Breihan Malecek Team

Steve Breihan and Carolyn Malecek specialize in helping people buy and sell homes/condos in the St. Louis metro area. They are with Berkshire Hathaway Alliance out of their Clayton/Ladue office located in the Maryland Walk building at 8077 Maryland Avenue in Clayton. They joined Berkshire Hathaway Alliance (formerly Prudential Alliance, Realtors) in 2009 and in 2016 were ranked #2 in the Berkshire Hathaway Alliance Clayton/Ladue Office with a sales volume of over $26 million. Steve and Carolyn are also ranked in the top 1% of all agents in the St. Louis real estate market. They are also members of the prestigious Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Chairman's Circle Platinum Club, Berkshire Hathaway's highest ranking, which is only awarded to the top 1% of all Berkshire Hathaway agents nationwide according to sales volume and production.

Steve and Carolyn started their real estate careers with Gundaker Better Homes & Gardens back in 1994 and 1997, respectively. Steve was the 1995 Rookie of the Year Runner-Up for Better Homes & Gardens nationwide and was awarded the Better Homes & Gardens International President's Council Award. The pair have been close friends for the past 30 years and have worked side by side in the same office since 1997, winning every award their company ever offered for production and customer service. After long careers at Gundaker Better Homes & Gardens (which became Coldwell Banker Gundaker in 2002), Steve and Carolyn decided to partner their business. They made the move to Prudential Alliance (now Berkshire Hathaway) and brought over 31+ years, at that time, of combined real estate experience to their clients while being able to offer even better service and even more availability to both buyers and sellers.


Recommendations (34)

Sep 27, 2017

Tim Hercules recommends Breihan Malecek

Steve and his team were extremely responsive during every part of my purchasing process. Steve always made himself available. His attention to detail was excellent. He truly cared about me and wanted to make sure I found the best home. He was open and honest and always gave me great insight. I would certainly refer Steve to others, and I will be certain to use him in the future.

Jul 21, 2017

Kaitlyn Covington recommends Erik Petersen

Great experience!

Jul 11, 2017

Ethan Brewer recommends Carolyn Malecek

Carolyn really know the area. Even if we were not repeat customers, I would have used her.

The whole team has been great to work with. Organized and able to decifer realtor talk to us normal folk. I also appreciated the lists of things they needed from us and manageable timelines.

Jun 14, 2017

Loren Marshall recommends Carolyn Malecek

ABSOLUTELY! She was excellent in every part of the process.

May 30, 2017

Stephen Murray recommends Carolyn Malecek

What a great team! Couldn't have had a better experience.

Apr 13, 2017

Sheila Hansen recommends Carolyn Malecek

Carolyn was excellent on all fronts. This was a relo move, and what should have easy was full of time consuming annoyances. While we were very frustrated, Carolyn had every answer and support staff to ease the situation. We would heartily recommend Carolyn Malecek to all buyers/sellers! We are grateful for her help.

Mar 31, 2017

Jen Meyer recommends Carolyn Malecek

I cannot say enough about Carolyn. She's uber-responsive, easy and a delight to work with, totally got what I wanted and went above the call of duty. I am privileged to have worked with her.

I mean, the most responsive person ever.

Again, totally impressive.

She's funny, clear, so smart, easy with email, phone, text, whatever.

She guided me through this really complicated process with patience and good humor and I always felt she was my advocate.

I can't imagine a better partner -- things got dramatic there for a while and she was patient with all of my nervousness

OMG totally.

I adore Carolyn and Steve. I am going to miss daily interactions with Carolyn! Can't wait to have her over for a glass of wine at my new place. What a great human being -- really, she saved me!

Mar 6, 2017

Heidi Currie recommends Carolyn Malecek

This was the easiest real estate transaction that I've ever made. Carolyn was so so so wonderful and helpful. She made it effortless.

Jan 30, 2017

Amanda DeBord recommends Breihan Malecek

We were first time home buyers, and Steve took the time to prepare us for the process ahead of time. He and his office seemed like they were always anticipating what was coming up next.

Steve was always very quick to respond to our texts and to keep us updated on developments.

I felt like Steve was very easy to communicate with. He was great at advising us while allowing space for us to make decisions. He took the time to get to know us and what we were looking for in a home.

We didn't really have many issues, but the few minor things that came up were taken care of very quickly.

Steve and Carolyn and their office made the process of buying our first home as stress-free as possible. I appreciate their attention to detail and felt like nothing was going to slip through the cracks with them.

Dec 16, 2016

Alicia Yerxa recommends Carolyn Malecek

Carolyn was absolutely wonderful. I would definitely recommend her to anyone who needed an agent. My husband and I were extremely pleased and had no complaints. She went above and beyond.

Oct 7, 2016

Barbara Snell recommends Lizz James

Lizz was thorough and detail oriented. She handled every issue that arose in the sales process. Excellent agent and very professional.

Very timely. Great liaison between us and the buyer. Handled every issue that came up and kept us informed throughout the process.

Knowledgeable and had a good understanding of the nuances of the local market.

Calm, thorough, timely communication. The other agent was difficult and non-responsive, but Lizz was able to manage the negotiations and sales process in spite of this obstacle.

Very thorough in the entire process. From the day we listed till the day we closed.

Professionally handled every issue that came up.

Without question and already have to several friends.

We've bought and sold many pieces of property and our experience with Lizz James was outstanding. The quality of the agent is the key factor when buying or selling property and Lizz made this sale a success.

Oct 6, 2016

James Schumacker recommends Breihan Malecek

All in all, every phase of the experience was professional, and friendly. Could not ask for a better experience. A 10 in every way.

Sep 9, 2016

Syed Safdar recommends Breihan Malecek

Steve game me a lot of information that I didn't know.

I was kept in the loop during the whole process.

Aug 5, 2016

Christine Hanford recommends Lizz James

We had issues very close to closing and Lizz helped to bring get them resolved. She was extremely helpful managing multiple bids on the property resulting in a very favorable final price. She was very good and easy to work with throughout.

Jun 24, 2016

Jason Erfling recommends Breihan Malecek

Steve was a professional, thoughtful and helpful expert while we navigated the unknowns during our first home search and buying experience. By the time we move again I'm sure Steve will be retired, but I know we'll search him out for a recommended agent in the future.

Jun 2, 2016

Gretchen Spalt recommends Breihan Malecek

Felt very comfortable with Steve and team; very helpful as I had to move out of the country before the process was complete - was confident all was in good hands. Very appreciative of his help. G

May 31, 2016

Genevieve Steidtmann recommends Breihan Malecek

Steve is the BEST in the business. This is the second house third house I've bought with him, and I'd definitely use him for all of our St. Louis Real Estate needs.

May 10, 2016

Nancy Ellermann recommends Carolyn Malecek

Carolyn went above and beyond expectations time and time again. She worked hard on every aspect of selling my parent's house. She is an excellent agent and I would highly recommend her.

May 4, 2016

Jo Ann Moore recommends Breihan Malecek

Very pleased with all service. Steve was attentive, helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant at all times.

Mar 29, 2016

Renee Fraser recommends Carolyn Malecek

Being first time home buyers, we were very thankful for the knowledge Carolyn brought and how thoroughly she walked us through everything.

Carolyn was always available by text or email and responded very quickly.

Jan 14, 2016

Frederick Lewis recommends Carolyn Malecek

I have worked with Carolyn in the past, and I cannot overemphasize what a fantastic job she does. Her client service and attention to detail in every way are nothing short of exemplary. I would not hesitate to use her services again, and I have recommended her to several other people already and will continue to do so.

Dec 30, 2015

Susan White recommends Carolyn Malecek

Carolyn was always very quick to respond to phone calls and emails.

Carolyn and Steve did a very thorough market analysis to help us get the best sales price possible without over pricing the house.

Most attention to detail that I've ever seen from any of the real estate agents that I've worked with in the past. Very organized from the marketing presentation to the final packet at closing. The slick brochures that they left for potential buyers were very nice also.

Carolyn was able to give us the names of reputable people to come fix all of the concerns that came up from the inspection.

I would happily recommend Carolyn and Steve.

The whole process went very smoothly from start to finish. It was a pleasure working with Carolyn.

Dec 16, 2015

Adrienne Bennett recommends Breihan Malecek

Steve and Carolyn are professional, knowledgeable, and supportive. I felt as if I was in good hands throughout the process of selling my home. Working with them was such a pleasure I could sell my home every couple of years. Too bad I hate packing. :-)

Aug 4, 2015

recommends Breihan Malecek

Here is the email that we sent to Steve and Carolyn shortly after the sale. It summarizes our opinions and pretty well answers the questions above. David Wolfersberger Steve and Carolyn , Well we are out of the house! With the help of some friends and the movers we got everything into the trucks and our car and left about 3:45, a bit later than desired but not a problem. We arrived in Paducah about 7 – our Florida adventure has officially begun! Kathleen and I want to thank you again for your efforts to sell our house. We are impressed with your organization, professionalism, attention to detail and the marketing plan, which as Steve said today really did not get fully rolled out! We just cannot imagine a better team we could have used to sell our house. We are especially thankful for your patience with me. Since we have not been through a house sale for years, and then it was a corporate relocation, and because of my predisposition to worry and fret over everything, I am sure I bothered you more than needed but your constant reassurance and advice was very much appreciated. We were thrilled that the house sold without going on the market at over the listing price! Certainly relieved a lot of stress early in the process. Two other things we really appreciated: Sending us all of the documents (sales contract, home inspection, etc.) to us in one package – nice to have all of these documents in one place. Then today Steve presented us the final package of information. These are but two examples of your dedication to your customers. Thank you again. We could not have been more pleased with our relationship with both of you. If this was TripAdvisor we would say you are rated five stars! Sincerely, David and Kathleen

May 28, 2015

Chris Spurlock recommends Carolyn Malecek

We couldn't be more pleased with our experience having Carolyn as our agent. She never led us astray and we had total confidence in her every step of the way. She made a potentially stressful experience easy, and we are forever grateful.

Our Team