Al Colhoun

Broker Associate, Fine Homes & Residential Specialist Sierra Sotheby's International Realty
Al has been immersed in real estate since the mid 1970's, where he began working in the Bay Area, was raised, educated, and where he started his family. A love of Tahoe and a desire to raise his family and live a mountain lifestyle Al, his wife, Nancy and young daughters moved in 1978 to North Lake Tahoe where he began representing buyers and sellers in their real estate endeavors and homes for the Sierra lifestyle.
As a Broker-Associate, licensed in California and Nevada; Al is perceptive, discerning and an excellent problem solver with over 40 years of real estate experience. Al has the skills, experience and extensive local market knowledge cultivated over the years to help his clients prevail whether as a Buyer or Seller.
Al focuses on his client's needs throughout the North Tahoe, Incline Village and Truckee neighborhoods including but not limited to Tahoe City, Carnelian Bay, Kings Beach, Sunnyside, Rubicon, Tahoe Donner and the surrounding areas.
Education is important to Al and he has earned numerous national designations; Accredited Buyer Representative (ABR), Certified Residential Specialist (CRS), Resort and Second Home Specialist (RSPS), Certified Distressed Property Expert (CDPE), Cartus Network USAA & Relocation Specialist and Fine Homes & Resort Specialist.
Al networks with a number of agents throughout California and nationally, as past President of the Northern California Chapter of Certified Residential Specialists and has served as President of the local Real Estate Board and MLS, State Director, and was recognized as Realtor of the Year.
Active in the local community, Al supports youth sports, local organizations and charities through his Kiwanis Club. Al relaxes as an avid fisherman on Lake Tahoe during the summer and fall months and as a skier during the winter months.
Having had extensive training and experience with the latest real estate marketing strategies and negotiation skills in today's fast-paced real estate market, Al is confident tha

Share

Feb 23, 2017
Buyers
We purchased a fractional interest in Kings Beach guided by Al. This interest has unique conditions that require more broker coordination and assistance. Al was very patient and responsive and knows the property and region. Tahoe also has many layers of public agency regulations that he understands. What impressed me most is he had record of a conversation we had on the property a year prior. Local knowledge is most important in specialized mountain communities like Kings Beach and all of Tahoe. We recommend Al's services and professionalism.
Jan 12, 2017
Broker and Founder of StynesGroup Inc. a Keller Williams Team
I have known Al Colhoun for several years through our association with the Council of Residential Specialist (CRS). I’ve always had tremendous respect for Al’s real estate knowledge as such I referred a past clients to Al. My clients were planning to purchase a vacation home in North Lake Tahoe which is outside my service area.

From the day Al first met my clients he took terrific care of their needs. Al showed them several homes in different communities, so they felt they had a good idea of local values. When it came to writing an offer, Al guided them through the entire process without any major setbacks. My past clients are thrilled with their new vacation home and are looking forward to my years of Lake enjoyment.

Thank you, Al, for taking such great care of my clients.
Nov 8, 2016
Homeowner
Al did a fantastic job marketing all the way through to the closure.
He walked us through each step, and made us comfortable with the entire process.
We would highly recommend Al.
Oct 24, 2016
Director of Sales
We used Al to purchase our vacation home in Tahoe. The actual process of finalizing the sale was very complicated given the ownership status of the property, but Al helped find a local attorney who could structure the deal and finalize paperwork for us. Al kept us updated on the progress and despite a very complicated transaction, Al minimized the stress for us.Less
Oct 18, 2016
CEO of Netsoft Search
I called Al to help determine the market value of my home in Tahoe Vista. Al drove to my house that day, walked the house and called the next day with a well thought out estimate for my home. He knew the resent sales in my neighborhood, had data to back up his comps, gave great advice on when and how to sell and on top of that was a great person to work with. When I plan to sell Al will be the first person I call.
Oct 12, 2016
Home Seller in Truckee
He went above and beyond just being our realto more than once. The sale was not easy as we are 200 miles from the home. Having him definitely eased our minds and he communicated well with us on everything.
Sep 29, 2016
retired
Al certainly met all our expectations in selling our Tahoe home. Al is very knowledgeable of the area, market trends and guided us through every aspect of the sale.
He spent time with us and answered all our questions and concerns.
He was our agent when we bought the house twenty-five years ago and there was no one else we would have used to sell our house.
Aug 10, 2016
Sold my Tahoe Home
Al was clear, precise and on point with all of his guidance for our listing at Westshore Lake Tahoe. We sold it in a timely manner largely because of his guidance.
Jun 21, 2016
Retired
Al did a superb job selling our condo.the pictures were so professional and made it look beautiful.he made the whole process easy and went smoothly to the closing end. He is a real pro and a very nice person we would recommend to any one for selling or purchasing a home or condo
Jun 21, 2016
Retired
It is not easy finding the right real estate agent. You worry about everything. Will they work hard to sell your property? Are they knowledgeable? Will they communicate effectively with you to avoid misunderstandings and will they put the time and effort you feel is necessary to sell your property. Our real estate agent, Al Colhoun, was the right person for us. He worked hard and had a strategy to sell our property. He kept us informed throughout the time the property was listed. He was thorough and did everything that was necessary to find the right buyer and complete the transaction. I was not disappointed and without hesitation recommend Al to anyone who is looking for a real estate agent.
May 27, 2016
Bought my first home
I have been working with Al over eight months to find my dream house in Tahoe. We looked at many houses during this time to find the right one. He was always patient and weighted options with me together, I never at any time felt pushed to make a decision.

As a single female from the Bay area, purchasing my first home, Al was always there for me no matter when, no matter what questions I had, especially during the closing period. He organised inspection services and repairs, talked to contractors, disposed of old furniture...

Al is such a wonderful person, I was so lucky to have him as an expert of both location and services, by my side during this exciting (and stressful!!) period.
Feb 2, 2016

My office at Squaw Valley USA

With 8 offices in the Greater Tahoe Area I can meet my customers in person or via Skype anywhere to provide personal real estate service
Jan 16, 2016
We were very pleased to have had Al Cahoun as our realtor. Within a month from the start of our search,we were able to find a house due to Al's knowledge,availability and efficiency.Exceptionally professional,Al followed up constantly on new listings and helped us stay on track with the mortgage group.
Having only the weekends to look for a house ,he made sure to maximize our time while in the area.In addition,Al answered all our questions ,emails and phone calls in a promptly manner.Along with finding the house,he helped with the inspection process and with advice about residing in the area. Also,he was a great  listener throughout the process.We want to give him the maximum stars and to thank him once again.
Jan 12, 2016
Strategist
Al was patient with me from the get-go - as I figured out which area of Tahoe I wanted to zone in on for my second home. He must have taken me to 50 houses at least - and seemed always happy to do so. When I did find the home I eventually bought, he moved swiflty to get me to a smooth closing. I found him to be ethical, caring and efficient. Great combination!
Jan 11, 2016
Technical Marketing Engineer
I cannot say enough about the fantastic job that Al did for my family in finding a Tahoe property. Al's extensive knowledge of the Tahoe real estate market made our search easier than expected. Al was able to match us with a property that matched all of our 'must have' features in the area we desired as well as in the price range that we had targeted.
But his engagement did not stop there. He was involved throughout the entire escrow process, providing guidance and recommendations with the disclosures, TRPA BMP requirements and secondary inspections. He was patient with my myriad of questions even after we closed escrow.
Overall, my wife and I were exceptionally pleased with Al's guidance in finding a Tahoe residence that fits our family perfectly.
Jan 5, 2016
Principal Engineer
After successfully securing two Lake Tahoe properties for us, we call Al, Mr. Tahoe! I cannot tell you how invaluable Al Colhoun has been to my family and me as we navigated our first Tahoe purchases. Al found us our two properties, made sure that sellers provided us properties that were fully compliant with the various local regulations and facilitated necessary inspection and construction work to meet our needs and expectations. When we wanted to make sure we had the best financing, he referred us to an outstanding broker to make sure we were getting the best financing package possible. With Al, we had Complete Service and Complete Satisfaction! We're glad to have a great resource in Al!
Jan 2, 2016
Physician Assistant
Al was great to work with. He took us all around Tahoe to look for just the right thing for us. He was very knowledgeable of the area and what to expect of each city or town we were in. He always had a great smile and was very friendly. It has been years since we bought a condo in Tahoe and we are still in touch with Al. Loved working with him.
Dec 21, 2015
Project Engineer
Al listened to our needs and worked diligently to find a home that matched our desires and budget. He worked as a buyers advocate and managed a flawless transaction. Above all, he was patient and kind and we would highly recommend Al's services.
Sincerely Lance and Nina Maddux
Nov 23, 2015
Owner
Al took great care of all my needs. Explaining, negotiating, making the very best deal for me to sell my apartments. I trusted his many years of experience and the results were fantastic! I highly recommended him.
Nov 14, 2015
We worked with Al on buying a short sale property in Tahoe. It was a complicated situation. Al did a great job keeping on top of the situation over the course of almost 9 months, and gave us the confidence to stay with it. With Al's help, persistence, and savvy, we ended up closing the transaction and felt very good about the outcome. I would highly recommend Al to anyone who is looking in the Tahoe area and needs a responsive agent, who is focused on service and the long-term satisfaction of his clients.
Nov 10, 2015
client
We have owned property in Tahoe for 35 years. We recently began the search for a new home and met Al at an open house. We found him very knowledgeable about the market and eager to be of assistance to us. During the time of our search we became reliant on Al's professionalism, experience, and responsiveness to our wishes. Al was very patient in explaining the new process and rules in effect since we last bought a home. His services continued well after escrow closed. We feel that his expertise and advice made the purchase easy and pleasant. We sincerely recommend Al to anyone looking for an ideal home in Tahoe.
Nov 10, 2015
We were looking for a vacation home in Tahoe for months. Al kept us updated of new listings. We
found our home.
Nov 10, 2015
SVP
My wife and I worked with Al for 3 years before finding our second home in Incline Village NV.
We were referred to Al by a friend and he showed us many properties on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe.
He was very professional and patient with our search and helped us focus on the community of Mill Creek in Incline Village.
He told me about a property that was about to come onto the market, and we jumped on it since it met our needs.
We would sincerely recommend that you work with Al regarding your real estate needs in the Lake Tahoe area.
Thank you,
Eric & Stephanie Cline
Nov 10, 2015
Al made the process of buying our vacation home easy. He was on top of everything, guiding us along the way. Al is clearly a seasoned professional with deep knowledge of real estate. Without hesitation, I would recommend Al to anyone. Thanks, Al!!
Nov 9, 2015
Retired
Al did a fine job for us. He was patient and professional. I do recommend his services.