Kathryn Washburn

Agent Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty - Durham

Durham is an amazing North Carolina city full of culture, eclectic dining experiences, and great homes. Having lived in the area and worked at Duke University Hospital for the past twenty years I have come to know the charm and mystique of this area well.

As your realtor, I bring a wealth of knowledge to the table. I know the area well and have a good sense of understanding for the unique needs of different individuals.


I hope you will call on me if you have any residential or investment real estate needs or questions.


Share

Oct 9, 2017
I moved to Durham from Eugene, OR in 2013. I was lucky enough to find a rental on Craigslist and Kathryn Washburn was my landlord. Kathryn made sure that my move into her rental unit was an easy process. She responds to questions and concerns very quickly and thoroughly. I highly recommend her as a realtor & landlord.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn is the best. we live in Massachusetts and were interested in purchasing a home in durham. we called Kathryn because we saw other glowing reviews and she readily gave us lots of information about neighborhoods and likely places for us to look. we decided that we liked a house we saw on line and then went to durham and spent a day with k. she wanted to make sure we were going to be happy with our choice. and---when the house needed some carpentry work, she hired the carpenter for us and supervised the work! we really enjoyed working with her, and can't say enough about her knowledge and expertise.
Oct 9, 2017
My wife and I were lucky enough to have Kathryn assist us in finding our home. We were first time buyers and new to the area but Kathryn provided all of the insight and knowledge to find us the right house in the right neighborhood. It has now been 2 years since working with Kathryn and we still keep in touch. We love our house and our neighborhood and could not be happier with our decision. We owe it all to Kathryn.
Oct 9, 2017
With just two quick house-hunting visits, Kathryn helped us cut to the chase about what we were looking for, and facilitated so much with us from afar to make the finding and purchase of a truly fabulous house happen. As our person-on-the-ground, she also helped with many details including inspection, repair, and laying the groundwork for the closing. We highly recommend her!
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn was always very knowable and professional! When snags came along, she had a second and third plan. This process was made so much easier due to Kathryn's knowledge of subs to get punch list done in a timely manner was a plus! She never hesitated to spend long hours with me reassuring me we could accomplish what we needed to sell my townhome. There was never a doubt!
Oct 9, 2017
When undertaking the journey to purchase a new home, whether you approach it as intensely personal (your next or forever space) or a business transaction, Kathryn has your needs covered. Kathryn is personable, thoughtful, knowledgeable, professional and above all else, she is both confident and competent. We had a fantastic experience with Kathryn and I wouldn't think twice before recommending her to others.
Oct 9, 2017
I had less than a month to find and purchase a home. Kathryn jumped right in and helped me out with finding a lender, and guided me through the whole home buying process. We had tight inspection deadlines and had to have some minor septic tank work done, she get it all set up in no time. She even helped me find furniture for my new home! I couldn't be more pleased with Kathryn's service and dedication and would wholeheartedly recommend her to any looking for a home.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn is simply the most talented, most knowledgeable, and the hardest working real estate person I have ever known. But her greatest skill is listening to one's dreams, desires, doubts, and concerns. She helps one truly focus on what's really important, and then searches for properties in a very effective manner. Kathryn is also the pro one wants in their corner when it comes time to make the winning offer, and then closing the deal.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn is a tireless and exceptionally talented agent. She went above and beyond with our houses (the one we bought and the one we sold). We felt well represented and supported through all of the many steps and always trusted that we were in good hands. We were buying and selling older homes and Kathryn was extremely knowledgeable about what we should be looking out for. Highly recommend!
Oct 9, 2017
My husband and I were in the market to buy our first house AND living states away. Kathryn made the whole process manageable for us and was really like a guardian angel helping us navigate an overwhelming process. She was responsive and available to take us looking when we visited before our move. We only had 24 hours to find a place to live and still helped us sign a lease on a wonderful temporary rental home in that short window of time! As our lease ran up she contacted us again with houses in mind. Something special about Kathryn is that she pays attention the personalities of her clients and makes appropriate suggestions for properties to look at. She's easy to work with and knowledgeable about the market. The house we wanted had offers from 8 other bidders but she guided us on how to make a strong offer and we got it. She cares and helps in many ways from finding people the right home to sharing solid home repair references. Thank you Kathryn for helping us become first-time homeowners!
Oct 9, 2017
We found Kathryn to be friendly and professional. She listened to us and took time to get to know both of our preferences - including must haves, and deal breakers. She was straightforward and gave us her honest opinion which we found refreshing. Although it is clear that she knows the market from a financial and statistical perspective, she is also in tune to the emotional aspect of searching for a home. She was patient with us - for example, we went to see one listing 3 times. She didn't pressure us to make a decision. We would recommend Kathryn to anyone wanting to buy or sell real estate in Durham. She has her finger on the pulse of the market
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn was knowledgeable. When repairs were found needed for the house we were selling, she helped us find a reliable and honest contractor to manage the sub specialties for the repair, and we came in under the quoted price for the repairs. Kathryn was quick to respond to questions via email and text and she kept us up to date on the progress of the sale.
Oct 9, 2017
I worked with Kathryn for over a year to find my perfect house. It was not an easy task, but Kathryn was always very professional and friendly with me. She had the patience and expertise to help me find exactly what I wanted, in the area I wanted. I am so thankful for her help and will highly recommend her to anyone looking for a new home.
Oct 9, 2017
She is very knowledgeable with real estate. She kept in touch with us for months before we were ready to buy. When we got ready, she was there for us. She was on top of things from the day we called her with the property of interest up to closing and after closing to check on everything. I was impressed with her negotiating skills and she was thorough at walk through. She gave us the best advice on all paperwork required for the whole process. She prepared us and everything went smooth. I will recommend her to anyone buying a home or looking.
Oct 9, 2017
Excellent! She was so informative and actually helped me even though it was not a sale for her. She put me on touch with another associate that was also able to give me advice and information.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn was a GEM of a realtor. She was very knowledgeable and was like a concerned mother instead of someone trying to sell me anything to get a paycheck. She allowed me to arrive at my own conclusions when looking at houses and offered me advice that was unbiased and honest. She is highly professional, but always has that open heart you need in order to make a great home decision. I would recommend her 1000000x over! There's only so much I can say to really convey the amount of gratitude I have for her and her realtor husband Terry, who also became an integral part of my buying process. If you go to ANY one else besides these two, I know for a fact, you'd be doing yourselves a disservice! Thanks again Kathryn and Terry!
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn was very helpful and responsive throughout my house buying process. If she wasn't able to answer my call she got back with me very quickly. She listened to what I was looking for in a home and helped me stay on target. Kathryn connected me with my finance person which helped take a lot of worry out of the process. When there were a few unexpected hick-ups in the home buying process caused by the sellers, Kathryn was very knowledgeable and provided several options and suggestions to help guide me through the process.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn went the extra mile in helping us close this deal from long distance - 3,000 miles away! She introduced us to handymen, was willing to let us ship boxes of stuff to hold in her office until we arrived by car to move in, and she made recommendations on places to stay and places to buy used furniture. She knows the North Carolina area and also knows the California real estate market and helped us understand the process we were in. She was an exceptional communicator and calmed our nerves when we needed. it. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kathryn and/or reach out to her should we have real estate we want to buy or sell in the area.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn was the consulate real estate professional. She helped me get an estimate on what I should sell the property for, helped me go over the home, with a strong attention to detail, on anything that might need to be fixed prior to listing. She hosted several open houses and actually helped me negotiate and sell the house not once but twice when the 1st buyers fell through.
We had a lot of ups and downs in the Due Diligence piece due to unforeseen Septic issues, but Kathryn helped me weed through all of that and get to closing within the timeframe I had hoped for.
I would highly recommend and will be using her again
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn help me and more so my parents find the home they live in now for their move here to NC. I was the feet on the ground here but she was so understanding and helpful in communicating with my parents and myself keeping us all in the loop even though they were hundreds of miles away. With her expertise and her knowledge we were able to find the perfect home for my mom and dad and they only had to come down here twice. Once to confirm that it was the perfect home for them and the second time for closing. Thank you for making the whole process so easy, you took away all the stress.
Oct 9, 2017
Normally, when renting, you fall in love with the property and hope for the best with your landlord. When renting from Kathryn Washburn, rest assured, as much as you LOVE the property, you will love Kathryn even more! Kathryn has been kind, attentive, knowledgable, accessible, and has made our renting experience easy. I am so grateful for our beautiful rented home, and the knowledge that Kathryn is there for us when we need her, and more promptly than we could have ever hoped for! My fiancé and I could not be more pleased with our experience-- when we are ready to buy, we will trust Kathryn Washburn to guide us to our perfect home!
Oct 9, 2017
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE her! Before I ever signed any paperwork with her (or hinted that I would even be interested in doing so), she took me around for several hours for 2 days on a weekend, just to help me get a lay of the land and a better understanding of the market. Kathryn invests in you! She gives you honest assessments of your situation and will hold your hand through every step (if that's what you need). You will not regret working with her!!!
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn is an INCREDIBLE realtor. She was knowledgable, professional, and so excited to help us find our first home. She listened to all of our wants and needs with regards to what we were looking for in a home and she showed us properties that fit those wants and needs exactly. She helped us through every step of the process and was thorough in explaining the process in its entirety, as we were first time homebuyers with a lot of questions. I would recommend Kathryn to absolutely anyone looking to buy or sell their home, because whoever works with this amazing woman will know that they are in good hands and will be taken care of!
Oct 9, 2017
My wife talk to Kathryn a few months before we put our home on the market. She started sending us information about homes on the market in the Walden Pond area. We were well informed and knew what we should list our home for. Once she became our agent, she really just made the process so easy for us. I would recommend Kathryn to anyone who is looking to sell or buy a home. We are planning on use her again when we decide to purchase another home. Like I told you just recently, Kathryn you are the best. Thanks you the your hard work and dedication to your profession. Terry was very helpful with the sell also. Thanks Terry.
Oct 9, 2017
I have known Kathryn Washburn both personally and professionally for over 15 years. Kathryn is sensitive, intelligent, and keenly insightful. I have observed her masterful negotiating skills on a number of occasions. She has a great way of staying tuned in and persuasive without seeming pushy, and can definitely hold her ground in challenging circumstances. Kathryn's greatest attribute is her wholehearted commitment to remaining ethical, fair and completely honest. Her assistance during our home buying process was invaluable.