Steve was an amazing partner in the sale of our home in San Mateo and the purchase of our new home in Half Moon Bay. He provided great references for movers, landscapers, painters, and even a rental property during our housing transition.

He guided us through various challenges while making sure we were happy, informed, and feeling empowered.

We highly recommend Steve to anyone looking to buy a home on the Peninsula.

Maria & James Burns

Director of Development & Tech Lead
Jul 9, 2017

Steve Droz

Realtor Alain Pinel Realtors Bre # 01252359

Share

Nov 1, 2017
Director of Maketing
Steve worked with us on our first house purchase in the US and in a highly competitive market. He was there every step of the way guiding and helping us understand the in and outs of a home purchase and connecting us with brokers, lenders, escrow officers, contractors, etc. that are all part of the ecosystem. We like that he partnered with us and made us comfortable with our decisions and did not push us. We would highly recommend working with Steve and in fact we have already made a few referrals. Thank you!
Oct 27, 2017
Happy Customee
This was my first home sale and only second sale and move. Thanks to Steve, all went smooth. He walked me through all aspects of the sale and kept me grounded when I got anxious. Thanks for making the sale of my home of 20 years easier and for finding the home I hope to stay in for the next 20.
Jul 9, 2017
Director of Development & Tech Lead
Steve was an amazing partner in the sale of our home in San Mateo and the purchase of our new home in Half Moon Bay. He provided great references for movers, landscapers, painters, and even a rental property during our housing transition.

He guided us through various challenges while making sure we were happy, informed, and feeling empowered.

We highly recommend Steve to anyone looking to buy a home on the Peninsula.
Jun 26, 2017
Business Manager, Applied Materials
We first met Steve at an open house in San Mateo. While we were on the market and looking we encountered many soliciting agents. Steve stood out because while he is persistent, he was not overly aggressive with sales tactics. We felt at ease and not pressured. Eventually we began working exclusively with Steve.

Looking for a home in the bay area can be a frustrating experience with the amount of overbidding going on. Steve recommended a preemptive offer on our eventual purchase and helped us shape the offer to be accepted by the seller. Throughput the process of our house hunting I never felt that Steve's commitment wavered. He was always courteous, responsive, and knowledgeable.

I would highly recommend Steve to anyone looking for a home in the Peninsula area.
Apr 13, 2017
Senior Software Engineer
As a first-time buyer, I had many queries and concerns about the whole process. Steve was very patient in answering all my questions and made sure I understood all the steps involved.
Steve always did some background research and provided me with all possible information he could find about a property to help me put together the best offer possible. Steve personally presented each of my offers to the listing agents and sellers. For the offers that were not accepted, he helped me understand where they fell short. He eventually helped me make a winning offer on a property with the exact specs I was looking for, and in the neighborhood that I wanted!
I would highly recommend Steve to anyone looking for a knowledgeable and trustworthy realtor.
Oct 31, 2016
Head of Global Publisher Sales, Facebook
Steve

Steve has been an excellent partner in our family's search for our dream home in Foster City. We came into this with a very negative experience with our realtor in our first home purchase and had a healthy amount of skepticism of a realtor which isn't uncommon. Well, Steve is uncommon! He is the best realtor in the business.

There are three stages in a home purchase where a realtor plays an important part. Steve scored top marks in each of those.

Discovery - In today's time, between Redfin and Zillow, home discovery isn't hard. Its pretty easy to find a listed home and its specifics and value and so on. Because we were very specific with our requirement, it reduced the pool of potential homes to a very very small number. Steve took this restriction as a challenge and went on the hunt for our dream home by talking to home owners who weren't really ready to list and ended up showing us several off-market opportunities. It was one of these that actually spurred us to move aggressively to buy the home we eventually did. His thoroughness in understanding our needs and acting on it sets him apart from others.

Offer and Negotiation - In some way, all realtors work for the seller; or the incentives to realtors on both sides of the table are geared to getting a deal done. Steve never made us feel that this was his primary motive in working with us. We extended offers on a couple of homes before we bought out home. Steve was very accurate in his prediction of the sale price in all cases. Steve is exceptional at reading the home, its marketability, the time of year and the number of interested parties and more, which are all very important signals that go into determining the selling price. This is the guy you want on your side! Now, while he was accurate predicting the final sale price of the home very well, he never pushed us to offer more than what we were comfortable with. Even when we offered less than his recommendation, Steve never demonstrated any frustration or loss in interest. He always kept us well informed and then carried through our asks completely. During our counter offer negotiation process, where you are so close to getting a deal done, Steve gave us very buyer friendly advice on how we should organize our asks, to ensure we came out with an fair and balanced outcome. This made us feel like we were always in control, which is an important part of the process for the buyer.

Closing - While underrated, the time after the offer is accepted to the time that you close is crucial, as it often impacts price and closing time, due to discovery of damage to the home and other contingencies. Steve was methodical in how he instructed us to waive contingencies in sequence. We never felt exposed during the process or risked any financial downside; we removed a contingency only when we were well in the clear. This again gave us a ton of confidence in Steve and his commitment to us. In his long tenure as a realtor, Steve has built a fantastic network of real estate professionals who are all A -Players! Everyone we met through Steve; contractors, inspectors, title agents and loan officers are people we would work again with. This made the closing process extremely easy and timely. This was the ONLY reason we could close in 30 days!

Overall, Steve has been instrumental in getting us into our dream home! We could have done it without him and we wouldn't never buy one without his help. I recommend Steve to anyone looking to buy a home.
Oct 25, 2016
Steve is by far, one of the best realtors we have every worked with! He is very calm, patient and such a pleasure to work with. Our house hunt lasted for about a year and he was always very pleasant and enthusiastic, calling out the +s and -s of every house that we looked.
He really went went above and beyond in helping us get the home of our dreams! We had an extensive wishlist and he really did his best to get each and every item on it checked. He was able to get us to see a few houses even before they were available in the market. When we finally settled on one, he guided us through the process, never pushed us out of our comfort zone but always respected our perspective and ultimately helped us get what we wanted!
I highly recommend Steve for any and every real estate needs! He's the best!!
Jul 30, 2016
I used Steve 8 years ago to buy my house. It was a rough ride as it was a short sale that took many months. He was awesome as he worked magic right before my loan was to expire. Steve was able to make it all happen and I became a happy homeowner. I think of him every anniversary of my house and send him a message of thanks. I would certainly recommend Steve to anyone buying a home. Thanks again Steve!!
Jul 17, 2016
First homebuyer
Steve is a fantastic agent. He was quickly in responding to all our questions and helping us to through the entire process . My husband and I are first time home buyers , so we need a lot of help and information ,finally we got the house we love under Stevie's help . We absolutely would recommend Steve as an agent.
Jul 15, 2016
My mother passed away back in December 2015 and my brother and I faced the difficult task of cleaning out and selling the family home which our parents purchased in 1955. Steve put together an excellent strategy from his recommendations regarding making the necessary home improvements to get the house ready for open house and most importantly implementing a game plan that would result in multiple offers and receiving top dollar for the property. Steve provided proactive communications and updates through the entire sales process. Bottom line is the house sold well north of the asking price. Kudos to Steve for a job well done!!
Jul 15, 2016
Mfg Engineering Manager
Steve has now handled three property transactions for us while providing invaluable contractor referrals and handling significantly more of the workload
than you would typically expect from a realtor. Steve is a pleasure to work with and extremely responsive with his experience and know-how making the transaction smooth and seamless. A good guy and pleasure to work with.
May 27, 2016
retired
I am in the my perfect house because of Steve. He fought for me and persisted when there were eight other bidders. He was always available for my questions - I feel no other realtor could have done the job that Steve did.
May 24, 2016
Steve is passionate and knows how to close out a deal! We are thrilled with our new townhouse. He had the knowledge and experience to make the purchase seamless. I probably won't be buying another house for a while, but if I were going to, Steve would be my first phone call. Highly highly recommend!
Mar 14, 2016
I recently worked with Steve on a trust sale in Daly City - he did a fantastic job and got us a price $70,000 higher than our stretch target!

Steve was one of 3 real estate agents we interviewed to sell a family home held in trust. None of us had experience with this process so we were looking for a professional who could educate us, give us professional advice, and then hold our hand throughout the process. Steve did all this and more.

The house was not in great shape, and had not been updated in over 40 years. Steve advised us on what, and what not, to update. He also educated us on what was important to our likely buyers. We were working on a very tight schedule as we wanted to sell the house before Thanksgiving and literally had 3 weeks to get it cleaned, updated, staged and ready for Open House. Steve introduced us to tradesmen he had worked with before and probably got more involved in helping us manage the update than he bargained for.

The property was marketed very professionally and comprehensively and our two open houses were very well attended. We were kept well informed throughout the whole process and Steve sent us weekly reports of all website traffic, etc. We got several offers, which Steve helped us work through, including the final and best offer. This part of the process became unnecessarily complicated because of issues on the buyer's side, but Steve was very patient and coached us, and the other side, through to the finish line.

Steve is very personable, professional and thorough. He comes across as a nice guy who knows his business and genuinely wants to help. This was important and valued in our case as there were many family members and moving parts to coordinate in our property sale.

Steve really earned his commission on this sale and I would recommend him without reservation if you are selling a property in San Mateo.
Mar 14, 2016
My wife and I were anxious about the whole process of selling our house. It was our first house so we had zero experience from the selling side and didn't know where to begin. During our first meeting, Steve put us at ease by laying out a clear strategy and timeline of the entire process. He capped the meeting by saying "Let me know how I can help you guys through this process and make it easy for you?"

Steve coordinated and lead us through each step. We never felt overwhelmed. Once we had the open house and then received the multiple offers, we knew we made the right choice with hiring Steve as our agent.

I would recommend him to anyone in the area thinking about buying or selling. I cannot stress enough how easy he made everything.
Mar 14, 2016
My wife and I met Steve while we were just looking around the neighborhood in which we lived for possibilities. Providing him with our contact information, we indicated to him the rough time period when we were thinking of making the move to purchase a home. He duly noted this down and we didn't hear much from him again. There would be the occasional e-mail giving some tips that would be useful to potential home buyers, but none of the high-pressure salesmanship that I'd expect in this situation.

At around the time we indicated that we would be in the market, he reached out to us again to ask if we were ready. Honestly, at that point, I was still on the fence. Steve convinced us that now would be an opportune time. He was also able to introduce us to a lender with whom he had worked in the past, and whom I contacted soon after our conversation.

We ended up making offers on two homes a couple of weeks apart, the second of which was accepted. In both negotiations, Steve provided us good insight into the process on how to tailor the offer to make it attractive to the seller. I believe this insight was instrumental in getting our offer accepted.

Throughout the process, Steve kept us abreast of everything that was going on. There was not a time that we were left wondering what had happened. The lender he recommended, John Z. also proved to be able to get the loan process moving fast. We had our offer accepted on Dec 8, and we closed on Dec 23.

If there was something that stood out in our experience with Steve, it was his feel for the local housing market as well as his knowledge of the negotiation process. In both cases when we made our offers, he gave us specific advice on how to tailor the offer. In the first offer, we didn't follow his advice and ended up getting our offer turned down. In the second offer, we followed his advice and won the bidding.

All in all, it was a very smooth home buying process for this first-time homebuyer, and it was due in no small measure to Steve. I would not hesitate to recommend him for anyone's home buying needs.
Mar 14, 2016
I have been a neighbor of Steve's for many years and knew he was a real estate agent. For years he would drop by flyers and discuss how the housing market was behaving both in good times and in bad. We have lived in the same house for 31 years but had to sell since our bills exceeded our income ever since my wife was disabled and unable to work. At first I was not sure we wanted to use someone we knew but it turns out it was a blessing. Months ago he put together a portfolio of homes for sale, pending and sold in our area that were similar to our floor plan to get an idea of the value of our home. This was when we were just thinking about selling, I was amazed how much time he must have put in both behind the scenes and meeting with me in person when it was not a sure thing we were going to sell.

When we did decide to sell he brought us up to date on the current market and had a marketing plan in place within days. He was fantastic setting up the two showings which were very successful thanks to his advice of using a stager, beautiful color brochure with excellent pictures coupled with a nice on-line presentation of our home. He followed up in a timely manner with me as well as with all the agents and prospective buyers that attended our open houses.

When the offers did come in he was a great coach as to how to evaluate what constitutes a solid offer beyond just the dollars involved. Our closing was very smooth and he was there in person throughout the entire process of the inspections and approvals needed including right on through the signing of the final docs with the title company.

Even though this sale was something my wife and I had to do and were sad to leave our house Steve Droz showed professionalism and compassion throughout the entire process. At no time did he seem in a hurry or commission driven, He was worth every penny of the fee we did pay.

He is someone I recommend to anyone selling or purchasing a home, can't imagine anyone better.
Mar 14, 2016
My wife and I were working with a large internet-based real estate firm when we met Steve at an open house. As we were leaving I asked a couple questions, being somewhat new to the process. I specifically challenged him "why should be use you instead of some other company?" and he gave a compelling response.

We have been in our new house a couple months now and couldn't be happier with how the process turned out. We beat 17 other offers, and closed in 22 days (with a lot of help also from Steve's lending agent referral.) We also had to sell our old place, which sold in just over a week. Steve negotiated a long close plus a month of free rent-back, so that we would have plenty of time to find the new place.

Throughout the entire process Steve communicated clearly and was easy to get a hold of. He made sure we had all the paperwork, and dealt quickly with other agents when the bank required an additional form or two. He was able to meet at times and locations convenient to us for all the various paperwork, and was able to also do a lot digitally.

He gave us some nice housewarming gifts, and for most of our interactions made us feel like we were his only clients (though we were not ;-)
Mar 14, 2016
My wife and I had been looking for a house in the bay area since Nov 2012 however were unsuccessful. We got to know Steve through a colleague of mine at work. Steve provided excellent service, understanding our needs, providing us with useful information always on time and provided insights into how the market was behaving and what could be expected. Steve gave us a lot of personal attention and made us feel like we were his only clients.

In an area where overbidding is common, it was proving to be difficult to find a property that met our needs but Steve never gave up looking. Eventually we got the house that we really loved thanks to Steve. He also has good connections in the bay area with other parties you have to get involved with in the home-buying process, this is a big plus.
Mar 14, 2016
We initially met Steve at a random open house 4 years ago. He took the opportunity to show us a few homes in the Peninsula, but we eventually decided to put our home search on hold. Since then we have kept in touch with Steve and his whole family! Well, we are happy we did because we just bought our first home in Walnut Creek with Steve's help! Steve is the most hardworking, responsive, intelligent, realistic, kind, patient person you will ever know! He was patient with me even though I was a nervous nelly throughout the entire process. He also has your best interest which is important in this market. Lastly, he's super fun and easy to work with. We are so happy to have him as our agent and friend. We look forward to working with him when we sell our home some day! We also can't wait to invite him and his family over for a BBQ to celebrate our victory!
Mar 14, 2016
Steve helped us sell our home in one week, with multiple offers. He was professional, ethical, trustworthy, and responsive. He is very knowledgable of the real estate market on the peninsula. He remained calm throughout the process, guiding us through what can be a stressful process. I would recommend Steve highly for your next real estate transaction
Mar 14, 2016
My husband and I got a referral to Steve from a friend. We had a unique situation that required us to move very quickly to purchase our new home. We only had to make one offer on a house, as Steve helped us formulate a plan to make our offer stand out against the rest. Steve was very reliable, knowledgeable of the area, and always made time for our many questions as first time buyers, even while he was on vacation. He has a very calm demeanor which makes the home buying process less stressful. We would highly recommend Steve for a home purchase and I'm sure we will ask him to represent us in our next transaction.
Mar 14, 2016
We worked with Steve to buy a home earlier this month (at a time when competitive bidding seems to be the norm everywhere in the Bay Area). Anyways, we were really pleased with the service that Steve provided, and in particular his ability to make our offers stand-out among the many other competing offers by doing all of the extra little things to differentiate it from other competing bids at/around the same dollar figure (of which there were many). A real estate transaction is relatively stressful and Steve does a good job of making it as pleasant as possible. And, the bottom-line is that we got a place that we are really happy with and beat out multiple other bids. We also managed to get an inspection done in 3 days, an appraisal in 7, and close in 21 days. Steve also has been an agent in the Bay Area for more than a decade, so he has a lot of resources and connections to draw on (which can be helpful with the tight timelines).
Mar 4, 2016
Sr. Vice President
Our experience with Steve has been amazing!

My wife and I were anxious about the whole process of selling our house. It was our first house so we had zero experience from the selling side and didn't know where to begin. During our first meeting, Steve put us at ease by laying out a clear strategy and timeline of the entire process. He capped the meeting by saying "Let me know how I can help you guys through this process and make it easy for you?"

Steve coordinated and lead us through each step. We never felt overwhelmed. Once we had the open house and then received the multiple offers, we knew we made the right choice with hiring Steve as our agent.

I would recommend him to anyone in the area thinking about buying or selling. I cannot stress enough how easy he made everything.
Mar 1, 2016
We have known Steve for almost 3 years now and he has helped us buy two houses. Working with Steve has been a great experience! Steve is always on time, listens very well and is always available to meet your needs. He is also very familiar with the neighborhoods and his research and market analysis is pretty good. He really makes an effort to deliver the best service possible and the results show. He is a great person to work with and I would recommend Steve in a heart beat!

Partner Network