Bob & Zach McKiernan

Bob - Broker/Owner, Zach - Agent McKiernan Realty Bob - DRE #00632490 Zach - DRE #01993467
Bob & Zach, father and son, share a passion for helping their clients buy and sell real estate. They are committed to providing exceptional representation with utmost integrity.

Bob began his real estate career working with a large firm in 1977 representing clients throughout Sacramento, Placer & El Dorado Counties. In 1980, he became a Broker with Better Homes Realty then in 1998 he became the Owner/Broker of Folsom Better Homes Realty. In 2010 he and his wife, Linda, opened McKiernan Realty. He brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to each transaction. Originally from Santa Clara, CA he graduated from CSUS in 1974 with a B.S. in Business Administration and Finance.

Zach would tell you his entire life has been real estate training! Zach began working formally for McKiernan Realty in 2008 as an Office Manager. From this position he learned, not only the transactional portion of real estate, but also working with all of the agents in the office. His transition into being a full time agent was in 2015 and he excelled in 2016. Both, Bob and Zach take great care of their clients by always keeping their clients needs first and foremost.

Bob and Zach are proficient helping buyers and sellers with resale, investments, 1031 Tax Deferred Exchanges, move-up buyers, downsizing, retirement, new home sale representation, first time buyers, multiple family, condos and land.

They would be honored to earn your referrals as they have extensive knowledge in the following areas: Sacramento, East Sacramento, Midtown,Tahoe Park, Land Park, Curtis Park, Natomas, West Sac, Elk Grove, Arden, Carmichael, Citrus Heights, Antelope, Rancho Cordova, Gold River, Fair Oaks, Orangevale, Folsom, El Dorado Hills, Cameron Park, Rescue, Placerville Granite Bay, Roseville, Rocklin, Loomis, Lincoln, Auburn.

Our mission statement is to positively impact the lives of our clients, agents and their families by providing exceptional representation in their real estate transactions.
Dec 7, 2017
Bob McKiernan is the absolute best at what he does. My husband and I were so impressed by the care, professionalism, knowledge and support we received from Bob throughout every single step of our home-buying journey, and we would recommend him to anyone who's interested in buying or selling a home in the Sacramento, Placer, or El Dorado counties. We can attest that McKiernan Realty lives up to its mission -- to provide exceptional representation of its clients with the utmost integrity. We'd love to share our experience below.

Some background information: We reached out to Bob in June 2017, about a year before we thought we were going to buy a house. Bob personally met with us and one of the first questions he asked us was about our previous experiences with realtors and purchasing/selling property. I was so impressed that he took the time to listen to our past experiences, and that he was genuinely interested in knowing what we valued in an agent. We knew at this moment that Bob was the right person to help us find our forever home. Immediately, Bob set us up with an online portal so we could check out houses over the course of the year and bookmark the ones we liked. This portal was an integral part of our communication in terms of showing Bob the specific features of houses that we liked, or neighborhoods, etc. We were also vigilant about looking at houses on various real estate websites, and Bob encouraged us to send him any addresses of houses we found outside of the portal.

As life happens, we learned around mid-October that we needed to close on the sale of a home before December 31, 2017. I called Bob in a panic. He wasted no time at all to find us a home in our tight 30-day window. We were in contact daily via phone, text and email. We met every weekend (I was driving up from the Bay Area). Bob worked with my schedule and met with me at times that were convenient for me, not him. I really felt like he made our search for a home his top priority, and that meant to world to me since I was going through this process mostly on my own (my husband was deployed at the time). Bob made sure that I understood all of the pros/cons of the houses I was touring. He knew all the right questions to ask. I felt like he was listening carefully, and I trusted his opinion 100%.

The house we ended up purchasing is one that Bob found for us. It hit almost every "must have" feature we listed. He helped us negotiate a reasonable and fair price for the home, and the buyers accepted! Bob personally checked on the status and quality of the repairs as we waited to close escrow. He knew that I couldn't drive up from the Bay Area to check myself, and he wanted to keep me in the loop and make sure we were getting what we paid for. He reassured me about the various companies that were contracted to do the repairs. His knowledge and experience at this time were invaluable.

The bottom line is that Bob made what would have been an extremely stressful process so much easier and more enjoyable than I ever could have imagined. We couldn't be happier. And now he's helping my parents find a home. Thank you, Bob!
Aug 15, 2017
Happily Retired
Have been looking for a specific property for two years. This meant crossing paths with many agents. I did not care for several of them for a variety of good reasons, then through a friend of a friend I met the McKernans. I wish I had met them at the beginning of my search, but it was not until I sold my house and was very unhappy with parts of the sale did I decide to use the McKernans to purchase my new proprty. It was a great experience. I worked with Zach mostly, but both Bob and Zach were always available or quickly responsive. They were thorough in their representation of me. I am sorry this is the last house I will buy, I wish it was the first of my homes so I would have reason to have them represent me again. I will not hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking to buy or sell. I even asked them to leave me a few of their business cards so I could pass them on.
By now, you get the idea of my opinion.
Aug 14, 2017
This was my first time selling a home. I was very nervous about it. Bob explained the process and what to expect. He was there for me every step on the way. Home sold in less than a week!!! Thank you!
Aug 14, 2017
Outside Sales
Zach and Bob were a joy to work with from the beginning. I was recommended Zach by his brother-in-law, who is one of my better friends, and I was not disappointed. Zach and Bob were always very responsive and even got me into houses on an hour notice. They always had my best interest in mind and constantly went above and beyond. Will be McKiernan Realty for all my real estate needs.
Jun 27, 2017

Welcome to Brentwood Villas!

Newer energy efficient home w/ solar in Orangevale. 3 beds/2.5 baths, approx 1400 sq ft, 2 car garage in a gated community with low HOA.
May 9, 2017
First time home owners
I was recommended to Bob McKiernan by my good friends who are family friends of his and had also used his realty services in the past. With Bob, not only do you get one of the best realtors in the greater Sacramento region and his knowledge and expertise, you gain a valuable friend who will be honest with you regarding one of the biggest purchases of your life.

He is reliable, calm, optimistic, and will never upsell any property when you've set a certain price range and downpayment amount. He will meticulously work with your schedule to see as many listings as possible so you really get a clear idea of what features you can live with and which ones are a deal breaker.

We worked with McKiernan Realty to purchase our first house which was daunting enough with all the new loan and escrow lingo. It was a long process of looking at many different homes as we gathered our downpayment and loan information, but Bob worked with us with a relaxed enjoyment that made the process a lot less stressful.

At first, I hesitant to use my friend's referral and "call in a favor", but from the very first meeting, we were put at ease. We are adoring fans of Bob and the McKiernan Realty group and avidly recommend his services any anyone seeking to sell or purchase a home!

~Lisa
May 1, 2017

El Dorado Hills Listing $883,000

Don't miss out on this beautiful house in the heart of El Dorado Hills. This is a 4 bedroom, 2.5 bath, 3272 Sqft home on .94 of a lot.
Apr 18, 2017
My wife and I, as well as all of our family that lives in the Sacramento area have used Bob for their real estate needs for years. I've lost count how many times he has helped us find and sell homes. Currently Bob is helping us again as we are in the process of looking for a new home in El Dorado Hills. His knowledge of all the neighborhoods, awesome personality, and professionalism makes our quest so much easier, as well as stress free. Due to his kind demeanor, Bob and his family have basically become part of our network of close friends. I wholeheartedly recommend Bob and McKiernan Realty to anyone seeking a real estate professional.
Apr 11, 2017
We've purchased two homes through McKiernan realty. Both Bob and Zach are great to work with, made the complex process seem easy, and we love our homes.
Apr 11, 2017
Independent Insurance Broker
My wife and I bought our first house through McKiernan Realty and they were incredible. Our bids were passed on with three previous houses and Bob assured us that when we found a house, it would be better than all the previous ones we placed bids on. He was right! I couldn't imagine living in any other house and I'm very thankful for Bob's advice and patience. Plus, being in the insurance industry, I have worked with McKiernan Realty when we've had mutual clients. They have been a joy to work with both professional and personally!
Apr 10, 2017
Trustworthy and kind. Very knowledgeable in the industry and always have their clients best interest on the forefront.
Apr 7, 2017
Bob and Zach were instrumental in selling our Dad's house. It was a difficult house
to sell, both Bob and Zach went all out to help and advise us. I would highly recommend this father/son duo.
Apr 7, 2017
Home Owner
I would highly recommend Bob McKiernan. Selling a home can be somewhat stressful and Bob put our minds at ease throughout the entire selling process. He gave us so many recommendations that helped us present our home to its best advantage and it worked!. We received multiple offers in just five days. Bob is a professional and very knowledgeable with his many years of experience. And he was always just a phone call away. A big Thank you to Bob and his staff. Very much appreciated.
John & Cathy

Highly Recommended

Apr 7, 2017
Computer Technician
We highly recommend Bob to all of the buyers and sellers out there. We were first time home buyers and we didn’t know the first thing about buying a home. In a seller’s market with less inventory, it is too difficult for a buyer to get the right home at the right price. Bob was able to help us get our home at the best price possible. He has a vast amount of knowledge when it comes to real estate and my husband and I were able to learn so much from him. He knows exactly what to look for in a home. He took care of the entire process by finding the right home, getting the right inspectors and getting the necessary repairs done in the house after the inspection. Bob was incredibly helpful and my husband and I were able to get a better understanding about the entire real estate process. Bob responds to all of his phone calls very quickly, he is very reliable and is willing to do whatever it takes to get the job done. Bob is truly the best and he is the only agent that we trust. No other agent is as friendly, calm, and understanding of their client’s needs as Bob is. With Bob as our agent, we never felt any kind of pressure to buy a home because he made the entire process so easy for us. Even after we got the keys to our new home, Bob has stayed in touch and has offered to provide us with any guidance or information that we need. My husband and I will would definitely choose Bob as our agent again for any future real estate needs.
Apr 7, 2017
FedEx Pilot (retired)
My wife, Denise and I, first met Bob around 1987 when he was the realtor for our new neighbor in the Arden Manor area of Sacramento. We immediately liked him. He has been our adviser on everything reality wise since then. He helped us to choose a lot and build our house in 1990. His knowledge of the housing market has been remarkable. His advice to us thru the years has been invaluable and given us the correct advice to make timely decisions. He is also very knowledgeable about investment properties that we used his services for. And he always tells the facts as he sees it. Even if it is not what you want to hear. He is honest, has integrity, trustworthy, has a great, very close family. His wife Linda is a jewel. His children are great people. My wife and I both trust Bob like no other realtor we have ever met.
In the past 26 or so years that I have called Bob my realtor. He has also become my friend. I trust him and have called him many times just for some advice on some things not even involving real estate.
We have known Bob for so long that he saw our children grow up and became their realtor and helped two of them buy their first house. Remarkable. He helped with all the normal things (right loan, lender, what they could afford, etc.) and he helped with advice on repairs, repairmen, materials. Name it, he can help out.
I have recommended Bpb hundreds of times to people I know. He is awesome.
Apr 7, 2017
Great, great company - I would highly recommend Bob McKiernan to anyone. Personably, respectful and knowledge which makes your experience great!
Apr 5, 2017
I cannot recommend Bob Mckiernan enough. Bob helped our family purchase our first home and turned an otherwise intimidating process into an enjoyable one. My daughter still asks when we can go out looking at houses with Bob again. Real estate can be scary at times and it is important to have someone on your side you trust and you know will always look out for your family first. Mckiernan Realty is that and more.
Apr 5, 2017
retired owner/operator of Hunt Property Management
I have known Bob,Linda and Zach McKiernan for over 30 years. We retired 2 years ago, but my husband, Mark ,was a broker who worked as an appraiser and I had a real estate license and was the owner/operator of a property management company. Despite our knowledge of real estate, we relied on Bob for buying and selling 5 homes. We wanted to make sure we had someone with up to the minute information about California's (seemingly) ever changing laws; a broker of the highest integrity who would smooth the way during the inevitable escrow challenges. Bob is truly the most patient, knowledgeable, professional Realtor we know. He kept us informed throughout every transaction and kept his sense of perspective and sense of humor no matter what. He even called us with an update while with his family in line at the Matterhorn at Disneyland!
Linda is the "woman behind the man" and she has been encouraging and available to us as well, and her support of Bob has enabled him to happily continue providing an excellent service with an impeccable reputation through McKiernan Realty. Bob and Linda have instilled their work ethic and professionalism in Zach, and he facilitated our transactions to help the closings go off without a hitch. He is upbeat, on the spot and didn't let anything slip by.
I wholeheartedly recommend McKiernan Realty !
Apr 4, 2017
I met Bob at an open house in 1999 in Sacramento. Bob helped my sister and I look for a home that would accomadate our wheelchair bound sister. In the end, I decided on a new home in Folsom which I could modify. Bob helped me there, even though the builder would not let him close a deal. Bob then helped my sister and her husband find their "forever" home. Just a little over three years ago he helped me sell my home in Folsom and find a home in Lincoln closer to my daughter and my expected Grandson :-). Bob has been so caring and helpful over the years. He's given me suggestions to better my purchase/sale experiences, he has knowledge of all the markets I've looked into. I would not hesitate to recommend Bob and McKiernan Realty. The office staff is so helpful and nice. They will make your real estate experience one you will never forget. I've recommended Bob to friends who enjoyed the same professional, caring handling of their sale and purchase.
Apr 4, 2017
Loan Consultant
I honestly don't know where to start. I have been in the business since 1998 and have worked with a lot of agents. The McKiernan's are are as good as it gets. A few ways to describe them would be:

Honest (always)
Fair (even if it doesn't benefit them)
Amazing communication throughout all transactions
Always will put the client first

I have and would highly recommend them to anyone.
Apr 4, 2017
Bob & Zach McKiernan recently sold a home for my husband and I. We enjoyed working with both these dedicated realtors. They took pride in their job and treated our home as if it were theirs. We felt very connected to these professionals in many ways. We were kept informed of every inquiry, or comments made about the house by any interested party,, and they were quick at responding to our needs as well as the needs of potential buyers. Our house was not on the market for very long because of the professionalism and dedication of Bob and Zach. I would highly recommend them to anyone selling or purchasing a home. Without a doubt, they are the best in the business.
Apr 3, 2017
Teacher
I recommend Bob and Zach to every person I know that needs a real estate agent. They are both full of integrity, honesty and good judgement. They know the area and won't waste time showing you things that won't work. Bob has years of experience and while Zach is somewhat new, he has been in the business peripherally for years supporting Bob in the background. You will not be sorry if you choose Bob or Zach as your real estate agent. They are the complete package of knowledge and professionalism. After having Bob help us for more than 30 years of real estate transactions, I highly recommend Bob and Zach McKiernan.
Apr 3, 2017
Bob and Zach,
Did a wonderful job working to find a house for us, we must have looked at well over 60 houses before finding the one and getting an offer accepted. Both Bob and Zach were very patient and encouraged us that they were in it for the long haul if needed, especially at times when we were getting very frustrated.
They are both extremely knowledgeable of the entire Sacramento area and surrounding areas. I highly recommend them both.
Thank You Bob and Zach
Jaxine and Bob Anderson
Mar 29, 2017
Former Customer
We are extremely grateful for Bob and Zach’s services. I do not believe I can say enough great things about them. They have opened our eyes in the process of buying a home and we could not have learned all we know now without their assistance. I highly recommend them as the best partners for your house buying process.
Mar 28, 2017
Escrow Officer
I have worked with the McKiernan Team 6+ years. They're professional , detailed & have a vast knowledge of the Folsom & Sacramento surrounding area. We enjoy working with their team.

Partner Network