Kathryn Washburn

Agent Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty - Durham
Durham is an amazing North Carolina city full of culture, eclectic dining experiences, and great homes. Having lived in the area and worked at Duke University Hospital for the past twenty years I have come to know the charm and mystique of this area well. As your realtor, I bring a wealth of knowledge to the table. I know the area well and have a good sense of understanding for the unique needs of different individuals. I hope you will call on me if you have any residential or investment real estate needs or questions.
Aug 22, 2018
Kathryn was very dedicated and committed to us as clients. She went the extra mile to make sure we had the best possible outcome when selling our house and that the process was as smooth as it could be. She kept us informed of every step. I definitely recommend her!
Aug 22, 2018
We have thoroughly enjoyed working with Kathryn. She is very quick to respond to questions and eager to help in finding you the best home for you. I appreciate her honesty and willingness to go the extra mile. I would highly recommend her to others for their real estate needs.
Aug 22, 2018
Could not have been more pleased or asked for a better experience. Kathryn was fantastic. She knew the market and she told it like it was to help us make the best decisions when selling my mother's house. As a result we put on the market, sold and closed within 30 days. She was quick to respond to questions and stay in contact; and even arranged it so that the sale could be completed without my mother having to travel back. Would and do recommend Kathryn every chance I get.
Aug 22, 2018
As a new and young home buyer, Kathryn was exactly what I needed to get through buying my first home. She explained everything to me so I understood, she was patient and flexible. She took the time to understand what I wanted and she helped me to find just that. She is well seasoned, knowledgeable and fierce! When I got anxious and worried, she was able to reassure me and sure enough she fulfilled everything we set out to accomplish. Kathryn is also fun to work with and truly loves what she does which makes all the difference when making such a big decision.
Aug 20, 2018
Working with Kathryn was an amazing experience. We met her at an open house for a home she had listed. We quickly came to realize that she had extraordinary knowledge and experience with homes in the neighborhood that we were most interested in. She went above and beyond in helping us find a home, negotiate an appropriate and fair price, and get all the details handled in time for a closing less than 30 days from when we first saw the house! Thrilled!
Aug 20, 2018
Kathryn worked night and day to make the home buying process as painless as it could possibly be for us. Her attention to detail and around the clock availability was something we have never experienced in our home buying in the past. She found us exactly what we were looking for and got it at the price we wanted to pay. I recommend her without reservation. (And bonus: She makes a mean pepper jelly for her clients at Christmas!)
Aug 20, 2018
Kathryn is FANTASTIC! We had been looking for a first house to buy for nearly six months before we started working with Kathryn. We were so impressed with her knowledge of the market here and her ability to help us put together the perfect offer in a very tough market. For the house we ended up buying, Kathryn and her husband came out in 6 inches of snow to show us the house, and after our offer was accepted, she was relentless in working for us to make sure the sellers took care of everything that needed to be done at the house. She went the extra mile to make sure everything was ready and that our house was perfect. We couldn't be happier with our decision to work with Kathryn and would recommend her to anyone buying a home in the Triangle.
Aug 20, 2018
Kathryn is an absolutely exceptional real estate agent! A couple of points really stand out:

1.) She is incredibly trustworthy and conducts all of her business with the utmost integrity.
2.) She is organized, knowledgeable, and highly efficient. Especially in the current Durham market, these traits were truly invaluable.
3.) She is a joy to work with - she is friendly, professional, and always ready to offer expert advice.

All in all, I would recommend her very highly!!
Aug 20, 2018
Kathryn worked tirelessly to ensure the sale of my 2200sf home in Northern Durham. She advised me on updating the home to improve its overall value, and provided me with countless contacts that continuously came in below the competition. When the house didn't sell as quickly as we expected, she and her husband went above and beyond to help solve any emergency to arise. Kathryn was a huge support for me in a very difficult living transition. I always felt 100% confidence in her ability as a realtor and a salesman.
Aug 20, 2018
Wonderful realtor. Figured out my likes and dislikes before taking me to see houses so it did not take so long. Managed everything with my purchase so I did not have to worry about anything through closing. Taught me about Durham and the surrounding area once I moved since I was moving from out of state. Got me referrals for all the services I would need one I moved in that have also been fantastic. It would have been so much harder moving across the country without her.
Aug 20, 2018
Kathryn is a wonderful realtor. She worked tirelessly to get my house on the market within only a few short days, had it sold within a weekend and above asking price. Even coordinated electrical, painting, and dry wall repairs at the last minute.

Kathryn then spent a great deal of time meticulously reviewing houses when it was time to purchase a new home. She had an incredible amount of knowledge in regards to the real estate market and current housing trends. Consistently able to meet for spur of the moment home viewings. Upon finding a house that was perfect for me, was a rock star with negotiating! Efficient and worry free process overall. Kathryn even sent closing documents on a flash drive within a week of closing, for convenience.

Could not be more satisfied with my experience. Kathryn thought of every single detail that truly made for a great home selling and buying experience.
Aug 20, 2018
Fantastic at every aspect of her job. will definitely be recommending her to everyone i know and contacting her again when we look for our next home. she is very knowledgeable about the area and homes.
Aug 20, 2018
Kathryn represented us in the marketing and sale of our home as well as in the buying of our new home. We could not have had better representation in either transaction. Kathryn is always willing to go the extra mile to meet her clients' needs. Let me just say you cannot find a better realtor in the Triangle area to assist you in the sale of your home or to help you find the perfect home to buy.
Aug 20, 2018
Kathryn is extremely knowledgeable, responsive, honest, and strong. She truly works hard with her clients to make sure they have the information they need to make an informed and confident decision. If you are serious about buying/selling a home, she is the professional you need.
Oct 9, 2017
I moved to Durham from Eugene, OR in 2013. I was lucky enough to find a rental on Craigslist and Kathryn Washburn was my landlord. Kathryn made sure that my move into her rental unit was an easy process. She responds to questions and concerns very quickly and thoroughly. I highly recommend her as a realtor & landlord.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn is the best. we live in Massachusetts and were interested in purchasing a home in durham. we called Kathryn because we saw other glowing reviews and she readily gave us lots of information about neighborhoods and likely places for us to look. we decided that we liked a house we saw on line and then went to durham and spent a day with k. she wanted to make sure we were going to be happy with our choice. and---when the house needed some carpentry work, she hired the carpenter for us and supervised the work! we really enjoyed working with her, and can't say enough about her knowledge and expertise.
Oct 9, 2017
My wife and I were lucky enough to have Kathryn assist us in finding our home. We were first time buyers and new to the area but Kathryn provided all of the insight and knowledge to find us the right house in the right neighborhood. It has now been 2 years since working with Kathryn and we still keep in touch. We love our house and our neighborhood and could not be happier with our decision. We owe it all to Kathryn.
Oct 9, 2017
With just two quick house-hunting visits, Kathryn helped us cut to the chase about what we were looking for, and facilitated so much with us from afar to make the finding and purchase of a truly fabulous house happen. As our person-on-the-ground, she also helped with many details including inspection, repair, and laying the groundwork for the closing. We highly recommend her!
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn was always very knowable and professional! When snags came along, she had a second and third plan. This process was made so much easier due to Kathryn's knowledge of subs to get punch list done in a timely manner was a plus! She never hesitated to spend long hours with me reassuring me we could accomplish what we needed to sell my townhome. There was never a doubt!
Oct 9, 2017
When undertaking the journey to purchase a new home, whether you approach it as intensely personal (your next or forever space) or a business transaction, Kathryn has your needs covered. Kathryn is personable, thoughtful, knowledgeable, professional and above all else, she is both confident and competent. We had a fantastic experience with Kathryn and I wouldn't think twice before recommending her to others.
Oct 9, 2017
I had less than a month to find and purchase a home. Kathryn jumped right in and helped me out with finding a lender, and guided me through the whole home buying process. We had tight inspection deadlines and had to have some minor septic tank work done, she get it all set up in no time. She even helped me find furniture for my new home! I couldn't be more pleased with Kathryn's service and dedication and would wholeheartedly recommend her to any looking for a home.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn is simply the most talented, most knowledgeable, and the hardest working real estate person I have ever known. But her greatest skill is listening to one's dreams, desires, doubts, and concerns. She helps one truly focus on what's really important, and then searches for properties in a very effective manner. Kathryn is also the pro one wants in their corner when it comes time to make the winning offer, and then closing the deal.
Oct 9, 2017
Kathryn is a tireless and exceptionally talented agent. She went above and beyond with our houses (the one we bought and the one we sold). We felt well represented and supported through all of the many steps and always trusted that we were in good hands. We were buying and selling older homes and Kathryn was extremely knowledgeable about what we should be looking out for. Highly recommend!
Oct 9, 2017
My husband and I were in the market to buy our first house AND living states away. Kathryn made the whole process manageable for us and was really like a guardian angel helping us navigate an overwhelming process. She was responsive and available to take us looking when we visited before our move. We only had 24 hours to find a place to live and still helped us sign a lease on a wonderful temporary rental home in that short window of time! As our lease ran up she contacted us again with houses in mind. Something special about Kathryn is that she pays attention the personalities of her clients and makes appropriate suggestions for properties to look at. She's easy to work with and knowledgeable about the market. The house we wanted had offers from 8 other bidders but she guided us on how to make a strong offer and we got it. She cares and helps in many ways from finding people the right home to sharing solid home repair references. Thank you Kathryn for helping us become first-time homeowners!
Oct 9, 2017
We found Kathryn to be friendly and professional. She listened to us and took time to get to know both of our preferences - including must haves, and deal breakers. She was straightforward and gave us her honest opinion which we found refreshing. Although it is clear that she knows the market from a financial and statistical perspective, she is also in tune to the emotional aspect of searching for a home. She was patient with us - for example, we went to see one listing 3 times. She didn't pressure us to make a decision. We would recommend Kathryn to anyone wanting to buy or sell real estate in Durham. She has her finger on the pulse of the market