Matt Taylor

Realtor®, The Faris-Taylor Team Intero Real Estate Cupertino BRE# 01481558
I have been with Intero and the Faris-Taylor team since 2005 when my former realtor, Rob Faris, convinced me that I belonged with his team. Within 3 years we were full partners and we have been in the top 1% of sales teams for Intero just about every year since. But allow me a moment to explain how this happened and what it means to me.

I had owned my 3rd house when I moved to CA in 1994 so I had become the "resident real estate expert" at the semiconductor company I was employed with. I enjoyed helping my colleagues with their home purchases and it was just a hobby.

Then after buying a 1909 Arts and Crafts fixer in Naglee Park, downtown San Jose, and dedicating my life for 3 years to restoring and reviving it, my passion for real estate grew even stronger. That's when I left the tech world.

I bring my past engineering skills to work every day which helps me thoroughly understand and explain the details of every property to my clients. My love and appreciation for the older homes, and having done a full restoration myself, is a great tool to help me appreciate the unique aspects of every property listing including classic vintage homes, mid-century properties and brand new developments. Every home has a story to tell.

I am always available to my clients, day or night, by phone, email, text, and whatever comes next! The power of being on a team even expands my reach since if I'm somehow not available I have 3 additional team members: Rob Faris with 32+ years experience, Jillian Couture a buyer specialist and Gloria Sokhn our transaction coordinator. It's my love for real estate and my heartfelt wish for everyone to find the home that speaks to them, and also to be able to bring them a great sale price when it's time to leave, that shows that I understand and appreciate the value that every home has to my clients.
Nov 5, 2018
We definitely recommend Matt as a Realtor. He helped guide us through our first home purchase, answering all our questions quickly. With his help, we were able to purchase a beautiful condo in Los Gatos, and close in a month. Matt has a great sense of humor, is patient and has a calm presence about him; these characteristics made it fun to work with him, even during the most stressful of home-buying times. He and his team are knowledgeable and friendly. We hope to work with Matt again when we're ready for our next home purchase!
Apr 29, 2018
Matt was the selling agent for my house in San Jose. I co-owned the house with my ex-husband, who has a somewhat difficult personality. This meant that Matt had to navigate some very rough waters during the sales process, and beyond. Matt was incredibly wise, dedicated, and astute in the handling of the many processes that I encountered. He made excellent recommendations to facilitate the showing and sale of the house, and was incredibly professional and supportive. I HIGHLY recommend Matt as a realtor, and would use him again in a heartbeat.
Oct 21, 2017
Engineer
We cannot recommend Matt highly enough! Working with him was a fantastic experience. Although it took the better part of a year for us to find the right house (as a function of our own 'calibration' of the market, inventory, and our criteria for the home), but with Matt's patient and expert guidance, we knew we were in great hands. He's got a warm and fun personality and makes an effort to get to know his clients so that buying a home is more than just a business transaction - it is a personalized experience. His expertise in the market and his understanding of our needs and desires in a home were clear as he took us out house hunting and eventually through the offer, contract, and closing processes. There are lots of good agents out there, but Matt is a GREAT one! We recommend him whole heartedly!
Oct 3, 2017
Matt is great! He's very knowledgeable and great strategist with an eye for value. Great at taking the time to educate you through the process.
Oct 3, 2017
Staff Accountant
Matt, Jillian and Rob, Amazing people to work with! I had never sold a home before and they made my life a dream. 1 Open House and it was sold. They loved my home as much as I and it showed. They accented the beauty of an older home. They took care of everything, even the fire alarms! I really didn't need to do anything! And they got me way, way over asking price! What a gift to have these amazing, trustworthy, Realtors create and achieve such an amazing experience!
Julie
Honolulu Hawaii!
Nov 16, 2016
Home Owner
Buying (or selling) a home is the largest financial choice a person will make in their life. So having someone you trust who has your back and fights for you in all the crazy back-and-forth negotiations is imperative. Matt and his team were there every step of the way for my family in getting (and closing) the best deal for our home -- I highly recommend Matt and his team for your family, too.
Nov 13, 2016
Matt was an amazing asset in our home buying process. We were introduced to him by a family friend, and right from the get go, he was patient with us and what our needs were in the home buying process. He also helped us keep our feet firmly on the ground with properties that we realistically had a shot with. But Matt truly stood out for us when we agreed on a place and were into the mortgage process. We were unfortunately bogged down with a slow and inexperienced mortgage officer and Matt really stepped in to save us a lot of trouble. Even after the purchase, Matt has been extremely helpful to us- with recommendations on the kind of insurance we need, to connect us to someone who could help us with home warranty, etc. He always goes beyond what you would expect and his many years of experience is a terrific asset. I would love to work with Matt again and I would recommend him in the blink of an eye to anyone out there looking for help through the home buying process.
Nov 10, 2016
Home Owner
Matt is an excellent realtor. He knows the market, knows the neighborhoods and knows the value of properties. He has a careful eye for detail . He has an easy going smile that immediately puts you at ease as you make what may be life changing decisions. Most importantly, Matt is there for you. I recommend Matt Taylor
Aug 8, 2015
Software Engineer
Matt worked with us for about a year and a half! when I was relocating to the San Jose area. We looked at many houses and his expertise was really appreciated when we had questions or opinions.

When time came for a bid he was very knowledgeable about the current market and was able to guide us when we needed to find the right balance between submitting a compelling bid but not wanting to overpay like crazy. We locked in on a successful bid and have been happy with the house and the process.

Thanks Matt!
Aug 6, 2015
I would highly recommend Matt and his team. They far surpassed our expectations in helping us sell our home. We have known Matt for a number of years and he is professional, personal, and gets the job done!
Aug 5, 2015
Homeowner
Matt recently helped me sell my Naglee Park craftsman home in 3 days at a sum significantly over my asking price. He made it really convenient for me by doing most of the paperwork and meeting with me in my home, patiently helping me understand the confusing process and forms. I found him to be knowledgeable and trustworthy. I would highly recommend him to be your realtor.
Aug 3, 2015
Matt Taylor did a fantastic job in helping us sell our house. He gave us pointers to how to fix up the house without spending to much money.It took him two weekend as he had an open house both weekends.
Thanks Matt
Jul 7, 2015
I've used Matt for three real estate transactions now, and I continue to be impressed by how hard he works to make sure everything goes smoothly. When I've asked for advice, he's been very reliable. For our last transaction he recommended I do some remodeling and helped line up contractors, drove an impossible schedule, and got us to market on exactly the right day. We were in contract in less than a week with an offer I couldn't have imagined without Matt's guidance. When issues came up, Matt communicated well and helped me understand the correct responses. We closed without issue. I've learned that no real estate transaction is easy, but Matt's competence and integrity make them as smooth as possible. I have recommended Matt to many friends and coworkers, and will continue to do so!
Jun 15, 2015
Matt did a great job for me. At all points in the house hunt process he was helpful and professional. I would definitely recommend him to my friends. Thanks Matt!
Jun 2, 2015
homeowner/seller
Matt sold our house in downtown San Jose for us in April 2015. It was our first home, which my wife and I had owned for 10 years, having bought it as a young-ish couple and started a family there, with many happy memories there. But, after moving out of the area a couple of years ago and renting the house out while market conditions recovered, it was time for us to let the house go.

Matt made the process as efficient, understandable, and predictable as it could possibly be. We couldn't be happier with Matt's great instincts and his ideas on making our house as appealing as possible to buyers, pricing it right for the market, handling the inspection report process, and helping us make the best selection from the multiple over-asking-price offers we received.

Matt's knowledge of the local San Jose market conditions, as well as the real estate process in general, was a huge benefit to making the entire transaction run smoothly. He was also great with keeping us up-to-date with developments, and very responsive to our calls and emails whenever we needed information or reassurance on anything.

Matt's blend of very knowledgeable professionalism with a cheerful, down-to-earth personality make him a highly effective realtor and a delight to work with. We would gladly work with Matt again (if only we had another house to sell) and would very highly recommend him to anyone looking to buy or sell!
May 19, 2015
Buyer
My wife and I found Matt after a Yelp search of good real estate agents in the South Bay. After interviewing a bunch, we went with Matt since he was experienced and always took the time to answer our questions about buying a home. Matt was a great agent who was very flexible. Our home search ranged over forty miles, and we once took a six-month break, but Matt was always ready to show us places. He worked closely with the listing agents, and always found us good comparable sales to help us in pricing our offers.
May 13, 2015
Matt was recommended to me by a number of friends. He had been a fantastic agent for them, and he carried on that tradition with me. He was there for me from the very beginning of my search to explain all the steps, and he helped me every step of the way.

He is incredibly professional, honest, witty, and attentive to any of my needs. He will help you from the start of the process to the end and beyond.

Let me tell you, as a first time homebuyer, even though I knew a little about the mechanics of buying a house and financing it, I was still quite scared. It's such a huge decision. Matt helped me deal with all my apprehension. He freely offered advice but he accepted my final decisions. And in this crazy market right now, I really did need some good advice from a professional who knows how this business works.

If ever someone asks me for a recommendation for a good real estate agent, I'll be there with all my friends to give them Matt's number.
Apr 13, 2015
To put it simply, Matt is the very best!

Being recent transplants from the East Coast, there was a lot about moving to California that gave us distress - the crazy real estate market, the extraordinarily high taxes, the traffic, our new jobs, the DMV (I mean seriously) and did I mention taxes!!??

Matt was the saving grace throughout it all. We had a very short window with which to buy and move in to a house. He knows the entire region extremely well and all its neighborhoods. We were able to get into the first house we placed an offer on (shocking, I know!). If it wasn't for Matt and the professional way that he worked with the other side, the deal would have fallen through and we'd still be looking.

He was uber-responsive throughout the process and guided us through any questions we had, including every nuance of settlement process. We love our new house! If we ever have to move and deal with it all over again, it's comforting to know that Matt will be there by our side - thanks Matt!
Apr 11, 2015
Customer
This review is "LONG OVERDUE"... I had a tall order for Matt and Rob. I owned a single family home in Vandome Park in San Jose, CA. that based on comps, was worth around 900K at best. I didn't want best, I wanted "Legendary". I wanted to sell this property for 1.1M Although I had worked with Rob in the past, I interviewed several agents. All other agents would not even consider what I wanted except for Rob and Matt. I set the goal high and needed to set a record with this property. Rob and Matt "PULLED OUT THE STOPS" they even helped with painters and helpers to do last minute improvements. Their marketing was absolutely top notch and they even paid for a word-smith who wrote the most eloquent description of the property. They sold the house for 1.1m in 7 days. That money became capitol for me to start a new business and has propelled me forward faster than I could have imagined. I could not have done this without them and I can't tell you enough what the two of them mean to me! I watched other houses sit on the market because other agents aren't really motivated. Rob and Matt are really the best real-estate team I have ever dealt with and I wouldn't trade them for 20 other agents. Feel free to look up the property on Zillow 125 Hawthorn Way, San Jose, CA. I have no other vested interest in writing this review other than I was a customer who needed the best and got it from this team! These guys are "OUTSTANDING"
Feb 1, 2015
Matt has been helping us with our property needs in the bay area for over a decade. He is incredibly knowledgable of the bay area specifically and real estate generally. This year he helped us buy the house of our dreams, and (more importantly!) sell our previous townhome for top dollar.

Matt works very hard for all his clients, and is available night and day by email and phone. We couldn't be happier with his work!
Jan 30, 2015
Matt and his team did a fine job. Professional, disciplined, and focused. Very pleased with the results.
Jan 16, 2015
Seller in San Jose and Buyer in Daly City.
A significant part of the 3 person Intero A-TEAM that sold our San Jose house and found an excellent location and price for our relocation near to SF. Details were constantly reviewed and documents signed as soon as received. Several suggestions from the team at both ends that contributed to our success and eventual Happiness. Would definitely recommend Matt, Rob and Gloria as the folks to have when real estate is the product. They Deliver!
Jan 16, 2015
Health Care Advocate
In my role as a Health Care Advocate, working primarily with elder adults and those who have cognitive impairments, I am grateful to be able to rely on a real estate agent who possesses integrity, compassion, and initiative, and offers superior service. Matt Taylor possesses these attributes and offers this type of service. I appreciate all that Matt did for my clients and would hire him again without reservation. Future clients would be fortunate to have such an individual represent their real estate needs.
Jan 7, 2015
Software Development Manager
Am v happy to recommend Matt Taylor as buyers agent after he helped me filter thru Santa Clara Valley inventory, inspect properties and finalize on a home in Sunnyvale. He is very responsive, knowledgeable and diligent and a pleasure to work with.
Jan 7, 2015
Seller
Matt and Rob did a great job advising me on the value of the property and on the things that needed to be done to sell the house. No phone call went unanswered, a no e-mail unresponded to. They know the area, and will work with you to make sure your property looks great without spending a fortune.

I recommend them whether you are a seller or a buyer.