Wendy Oshiro

NMLS#391477 - Reverse Mortgage Specialist/ HI Branch Manager Open Mortgage #2975
My parents' sudden loss of independence early in their retirement years took me by surprise. My siblings and I were unprepared. We quickly had to learn about long term care options, LTC insurance policies and various other topics like adult residential care homes, medicare and medicaid. One thing we were certain about was that long term care would be very expensive. In a panic, we sold my parents' home thinking it was the only way we could finance their care.

That was many years ago. I learned soon after selling their home that a reverse mortgage could have made my parents' desire of staying in their home a reality. This experience has contributed to my quest to educate seniors about this option. Since 2007, I've educated hundreds while helping many seniors achieve their financial goals through a reverse mortgage. I count it a blessing serve my customers and would be happy to serve you as well.

Please contact me if you'd like to explore how a reverse mortgage can help you.

Aloha!
Aug 1, 2018
I wanted to get a HECM for Purchase, but Wendy was realistic about the timing since my building was not FHA approved at the time, and I could not meet the sellers time constraints. I later decided to do a reverse mortgage instead and she took care of all the paperwork of getting the building re-certified. Then when we began the process for the reverse mortgage, she explained every detail, and answered all my questions. Sometimes twice!
I highly recommend Wendy to help anyone even thinking about getting help for their situation. She is honest, efficient, and makes herself available to help you every step of the way.
Jul 30, 2018
From the first meeting until the very end Wendy was very professional, knowledgeable, and personable! She was very patient in her dealings with my elderly father and I think went above and beyond to ensure his full understanding before moving forward during each stage. I feel very fortunate to have worked with her and know that she has my father's best interest at heart. Thank you WENDY!!
Jul 26, 2018
Son-in-law to Wendy Oshiro's clients
Let me first say that I do NOT write reviews. However, in this case, I feel compelled to make an exception.

My name is Maurice Yuruki and I am writing on behalf of my in-laws… More specifically, my father-in-law and my mother-in-law. They are both in their late eighties.

In recent months, my in-laws have experienced significant decline in their physical abilities. So much so, that it’s come to the point where it’s no longer “safe” for them to live independently.

As a result, the family was forced to make difficult decisions.

After stewing over several possibilities, The decision was narrowed down to hiring in-home care takers. That way, my In-laws could “age in place” (in the comfort of their home).

This is where the “problem” arose…

As you might imagine, hiring in-home care-takers is prohibitively expensive! Hence, the predicament — how do we pay for it??

Eventually, the subject of a “reverse mortgage” came up — but no one knew anything about it. At this point, it was through God’s good Grace that we heard Wendy Oshiro on a radio spot. I decided to call her, and from the very first contact, Wendy was polite and sincere. She was never pushy or “salesy”.

We arranged a meeting with the family and Wendy Oshiro took the time to thoroughly explain the reverse mortgage concept. Again, she was never pushy or “salesy”. Throughout the entire process, she was very patient, polite, and sincere. As it turned out, a “reverse mortgage” was the exact solution we needed.

To make a long story short… Wendy Oshiro held our hands and walked us through the entire process — from A to Z. All the while displaying her trademark patience and sincerity. I would not be exaggerating if I said that Wendy Oshiro went waaaay above-and-beyond the call of duty to help us. Its not some fake persona... Wendy Oshiro really is a “woman on a mission”. Her heart is to serve and to help!

All I can say is call her, I promise you, you will see this for yourself. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself writing a raving review as well!

Thanks to Wendy Oshiro, my in-laws are now living in the comfort of their home with dependable care-takers.
Apr 16, 2018
Homeowner
I assisted my sister Joann Guild
in getting her reverse mortgage with the help of Wendy Oshiro.
Wendy was so patient and very professional throughout
the very complicated procedure which required her to drive to
Joann's house several times to get her signature on the many
sheets required.
It was a joy working with Wendy and I will contact her in the future
if it becomes necessary.

sincerely,
Herman Smith
Apr 13, 2018
Wendy's personality, "bedside manner", and product knowledge made the complex process of obtaining a reverse mortgage as stress free as could be expected.

I would highly recommend Wendy to any one looking at getting a reverse mortgage.

Michael Arashiro
Jan 29, 2018
Wendy Oshiro is an absolutely amazing and my mom and I loved working with her. She gave us all the information we need to help my mom get a reverse mortgage and everything went smooth. Communication was never a problem and she was on top of everything. She is easy to work with and very pleasant. She even answered all the questions we had. Overall, I highly recommend her.
Jan 27, 2018
Retired
When we first met Wendy Oshiro, we liked her right away. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, had good communication skills, a truly professional manner, and understood our financial goals. It took nearly six month to obtain approval for R/M application due to several challenges, but she handled all and always informed us on the progress. We never felt like giving it up since she consistently encouraged us and we all shared sense of accomplishment when it was approved. We are fully satisfied with her reliable and dedicated attitude. Wendy is a hardworking, top performing R/M professional. She has our highest recommendation.
Jan 25, 2018
Adviser
We had a long and grueling time getting our loan, but Wendy was always there
to keep us updated and doing all she could to push it along. Wendy is very professional and knowledgeable. I am glad we did this together. Wendy made it much easier to believe it was going to happen. I would not have wanted to do this with anyone else.
Aug 16, 2017
It was a pleasure working with Wendy. She has an extensive knowledge of the reverse mortgage process and made sure everything went smoothly. I do feel confident recommending her to others!
Jul 3, 2017
Honolulu Homeowners
We would like to express our deepest gratitude for this beautiful young woman, Wendy Oshiro, who helped us obtain our reverse mortgage about a couple of months ago.

I was opposed to (a reverse mortgage) for awhile because of hearing negative things about it. She was highly recommended by another lender who didn't offer the reverse mortgage. The lender said Wendy would be the right person to help us. At first, I was reluctant to meet her. However, after agreeing to a meeting, it only took a few minutes to feel moved by her sincerity and professionalism.

I truly believe God sent her to help us obtain our reverse mortgage. We are so relieved things are so improved for us financially. Wendy's beauty is reflected in how she handles her profession and we are so thankful God placed her in our lives. Truly, she's a special "gem."

With Much Gratitude,
The Sakanashis.
Jun 14, 2017
Wendy Oshiro is an absolute gem to work with. I worked with her to obtain a reverse mortgage for my parents who live in Hawaii. She made the extra effort to help me with documents and anything else, even after I returned home to San Diego. She is pleasant and easy to work with. She is also patient and willing to answer any questions. Communication was not a problem as I could call, text or email Wendy any time. She replied promptly and kept me updated. I highly recommend her.
May 20, 2017
Daughter and caregiver of mom
A friend suggested that my mom should consider getting a reverse mortgage for her expanding caregiving expenses. I was reluctant because we both didn't know how a reverse mortgage worked and I only heard negative comments about it.
After several months of worry, I kept hearing Wendy Oshiro's voice on the radio telling her story about her parents and how she wants to help others in need. I decided to call Wendy to inquire about how a reverse mortgage really worked and how it could help my mom.
From the first phone call and meeting her in person, Wendy was pleasant, caring and knowledgeable in her business. With that, we decided to go through with it. During the whole process, we were very comfortable working with Wendy and felt a trustworthiness in her. Everything went smoothly and quickly because of her efficiency.
Today, our family feels very blessed that Wendy has helped my mom in getting the quality care she deserves!
Apr 28, 2017
Wendy was awesome. We contacted her to help my mom with a reverse mortgage on her home. Wendy was so reassuring through the whole process. She is extremely knowledgeable about the process and procedures and she was able to explain everything to my mom in clear terms that she could understand and be comfortable with. Wendy was always available to answer any questions and we appreciated her professionalism and attention to detail. What really stood out with us was her genuine concern for my mom. My mother is now living with financial freedom. She is able to pay her monthly expenses and have money left over to do things for herself. I am extremely grateful to Wendy for helping my mom get the financial security she deserves. I would absolutely recommend Wendy for anyone looking for a reverse mortgage.
Apr 24, 2017
Wendy was recommended to me via Bank of Hawaii officer. My case for getting a Reverse Mortgage was quite complicated. My condo association had let our HUD approval lapse and we had to start from scratch. Much documentation was required. Luckily I had a very cooperative Resident Manager who helped out a lot. Wendy was patient and determined which was truly all that saved me. She worked hard, was always pleasant, showed she knew her subject matter, and most of all understood all of my emotions throughout the process. It was long and arduous, but Wendy never flinched. Thanks to Wendy, I recently got my Reverse Mortgage, which has saved me from losing my condo. I can't think of finding a better person to take me through to victory. Wendy is the best and I highly recommend her.
Jan 17, 2017
I definitely recommend Wendy Oshiro if you are looking to get a reverse mortgage.
She gave me excellent service throughout the application process.
She has a thorough understanding of the reverse mortgage instrument, and diligently and patiently addressed each of my concerns and questions.
A reverse mortgage can be overwhelming to the uninitiated, but Wendy's expert knowledge and guidance helped me to make the right choices that fit my needs.
She also walked me through each step of the application process, which allowed things to proceed without any delays. In no time at all I received my first check.
Thank you, Wendy.
Jan 11, 2017
I finally made a decision to do a Reverse Mortgage. I wanted a lender here in Hawaii to help me with the process. Upon making a few phone calls Wendy, was highly rec.ommended. I contacted Wendy and I was very happy I did because she was pleasant, understanding of my needs and very informative on questions I had about the Reverse Mortgage. Any further questions I had we communicated mostly by emai which was convenient for mel. When I had a question(s) she responded quickly even after hours. I would definitely, recommend Wendy to assist anyone who are thinking of doing a Reverse Mortgage. SHE IS THE BEST!
Dec 5, 2016
Real Estate Broker
What a breath of fresh air!!
Wendy's approach to being a outstanding loan officer is full time devotion, attention and a continuous giving of one's self to the satisfaction of her Reverse Mortgage borrower. Her attention to detail is above reproach to the solving of the numerous loan questions and reaching doable solutions. It was indeed a pleasure to have Wendy working this complicated transaction and will use her in all future loan transactions. What a pleasing outcome it was to work with such a dedicated person.
Thank you Wendy,

Gary Deardorff
Realtor/Broker
Nov 28, 2016
Daughter of Elderly Home Owner
My brother and I are so thankful for Wendy. She was friendly and very helpful thru the whole Rev. Mort process. Always on top of things and keeping us well
informed and walked us thru very step. Wendy treated us with such sincerity and true passion. It was a truly a pleasure and a blessing to have her as our helper and friend.
Jun 28, 2016
East Oahu homeowner
When we first started looking around for a reverse mortgage, I interviewed a couple of other specialists before discovering Wendy. It wasn't until meeting with her, however, that we became more comfortable with the reverse mortgage concept. Wendy was not only extremely knowledgeable about the process, but, more importantly, she exhibited such integrity, compassion, caring, and kindness, that she became a trusted advisor to us. We felt an immediate connection with her, and would recommend her very highly to anyone searching for a reverse mortgage professional who will always put their needs ahead of her own.
Jun 24, 2016
Homeowner in Kaimuki
We are so thankful to Wendy and all of her help..we were able to get out from under a big business debt using a reverse mortgage.
Jun 20, 2016
Multi Busi Owner & (Father -Rev. Mtg Customer)
Wendy is very knowledgeable & friendly. She is also very helpful thru the entire Rev. Mtg Loan process!
She offers great customer service & goes that extra mile to help her customers in any way she can!
We both HIGHLY Recommend her for ALL your Rev. Mtg needs!

We are both very happy that we were able to work with her!
Jun 18, 2016
Customer
We met Wendy at a Financial workshop at our church. I was very impressed with her knowledge of the Reverse Mortgage process. As a result, we contacted her to obtain a Revese Mortgage. We found Wendy to be extremely professional and helpful as she navigated us through the loan process. She was able to answer all our questions and she was with us every step along the way to completing the process.

I would strongly recommend Wendy to handle anyone's financial needs, especially Reverse Mortgages.
Jun 18, 2016
Homeowner in Kaneohe, HI
I highly recommend Wendy Oshiro. She has shown high intelligence, dedication, hard work, skill and the ability to achieve a new reverse mortgage for us.
Sep 9, 2015
If you need an advisor for a reverse mortgage Wendy Oshiro is the one to work with. She will provide support and assurance in what could potentially be stressful.

She will explain every step simply and clearly with patience. She is very knowledgeable. We had numerous questions which she answered promptly and and we felt very comfortable during the entire process. She walked us through all the procedures. She provided expert attentive service. Her personality is second to none as well as her professionalism. She always made us feel comfortable.
We are grateful for her assistance.
Jan 2, 2015
Daughter of some exceptionally happy parents in Mililani
My recommendation has been long overdue. My parents were in dire need of a Reverse Mortgage Specialist to help educate them about changes in the reverse mortgage program and the loan process. We were so blessed to find out about Wendy by listening to her advertisement on The FISH radio station. What initially appealed to me were her attributes (faith in and love for God, kindness, integrity, etc.). When I contacted Wendy, she was immediately available, helpful, knowledgeable and on it! We had done a lot of research on reverse mortgage loans for my parents but we still needed someone to move them in the right direction. My parents' case was slightly complicated, but through diligence and guidance, Wendy got them through the entire process painlessly and helped them tremendously. She was there every step of the way! She was incredibly perseverant with my parent's loan, trying numerous avenues as various options weren't open to my parents for one reason or another.

Wendy went above and beyond for my parents. She handled my parents' reverse mortgage loan with great care and was very personable. Wendy treated my parents as if they were her very own parents. Knowing that my mom was not in the best of health, she took time out of her busy schedule to personally come to my parents home and explained the entire process to our family. She was thorough in identifying the standard information we had to gather and then anticipated what the underwriters may possibly want for my parents' situation and gave us time to gather the information before it was requested.

My parents' reverse mortgage loan was approved in a timely fashion and now my entire family has peace of mind that my parents can stay in their own home for the rest of their lives. Once the reverse mortgage loan was approved she handled all the paperwork expertly and efficiently over email, personal delivery, etc.

Wendy is extremely knowledgeable and walks you through the reverse mortgage process step by step. She is friendly, a consummate professional and gets the job done. Honesty, reliability, efficiency, and straight forwardness is what you will get from Wendy. In addition to being patient and understanding - she is always available to answer questions. Wendy always returned our correspondence and answered every little question and detail, if not more. I cannot say enough positive things about our experience with her. I highly recommend her for your reverse mortgage loan needs!

Partner Network

My Associations