Susan Hertz

Agent Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty - Durham

Share

Aug 6, 2018
We are so glad that we found Susan, who helped us in buying our first home in Raleigh, NC. We were pretty new to the area and to the whole process but with Susan's guidance, it all worked out so seamlessly and hassle free. She took out time and showed us different neighbourhoods and described pros and cons of each based on our requirements, which really helped us a lot. We loved working with her and would love to work with her again for all our real estate needs. We are also going to recommend her to all our friends who plan to buy/sell a home. She is the best in the marked.
Aug 6, 2018
Susan is everything we hoped for in real estate agent, and much more. As out-of-town buyers we especially appreciated that Susan is highly professional, exceptionally easy to reach, responsive, proactive, and very well-connected in the Durham community, including inspection, contractors and craft specialists. We were "out of town" purchasers. We talked with Susan by phone and e-mail, and made an exploratory trip to Durham. She gave us a tour of the area and a few houses she thought we might like, and we found the perfect house on this "exploratory" trip. Then, while we lived 1200 miles and a time zone away, she shepherded us from offer through closing - and represented us in dealing with jobs like inspections and estimates that we couldn't manage at a distance. And as closing approached and we began planning renovations, Susan was a font of helpful advice and contacts. Every recommended contractor has done great work at a fair price. She made buying a house from a distance as easy as it could be. We recommend her highly. If we ever sell our house and/or buy another, she will be our agent.
Aug 6, 2018
Susan worked miracles on the sale of our Mother’s home. We had multiple offers within 24 hours. Her professionalism, real estate knowledge and calm and soothing manner helped guide us through a timely and successful FHA closing. I was a real estate broker for many years and can attest to the fact that Susan is one of the best in the industry!
Aug 6, 2018
I can't say enough about my experience with Susan. She is an exceptional realtor with decades of experience. She is a wise counselor who wants to see you in the house you desire. She is a skilled negotiator and loyal advocate who conducts herself ethically and in the best of her clients. Susan is a wonderful realtor and a lovely person. You won't regret working with her!
Aug 6, 2018
This is the third home I've worked with Susan Hertz to buy and/or sell. She is the consummate professional, knows the market, and is able to provide guidance on everything related to real estate. She's a pleasure to work with and I have and will continue to recommend her to friends who seek the 'best of the best'.
Aug 6, 2018
The sale of our house went wonderfully. We had done a few things to spruce up the outside of the house, but nothing to fix up the inside. Due to the hot market, Susan suggested we try to sell it as was inside, asking somewhat less than we would have if all the work had been done. We had three offers within 30 hours of the house being put on the market, two of which were more than our asking price.
Aug 6, 2018
I was a mortgage loan officer for 30 years in Durham and was able to see close up what a fantastic job Susan Hertz did for her clients, time after time. So, when my husband and I decided to sell our house, it was easy to decide to use her as our listing agent. She is extremely knowledgeable about all aspects and concerned, always, about the best interests of her clients. She is calm and thoughtful. I knew we were getting the very best advice on every aspect and at every turn. Our house sold very quickly for an excellent price and the deal went very smoothly. We were both so grateful to be working with Susan. I highly recommend her to anyone wanting to sell or buy a home in the Triangle area.
Aug 6, 2018
Susan was the best! I wanted to buy my forever retirement home in Durham but was living 3 hours away. Susan knows the market here and lined up properties that met my specific requirements to optimize my trips to the area. It only took 2 trips and she found the perfect property. Not only that, but Susan went the extra mile to detangle unusual legal issues prior to closing - contacting an absent neighbor about a fence encroachment on the property and resolving a title issue that had to be researched back over 20 years to close. Susan also has great contacts for surveys and other work related to closing and homeownership! Her ethics are beyond reproach and you can count on her for advice and to do what is best for her clients. I have bought and sold several homes over my lifetime and Susan is definitely the best and most helpful realtor I've ever worked with and she will be my friend forever.
Aug 6, 2018
Susan is the consummate professional. She is knowledgeable in regard to all aspects of real estate marketing and sales and was very responsive to my inquiries, immediately handing any issues that arose. I trusted her judgement in every way and would highly recommend her. I have both bought and sold a house through her over the years and found her to not only be a great agent but a wonderful person!
Aug 6, 2018
This is the second time I've used Susan as both Listing and Buyer's Agent. Everything went very smoothly both times and I couldn't be more pleased with her as a realtor. She probably showed me about 30-40 residences in late 2017-early 2018 and never seemed to lose her patience or tire easily. She also has a wealth of knowledge and resources at her fingertips. Susan walked me through the process of buying and selling again (as I didn't remember much from 12 years prior) and answered all my questions thoroughly. She definitely goes above and beyond and I would highly recommend her to anyone looking to buy or sell property. Although I don't plan to move again, know that if I do I will never use another broker as long as Susan is available.
Aug 6, 2018
Susan was referred to me by a friend when I needed to sell my house in Durham NC, after moving to New Orleans. I can't say enough great things about the experience. I had previously spoken to another broker, who had me convinced that I needed to invest money in upgrading certain parts of the house before putting it on the market -- a difficult thing to do from afar. in contrast, Susan was immediately positive about the house and its attributes, and suggested putting the house on the market immediately - as is- to take advantage of a limited market. So I took her advice, and had 6 offers in one day and ended up selling the house for $30K over the listing price. After the negative experience I had with the first broker, working with Susan was a breeze. I was able to sell the house without coming back to Durham at all!! She communicated well and was an absolute DREAM to work with. I can't say enough good things about her!!!!
Aug 6, 2018
Susan has worked with us on 2 house sales and 2 purchases, and I have happily recommended her to friends and family. She’s a terrific and thorough realtor - there’s no one better!
Aug 6, 2018
Susan Hertz has extraordinary knowledge of home construction and the real estate market to help buyers make wise decisions. She also has excellent customer service skills. I strongly recommend her services!
Oct 25, 2017
Susan is nothing short of fabulous! She sold my first home many years ago and recently sold my second. What I love about Susan is that she genuinely loves what she does and is energized by helping her clients meet their needs. Susan walked me through every step of the process, offering her expert knowledge, while listening to my needs and advocating for my interests. I highly recommend Susan Hertz for your next real estate transaction!
Oct 25, 2017
Having bought six houses and sold three houses, I've seen both what Susan does and how other agents work and I just feel so lucky that I know Susan. She is a great overall agent and an especially great buyer's agent. She saved us from a real mess when she noticed a pipe cover in the back yard and wondered if there might be a water line. It turned out to be a water main and the house wouldn't have been insurable: the people who put an offer that weekend were taken to court to get their earnest money when they backed out. Susan pays attention to EVERYTHING and she gets to know what you like and what you're looking for and she works really hard to make sure you're happy. I enjoy looking at houses with her, talking through details with her, and knowing she has my back. I just love her.
Oct 25, 2017
I could not have asked for a more competent, knowledgeable real estate agent. I had worked with Susan before, and had the same experience with her thoroughness and extremely helpful ways. She has the expertise and experience that makes the process so much less stressful than it could be. I would highly recommend her to any potential home buyer.
Oct 25, 2017
Susan was the best! I wanted to buy my forever retirement home in Durham but was living 3 hours away. Susan knows the market here and lined up properties that met my specific requirements to optimize my trips to the area. It only took 2 trips and she found the perfect property. Not only that, but Susan went the extra mile to detangle unusual legal issues prior to closing - contacting an absent neighbor about a fence encroachment on the property and resolving a title issue that had to be researched back over 20 years to close. Susan also has great contacts for surveys and other work related to closing and homeownership! Her ethics are beyond reproach and you can count on her for advice and to do what is best for her clients. I have bought and sold several homes over my lifetime and Susan is definitely the best and most helpful realtor I've ever worked with and she will be my friend forever.
Oct 25, 2017
Susan is an amazing real estate agent. We were unfamiliar with the area, and she took a great deal of time to show us various neighborhoods and areas of town. When we finally settled on a house, she was extremely thorough and was most definitely an advocate for us during the negotiation process. We would absolutely use Susan again for our real estate needs in the future!
Oct 25, 2017
Susan sold my first little "starter home" for me years ago and I've been a fan ever since. She sold our more grown up home as well, and helped tremendously with suggestions for improvements and staging, and we ended up with a full-price contract in just 36 hours. She knows how to price a house.
After that, Susan hung with us as we searched for our current home for more than a year, shifting our thinking about what we wanted several times. Whew!
In between our different transactions my spouse and I recommended Susan to at least a half-dozen friends, and each of them has been happy enough to keep working with her through multiple purchases and sales. I continue to recommend Susan to anyone who is looking to buy or sell - she's the best!
Oct 25, 2017
Susan found a great agent who helped us sell a condo in our former city. We had worked with a few agents there over the years, but no one we were thrilled with -- so needed help. Susan's method is to get an understanding of your needs, then call realtors in the area and ask around until she gets a recommendation of someone who is a really good match. She contacts that agent, feels them out, then passes on contact information. It worked! We never met the other realtor in person, but talked and emailed with her many times -- she was a great find -- and sold our condo in a week!

Susan also helped us buy a house. I LOVED working with her. She knew her way around buying a brand new house, how to work with the developer, the importance of getting it inspected, and more. She also pointed us to an amazing loan officer. I would work with Susan again in an instant.
Oct 25, 2017
Over the last 20 years my husband I have bought and sold 2 houses with Susan's help and we are currently living in the third house we bought with her help. If I ever decide to move again, my first call will be to Susan. There's no need to call anyone else. Susan is knowledgeable, attentive, and professional. I've learned over the years that no real estate deal is ever smooth. You know you have a great agent when she can successfully represent your interests and ultimately close the deal. Susan is a deal closer!
Oct 25, 2017
I was a mortgage loan officer for 30 years in Durham and was able to see close up what a fantastic job she did for her clients, time after time. So, when my husband and I decided to sell our house, it was easy to decide to use Susan Hertz as our listing agent. She is extremely knowledgeable about all aspects and concerned, always, about the best interests of her clients. She is calm and thoughtful. I knew we were getting the very best advice on every aspect and at every turn. Our house sold very quickly for an excellent price and the deal went very smoothly. We were both so grateful to be working with Susan. I highly recommend her to anyone wanting to sell or buy a home in the Triangle area.
Oct 25, 2017
Susan is a real pro. She knows the local market intimately, and was really helpful in pricing the property and developing a marketing strategy that resulted in multiple offers OVER the asking price. She is great on follow-up with all the required paperwork, and was always quick to respond when there were questions.
Oct 25, 2017
Susan Hertz was a great agent when I moved to NC helping me buy and sell my house. But she did much more, she put her knowledge and experience to work and matched me to a great agent in Ohio. Her recommendation was a perfect match who helped me find a new home in one weekend.
Oct 25, 2017
Susan was recommended to us by employer to assist with finding a home when relocating from FL to NC. In all our interactions she was personable, professional, and very helpful. Easy to talk to while driving around the triangle (even when we had our 3 kids), and knew some good places to grab lunch! Made sure we were weighing all factors (especially resale consideration) in our purchase decision - which was very helpful as we didn't know the area all that well. Finally, she went "above and beyond" in helping to schedule estimates for fencing during the home inspection so we could time fence installation with our occupation.