Don Pelletier

858-336-1114 The Don Pelletier Group, Inc BRE#00866225
Don has been a professional Realtor for over 33 years and continues to achieve successful results, on behalf of his clients.

Don has helped more than 2,150 San Diego families-successfully sell or buy a home. With this level of experience there is no transaction or escrow-related problem that he has not handled before.

Don has sold an average of one home, every 4.5 days, for over 30 years. His annual number of homes sold consistently places him amongst the top one-percent of all agents in the USA.

He has developed advanced systems and processes, to help provide structure, consistency and to help insure a predictable and positive outcome for his clients. He takes his responsibility to you seriously and is committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Don is recognized as one of San Diego’s foremost authorities when it comes to residential real estate, having sold more homes over his career than 97.3% of all Realtors in San Diego County.

Don has been featured on San Diego’s Chanel 10 News on multiple occasions, as well as numerous interviews on 760AM Talk Radio. He has been an Expert Witness for the San Diego Court system, on behalf of several local law firms, regarding real estate matters, and was featured in ‘Who’s Who Among Rising Young Americans’ and Who’s Who in American Real Estate’.

Don is also the recipient of the RE/MAX Hall of Fame Award and the highly coveted ‘Lifetime Achievement’ Award’.

Don consistently sells homes faster and for more money, too. In fact, a recent statistical search of the local MLS the numbers show that, during 2016, Don's listings, sold on average for 99.1% of the Sellers asking price - versus other MLS agents selling for 95% of the Sellers asking price. On a $500,000 home, for example, that difference of 4% could result in an additional $20,000 to the Sellers.

Additionally, based on Dons 2016 home sales, his Listings sold within 24 days on average, compared to other MLS agent’s market average of 48 days. This saves Don's Cli


2 days ago
Retired RN
Don is an awesome realtor that truly cares about his clients!
I was assisting my parents in selling their home. Don met with me in October and explained the selling process to me, he spent an hour or so explaining everything, he never looked at his watch or acted like he was in a hurry. He kept in contact with me after we met as we weren't ready to put their house on the market at that time. When I returned to CA in February and we were ready to list the house, he came to the house to meet my parents and let us know what we needed to get done to list the house. The house was listed on a Thursday afternoon, had an open house on Sunday, and an offer on Tuesday.
I called Don many times through the escrow process asking questions, since things are different in CA than in TX, he explained to me what I needed to know and never acted rushed during any of my dealings with him or any of his staff!
We brought my parents back to TX to live with us, Don knew when we were leaving CA and texted me a few days after we arrived in TX to make sure that we had made the trip safely, as we were driving.
I would highly recommend Don to anyone buying or selling a home, he is truly one of a kind and will give you his complete attention.
Mar 7, 2018
Family member of one of Don’s clients
Don Pelletier has been the real estate agent who has faithfully attended to the real estate needs of the community where my parents lived for many, many years. It was always their wish that when it came time to sell the home, they wanted to ensure that Don was the one selected to oversee that transaction. Mom passed away in 2011 and Dad deceased in December of 2017. To honor our parents’ wishes, we contacted Don and explained the situation.
Don came out to the house and after a preliminary walkthrough, sat down with my brother and me, and assured us that he would guide us through the process of the practical aspect of grieving so that we could better face the challenge of the emotional aspect of that same issue. I’ll cut the narrative at this point and simply say that I highly recommend the Don Pelletier Group, and especially the patriarch of that Group, Don Pelletier. However, everyone we dealt with in the Group was outstanding. There was never an issue for which they didn’t have a resolution. Starting with Don and running through his entire organization, he never made promises he didn’t keep. He was always accessible. Phone calls and text messages were always responded to in a timely manner. His word is his bond, and he maintained that same sense of integrity throughout the entire experience, from listing to escrow closing. Don is protective of his clients. He listens and renders excellent counsel, but always provides the client with options to make their own decisions. Don has surrounded himself with people in his organization who demonstrate many of the qualities and characteristics that he possesses. The people in the Don Pelletier Group are not only good people. They are good people who know what they’re doing. So, if you want the absolute very best in your corner when you get ready to buy property or sell your property, the Don Pelletier Group is not only your best choice. It is your best choice by far.
Feb 22, 2018
Occupational Therapist

When I decided to start looking for my first home I immediately called Don. Don has kept in touch with my parents for the past 40+ years keeping them up to date on their neighborhood and the housing market. He has treated my parents as friends and I knew I would be in good hands. Don introduced me to his team and Tim began to start me on my journey. Tim patiently and enthusiastically helped me to find a home that met all my must haves. Even though Tim had many other clients he made me feel like I was his only client by quickly responding to my emails, calls and texts, got me in to view a home within 24 hrs of communicating my interest and was very quick to get my offers submitted. Don and Tim were extremely knowledgable, professional, show great integrity and honesty. Even after I moved into my new home Tim continued to help me with the transition so that my move went smoothly. I highly recommend Don Pelletier group to anyone and will choose them again in a heartbeat for any future real estate needs!!
Jan 8, 2018
Don and his team were AWESOME from beginning to end of the sale of our home. He explained everything clearly so that we understood, he was always available for questions, and he made the whole process so smooth and easy for us!! Don is not only extremely knowledgeable and professional, he is truly a great guy who genuinely cared about us as individuals and was extremely considerate of all of our needs. Simply said, Don is the BEST and we highly recommend him to anyone who wants someone they can trust that will have their best interest at heart, and will get the job done quickly and smoothly. We can't say enough good things about Don and his whole team. THANK YOU DON !!!!!
Dec 31, 2017
Marketing Manager
The home buying and selling process is, by nature, extremely complex and full of potential pitfalls and costly mistakes. My wife and I had purchased a home once before but this was our first time buying and selling all at once, and we were amazed at how quickly we felt out of our depth. Don was our agent as both buyers and a sellers and ended up representing the buyers and sellers on the other end of the deals as well. Some people would be worried about a realtor’s conflict of interest in this situation, but we felt reassured and were completely comfortable that Don had our best interests in mind on all fronts. During the process, we called Don multiple times on a daily basis asking for updates and clarification, and Don was always responsive and reassuring. I still feel grateful for Don’s response when the appraisal was late on the house we planned to buy and we were worried that the deal was in jeopardy, but he told me “I’ve been through this process hundreds of times, and I promise you we will get you a great deal on the home you a buying, top dollar on the home you are selling.” ... and that is exactly how it worked out! We would gladly work with Don again in a heartbeat as a buyer, or a seller, or both!
Dec 4, 2017
Don was professional from the beginning until the end of the transaction. He was responsive and returned calls and emails in a timely fashion. He made sure escrow timeline items were promptly completed. I have dealt with many real estate agents in the past, Don has been the best out of the bunch. Recommend!
Nov 30, 2017
If you are in need of a Realtor that is trustworthy, ethical and has the skill set of a Jedi Master, then Don Pelletier is who you want. Don and his team masterfully juggled 3 separate real-estate transactions, simultaneously, ending with my family being in the home of our dreams. This was all done in under 8 weeks! Don also helped us with finding a new property manager and insurance agent. His service and professionalism will impress you. I highly recommend Don for any Real Estate issue that comes your way. He's easy to talk to and is a wealth of information. Plus he has great referrals too! Can't thank you enough for your great service Don, I'm so glad we used your team!
Nov 29, 2017
I worked with Don and Gerri Pelletier recently on an investment real estate transaction. As a fellow real estate professional, I must say that Don and his wife Gerri were wonderful to work with. Don and Gerri are both great communicators and extremely professional real estate brokers. Don and his team ensured that the entire transaction closed smoothly and that all sides of the transaction were comfortable every step of the way. I look forward to the opportunity of working with the Don Pelletier team again in the near future.
Nov 28, 2017
Home Seller
From the first conversation with Don before I was ready to list my home to the closing, he and his team were great. They offered great recommendations on vendors that could help to make my house irresistible to buyers.
Questions were quickly answered and the entire process was very easy.
When the first sale fell through, they quickly got it back on the market and we had 3 offers immediately.
Don put me in contact with an agent in the Tampa area who helped me find a new home and continued to offer his services.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Don, Gerri, and their team. They gave me honest opinions and great advice. I can't say enough good things about them. It's easy to see why he has such a great reputation.
Aug 22, 2017
Don and his team were very helpful during all stages of our house sale. He visited our home early to give advice on staging, and worked with us closely throughout. Our sale was a bit difficult and stressful because the buyers on the first offer backed out after a few days, but then came back after a week or so. And then the escrow was delayed due to the buyers changing lenders very late in the process.

Don and his team stayed close to us with multiple text messages, emails and phone calls. They gave us good advice to help us through all stages.

I would highly recommend Don and his Team to anyone looking to buy or sell a home. They are hardworking and very honest..
Jun 23, 2017
My husband and I met with Don Pelletier one morning at our house and we talked about what our thoughts were about selling the property and Don offered his suggestions. It was like talking with an old friend as Don was very knowledgeable and made us feel very comfortable with the process and we signed with him that morning. Don and his wife Gerri were a pleasure to work with, always available if we had questions and kept us abreast of the status of the house. The best part was we sold our home in a little over 2 weeks for a great price! I would use The Don Pelletier Group again in a heart beat! Thanks Don and Gerri!
May 2, 2017
Partner Duane Morris LLP
Don and his team did a terrific job on the sale of our home. In my opinion, he sets the standard for integrity, transparency and responsiveness.

We had our house listed by another agent for many months, and although it sold twice, it fell apart twice. When we decided to change agents, I interviewed others, all very experienced and with top reputations. I wanted to hire an agent who not only was effective, but was committed to straight talk and prompt response. Don was willing to invest 2 hours of unrushed time talking to me about his approach, strategies and values. He was also willing to take the risk of losing the listing if he could not sell the property within a reasonable period of time.

I was impressed.

Don got the house sold, at almost our top asking price, in two weeks. What was more important was that he got the deal closed, with difficult buyers and a difficult buyers’ agent. The buyers having failed to get a lowball price (thanks, Don) tried to get it all back with aggressive actions during the inspection process (our house is high-end, very tricked out and in great condition). Don counseled us through that icky process, keeping our blood pressure down, our wallets still in our pockets, and to a successful completion of that part of the deal.

Then the buyers’ loan took two extra weeks, and this caused lots of complications with their very difficult agent. Don got our carrying costs covered, and to a smooth, if delayed closing.

Through the whole process, Don and Gerri (and Tim) communicated with us promptly, confidently and importantly to us, kindly. He gave us real advice, not just choices, without attempting to strong arm any particular decision along the way. His knowledge of the inner workings of the process gave us confidence and kept us patient when we were losing patience.

Don’s TC and team handled all paperwork, and external process accurately and quickly. They took care of all details that they could, making an otherwise difficult process easier.

Thanks to Don, Gerri and the whole team. Very highly recommended.
Apr 30, 2017
We have been so blessed to have Don and his awesome team help us sell our home. Don's experience, wisdom, and sense of humor brought an anchor of calm and stability to the stressful and fluid situation of selling our home and San Diego and then buying and moving to another state. Let's face it, no matter how hard you try, buying or selling a home gets emotional. It was a juggling act for us, and Don was there guiding us along the whole way. Every aspect of this stressful and bumpy transition that Don and his team touched was calmed and smoothed and made to work like clockwork. We think Don understands that more choices and options presented in an understandable way empowers his clients, and with this empowerment you become part of the Don Pelletier Group Team. This was certainly true for us. This was our 3rd home transaction, and so we thought we sort of knew what we were doing. However, the wisdom and experience Don shared with us opened our eyes and raised the bar of our understanding in many aspects of residential real estate. Do yourself a favor and take advantage of everything Don has to offer, you will not regret it.
Apr 22, 2017
As owners of many homes, my husband and I have had enough experience to know “the drill” when selling and buying a home. We could not have been happier working with you in our most recent sale of our home and purchase of another home. We always knew what was going on either through your weekly phone calls (sometimes more than that) and our communication with your office staff. We always felt like you were on top of things for us and for everyone involved. When we stumbled on some problems due to errors caused by realtors on the other side of the transactions, you were right there to help them fix things even though it wasn’t always your responsibility. This is a sign of a truly committed professional and we are most appreciative of your efforts in this regard.

Selling and buying another home is not a process one likes to engage in frequently but you made it less of a burden and a relatively easy transition. In addition to making sure all the paperwork was in order, you also made our lives easier by helping out with some basic things that we needed like giving us moving boxes, changing the locks on our new house and sending us out on a celebratory dinner. Traditional thank you baskets are always nice but your thank you gifts were much more practical and useful and just what we needed!

We have already told everyone we know that if they need to buy or sell a home, they MUST call you! Even though I don’t plan on moving again anytime in the near future, when and if the time does arrive I will wholeheartedly call you and enlist your excellent services again. Thank you for not only being good at selling and buying homes, but for being a wonderful, friendly and supportive person to work with. We wish you all the best success!
Apr 14, 2017
Don, again, you and your staff have come through for me in stellar fashion. This is our third transaction together and every time 1 am impressed at your professionalism and commitment to your client. You shouldn’t be selling real estate; you should be teaching others how to do it correctly. In the last couple of years, I did a couple of transactions and didn’t use you and, to tell you the truth, I regret not using your services. The comparison between other, so-called ‘professionals’ and you is like night and day.

Again, you went to bat for me on a price and commission reduction to your possible detriment. As such, I enclose a check to make up for your loss of commission. I’ve also included the lost commission from the other realtors as I feel you earned it more than they did.
I have to congratulate Eddie and the rest of your staff for how they handled this. Everybody seemed enthusiastic and committed to getting the job done right and on time. The systems you have in place and the checks and balances virtually ensure a trouble-free deal. Well done! I’ve included a little extra in your check. Please send these kind folks off to a nice dinner on me.
I have dealt with realtors my whole life as my father sold real estate. I have bought and sold several houses and have helped other people in their transactions. I have worked with countless realtors while looking for property, dropping in for open houses, and actual hands-on transactions. I have yet to earn: anybody with the style, politeness, thoroughness, professionalism and care that you bring to the industry.

You want a reference? You can have anybody, anytime, call me and I’ll be happy to let them know they could be doing a lot worse than engaging your team.

Best regards and a hearty ‘Thank you’.
Apr 9, 2017
Del Sur
My husband and I could not believe the price Don and Gerri got us for our house and how quickly the offers came in. They created a big buzz about our property before we actually put it on the market, and it worked wonderfully. They expertly advised us on what items we should improve and how much to spend to get the maximum return. We got a huge return on our investment (way over market values in that area). They helped us choose the best buyer so we were confident the sale would go through. They kept us constantly updated on the entire process, and even helped it close earlier than the already short escrow of 30 days. We will never use a different realtor, and will recommend them to everyone we know. They truly cared about the whole transaction working in our best interest. Can’t say enough about how happy we were with the entire process from start to finish. I’ve never written a review for anything, but I had to share our experience!
Apr 1, 2017
Federal Bank Examiner
I had to liquidate several properties in San Diego. The issues were complicated and I do not reside in California. As trustee for an estate, I scheduled several interviews with real estate agents in the San Diego area who were recommended to me. Don Pelletier came to the interview extremely well prepared. He had already worked up comps, researched the neighborhoods, and had an excellent presentation and familiarity with the area. He won the interview process, hands down. We never looked back. Don worked closely with me and I came to value his advice. Through his hard work, we reached satisfactory sales of all properties in a very respectable time frame. I have sold many properties in many states over the years. I never worked with any real estate agent better qualified than Don. If you want a hardworking, knowledgeable, and helpful real estate agent, Don Pelletier is your man. I recommend him highly and without reservation.
Mar 23, 2017
Bay Park
A friend referred Don to us, after we listed our home with a realtor who was a neighbor/friend and we were having no luck selling after 6 long months. My husband, upset and frustrated, interviewed several agents along with Don, all from very prestigious firms in San Diego. Don stood out, not just because my husband thought he could sell the property, but because he felt Don was a person of integrity, which is important to us. Don kept every promise he made to us. His team, which includes his wife Gerri and his nephew Tim, are all incredibly professional, friendly and responsive. They help Don to run his real estate business like no other we have seen. My husband is a busy attorney in a large nationwide firm with over 600 attorney’s, it is difficult to impress him with either efficiency or intellect and Don did both. Unfortunately, both skills were needed on our real estate transaction and we both feel if it were not for Don’s expertise, many things could have gone wrong. Don has over 30 years in his field, working with all kinds of real estate transactions on all sides from mid-range to luxury properties. Don was able to achieve very close to our asking price within 2 weeks of listing our property. However a very difficult and unresponsive buyer’s realtor and problems with the lending process put us many days over the original escrow close, and I feared the deal would have to be canceled. My husband and I have bought and sold properties before and we have never had a deal this difficult. However, Don persevered. He has an amazingly even temperament and was able to work through all of the problems, mostly to our advantage. Don and his wife Gerri are a wealth of knowledge when it comes to contractors, painters, heating and air people etc. Everyone that the Pelletier’s introduced us to were reasonably priced, efficient and professional. I think they know everyone in San Diego after being in the real estate world as long as Don has been. We only regret that we did not hire Don sooner. This was truly a wild ride, we are so happy Don and Gerri Pelletier and their fantastic team were our drivers! Save yourself some time and headache and hire Don first!
Mar 16, 2017
Individuals such as Don are hard to come by these days. Professional. Smart. Creative. Strong work ethic. Respectful. Skilled negotiator. Committed to providing the highest level of service before, during and after the sale. Genuine and down to earth. I could go on and on! We used Don to sell our home years ago and he negotiated a much higher price than we originally listed the house for. He even took time to vet a realtor out of state for my elderly mom to sell her home. He then made himself available to offer advice and checked back with me countless times through her challenging sale. We will definitely use Don to sell our home next time and would highly recommend him. Thank you so much Don!
Mar 8, 2017
East Lake/Chula Vista
When I told my wife I had called Don, she asked “Who?? Not the guy from the bench!”.
We were in the middle of buying a second home while selling our first home at the same time. We started by selecting a more…discounted real estate group. “What’s the worst that could happen?” We asked ourselves. Well the answer was quite a lot… Things went off the rails fast. Thousands of dollars and countless hours wasted. Potential legal action (an empty threat, but nerve wracking nevertheless!).
We keep seeing Don signs by our home, so I decided to call him. Don stopped by our home and gave us soundly advice. So we immediately hired him and fired the other agent.
Don worked with us and he rescued us. And I mean that literally. We were due with our second baby in a few short weeks and I had no idea where we would be living. A new house? Our current house? An apartment? What would our finances look like? I am afraid I was skeptical until I saw Don’s magic at work.
He started on the sale of our home right away. Within two weeks we had a buyer at asking price and with several contingencies in place to give us peace of mind and extra time in the home after the sale if we needed it.
At the same time he introduced us to a fantastic new lender, Chris, and got us a fresh start on a new house. This house required some competition, but Don and company walked us through it very nicely. We felt the normal jitters but ultimately at ease.
Both the sale and the purchase seemed to be finalizing in relative sync – this was important as it involved transferring VA Loan benefits. And despite using VA the purchase closed “on-time” if not earlier. We were actually ready before the sellers were prepared to move out their last items. 100% facilitated by Don and his team. Smooth as a hot knife through butter.
To complete the story, the baby decided to show a little early, but he was just fine, and we were able to move into the new home about two weeks later.
Call Don, you will not regret it.
Mar 2, 2017
I am an old man (73) and have had a dozen real estate agents in my life. Don is the most responsive, competent, and enjoyable with whom to work that I have ever had. I’m not exaggerating and here’s why: I’ve lived in the home I have now for 38 years. Don was not my agent when I bought it and he has never acted as my agent in a single transaction. Translated that means Don has never even made a penny from me. So why am I raving about him? Over the past decade plus I have wanted to know things about my property and its value. Don has spent an estimated 2 hours of his time each time I get an impulse to know something about my home. He has done that about 20 times in the period since I first asked him. That means Don has given me about 40 hours (2*20) of his time to a man that doesn’t have a contract with him and the possibility of Don making a commission is still way in the future, maybe never if I live in this home the rest of my life. That said, if I ever do list my home for sale, you know who my real estate agent will be! Good ole’ Don who allows me to bug him for data without nothing in it for himself. Don has consistently demonstrated the kind of ‘character’ that has earned my respect and loyalty for life!
Feb 26, 2017
San Marcos
I was moving from across the country and Don (and his great team) made buying a house incredibly easy. Don knows the entire San Diego area and can give pros and cons of all the San Diego communities. This was especially helpful as I had not spent much time in the area. He also has excellent contacts for any type of home renovations or remodeling that one would need. All the contacts were professional and helpful. Even after purchasing a home, Don continues to share his knowledge in everything from the current real estate market to gardening tips. Don came highly recommended from a friend who has had purchased and sold several houses with him. I would now like to pass along my highest recommendation.
Feb 20, 2017
Family Law Attorney and Judge Pro-Tem
As a result of my professional involvement in complicated legal transactions, I have had the privilege to become well acquainted with Mr. Don Pelletier. Mr Pelletier was not only of tremendous assistance to me, I also found him to be through, well prepared and extremely pleasant to work with in situations which required immediate attention. I would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Pelletier and can do so with confidence that he will continue to maintain the fine qualities that I observed.
Feb 16, 2017
Attorney at Law
I am a probate attorney in Carlsbad, California, and my practice focuses exclusively on estate, probate and trust administration matters. I have known Don Pelletier for over five years related to my practice, and I have worked with him on nearly one dozen matters, ranging from valuation of property to sales of property involved in complex litigation.

I can say, without qualification, that common through all these matters is Mr. Pelletier’s professionalism, attention to detail, courtesy and through knowledge of the subject matter, so much so, that I have difficulty rationalizing the use of any other real estate broker.

I count my professional relationship with Mr. Pelletier to be one of my greatest assets in my trust and estate administration practice.
Please feel free to contact me directly at (760) 930-8080 if you have any questions or require further information.
Feb 11, 2017
Thank you Don/Gerri for selling my home! I did not think my home would sell easy but Don/Gerri surprised me, getting an offer locked in within 4 days of listing and a super easy 30 day escrow whilst guiding me through the whole process. All of the advice received had me and my families best interest in mind,I am insanely appreciative of the level of service i received. I will be requesting Don and Gerri’s expert services for all future real estate transactions and recommending them to anyone/everyone that is interested in buying or selling a home.