helping me search for the one that truly resonated with my wife and me. Once we began the negotiation process, she was detail oriented, and always had my best interests in mind. Her extensive experience in real estate was evident in this regard. At several times in the rather complex negotiation, I was willing to consider cutting corners for expediency purposes, but she wisely advised against, and kept our purchase on track with maximum attention to contract language that would protect my interests. She organized a number of important inspections, and re-inspections, and always directed us to lawyers, inspectors, etc. who were of the highest caliber. She was incredibly responsive, returning emails and phone calls promptly and was always available. And in addition to these critical business skills, she is just a really nice person. If there were six stars in this rating system she would deserve them!!
Oct 25, 2017

anonz1985 recommends Susan Hertz

Susan very clearly explained the process of searching for and buying a home in NC. She was always flexible in her making room in her schedule to show me homes. She created a client connect site that would notify me by email when a new house that fit our criteria came up for sale. This was very state of the art and made the search so easy. She would take me to see the homes for sale and honestly and professionally advise me on the pros and cons of each house. She understood our needs and wants in a home and that reflected in the choices of homes she showed me. She became a great advocate for us in the search.

I enjoyed getting to know Susan and more than just a Realtor she became a friend. Her professionalism was impressive. I could tell she genuinely was there to help us and not just to make money. She was very understanding when sometimes we'd change our minds on house features. She has had years of experience and knows the ups and downs of home searching. She knows the Durham NC area well.
She never rushed me and I always felt comfortable sharing any thoughts about the homes we saw.
The office is beautiful and very organized. Susan is completely competent in her computer skills and using today's up-to-date technology to help make the home searching efficient.
She was very responsive in getting back to me quickly with answers to my questions by email or phone.
I would not hesitate to recommend Susan Hertz as a Realtor in the Durham area.

Our Team