John Hughes

Broker Guidant Realty 01726716
John Hughes is a working broker focused on understanding client goals and providing insightful guidance on meeting those goals:
• Licensed in December 2005
• Masters Club, 2008-current
• Broker, Guidant Realty
• President, California Real Estate Brokers Inc (2017 - Current)
• Association President, Placer County Association of Realtors (2014)
• Realtor of the Year, Placer County Association of Realtors (2015)
• Director, California Association of Realtors (2012 - current)
• Former positions at HP include: Account Manager, Contracts Manager, Strategic Planner
• MBA from U.C. Davis
Aug 28, 2018
John went above and beyond our expectations. He is amazing - you will not find anyone better to represent you and your family's interests. He is the consummate professional - knowledgeable, intelligent, direct, and honest. He handled the analysis and marketing of our unusual property in an exemplary manner. Having worked with other much less competent real estate individuals in the past, John stood out like a shining star on a dark night. We wish we did not leave the state, because John would be our realtor for life. We will recommend him to everyone and anyone we know still in the area and he will be the first call we make if we find out we will be returning in state.
Aug 13, 2018
IT Service Director
A big thank you to John Hughes and Guidant Realty for the extraordinary service provided in selling our home. He made it so much more comprehensible to understand the details and intricacies of selling and buying a home and answered all our questions and concerns with warmth and professionalism.
Moving out of state is never easy but John was was able to handle all the necessary details including what to expect when I reached my destination. He was also able to connect me with a local realtor so that I was able to locate and purchase our next home. It has been a very pleasurable experience working with John and Guidant Realty from end to end.
I would very much recommend John Hughes and Guidant Realty to anyone needing to buy or sell a home that wants and expects professionalism, understands the current market climate, and provides excellent service for the entire transaction.
Aug 12, 2018
John Hughes was highly recommended by a trusted friend, and we were not disappointed. John came to us fully prepared with background on our home and the current market. He was open and transparent about what we would expect and what we needed to know. He was candid about our home and situation and developed a strategy that worked for us. Selling your home is not easy; however, his expertise, which was truly invaluable, helped us make some big decisions along the way. Very easy-going and pleasant, John, will be a true advocate to you and ensure you get the most from your home sale. We feel very fortunate. He is a true professional, knowledgeable, intuitive and willing to go the extra mile for his clients. We are more than pleased with the outcome of our sale and highly recommend John to anyone in the area looking to sell his or her home.
Aug 10, 2018
I was delighted to work with John on the recent sale of my house. We initially engaged with him over 2 years ago to find the house, and due to his initial professionalism, he was our natural choice to assist with the sale of the house. There are plenty of low cost options out there nowadays, but they pale in comparison to the one on one experience that John provides. I would recommend him to all of my friends and family without any hesitation.
Jun 5, 2018
Retired
John Hughes is two things; a man of integrity and an extremely accomplished Realtor. You can trust John to do exactly what he says he will do and he is very thorough and gives great information that is understandable and that allows you to make informed decision all through the process of buying and selling a home.
In our case, we listed our home with John on Friday night, made an offer on a house on Saturday, received offers on our house on Sunday and everything was tied together by Monday afternoon.
We are extremely pleased and fortunate to have had John as our Realtor, have recommended him to many others and would use him again ourselves.
You can't go wrong with John!
Apr 16, 2018
Engineer
We were delighted that John listened to what we needed, got us a good price for our home, was helpful along the way and got it all done in our timeframe. This was our first home so we needed a lot of help and he was there to answer our many questions. So much paperworkpaperwork, but John was there the whole time.
Nov 6, 2017
IT Director
John helped us find and purchase our dream home at an unbelievable price. We viewed a few homes before we found the house of our dreams. It was the first house that really felt like home, but the price was beyond our limits. It is the perfect house on the perfect lot in the perfect location. We really wanted this house, but I never expected it would happen. The price was just too high. John negotiated a deal that got us exactly within our bounds. I never thought we would get this house and especially not at the price John negotiated. I truly think that we would not be in our new home if it were not for John's exceptional negotiation skills. He is a truly genuine and gifted person.
Oct 30, 2017
Retired
John did an awesome job working with us to sell our investment property. He we diligent to be sure the property was properly prepared and positioned for sale. His knowledge of the local market was outstanding - and we relied on him to set the right price (above our expectations) and get it sold.
His professionalism during the entire process was perfect. Keeping us updated during the entire process and working closely with us so our tenants felt safe, secure and comfortable.
John was our agent when we purchased the investment property back in 2010 - he did a great job then and earned his spot to list our property.
One last thing - he also brings with him a wealth of networking - from 1031 professionals to getting a roofing quote last minute.
Highly Recommended!
Jul 8, 2017
Service Coordinator
John made buying and selling our homes a very easy and flawless process. He educated, referred, and assisted us night and day. We feel lucky to have worked with John and will refer him to everyone we know. He treated us like million dollar clients when we were not. We are so thrilled with our new home and could not have done it without a REALTOR who had our best interest in mind.
Jun 26, 2017
Mechanical Technician Quality Tech Services
John was recommended by a closefriend of ours. He answered all of our questions and helped us smoothly handle the sell and purchase of our home with complete professionalism throughout the whole process. John is a absolute master at what he does from the beginning to the end. John treated us like million dollar clients and I would highly recommend him if you are looking for a realtor that has your best interest in mind during the entire process of either buying or selling your home. He is also very well connected and known as a professional in his field and it showed during the process. I would not hesitate to work with John again in the future. John I just want to Thank You again for helping my wife and I get our dream house.
Jun 13, 2017
Trustee, Whittaker Family Trust
John handled all aspects of preparation, marketing, and sale of my Aunt's estate in Los Lagos in Granite Bay like a dedicated family member would in the same position. If you are looking for a prestige broker, John Hughes is your man. I interviewed many brokers and I could not be happier with the decision of selecting John to represent the family for the estate. Our first offer came in less than 10 hours after listing and we were in escrow within 5 days. John is a perfectionist, and he was invaluable in reviewing the work done by interior painters by suggesting improvements to make the house look incredible before it was placed on the market. John is meticulous in both written and verbal communications. I appreciated his quick responses to my inquiries and his attention to detail in the contract process and escrow. It is clear to me that John has a personal and professional code of conduct to be the best broker, and that he is, with positive energy and a smile.
Apr 4, 2017
John was referred to me through a broker friend of mine. I have worked with him now three times -- once as a buyer and twice as a seller -- and I cannot recommend him highly enough! He is the only agent I want to work with.

John is highly knowledgeable about Sacramento real estate and the ins-and-outs of buying and selling homes. In working with John, I find him to be incredibly flexible and accommodating in scheduling viewings. He is patient and professional. He responds quickly whether by email or text and is highly attentive to detail. When I purchased my last home, there was a lot of gamesmanship played by the seller's agent. This was my dream home and I didn't want to lose it. John was on it -- he was able to anticipate and deal with the curveballs and get me the house. He knows real estate. I cannot express how grateful I am for his guidance.

Mar 27, 2017
Chief of Cardiac and Thoracic Surgery
Two areas that are most important to me and permeate every discipline are trust and competence. John possesses both of these traits and demonstrated this throughout the time we worked together. He kept me informed as to the process and showed very good judgement and integrity during the listing of our home. I recommend him highly without reservation.
May 19, 2015
Seller
Hi,
Recently my family and I had been going through Very difficult times
in Our lives , in addition to that we had to put our home up for sale asap .Fortunately, we found John Hughes from Guidant Real Estate.
John found a buyer for our home after the first day of the open house.He was extremely knowledgeable of the housing market in our area.was also very efficient ,very prompt and extremely professional dealing with our situation.John at times even have to act as a mediator between my ex spouse and i, John stayed neutral throughout this process.His focus was to maximize our profit and kept in mind the best interests of both parties.he expedited All paperwork in a timely manner and took care of any issues that we came across.I highly recommend John Hughes to any of my friends and neighbors and to anyone that's looking to sell or buy a home in this area.
sincerely,
Reyna Brothers
Apr 6, 2015
Seller
John is a true professional. He was able to sell a home when others before him were not able to. He is a realist and commends the most a house is worth from the market. he helped us fix up the home for sale, market it and do open houses. I would use him again if given the chance.
Dec 14, 2014
You can't go wrong with choosing John Hughes as your REALTOR! I work with many REALTORS, and I am so glad I decided to go with John. He was patient, hard working, and always had our best interest in mind. John truly made us feel like a priority in his life, and we always felt like we had someone in our corner. I will always recommend him to anyone and everyone looking to buy or sell their home!
Sep 30, 2014
We are very happy we had John Hughes and Guidant Realty right by our side during our entire home buying experience. John handled every aspect of our home purchase with professionalism and enthusiasm. He kept us up to date on new houses that met our search criteria and was right on top of making appointments for home viewings. He knows the market, he knows the area, he follows the trends, and he stays informed so he can provide the best possible service to his buyers and sellers. If you want the best go with John Hughes and Guidant Realty.
Jun 3, 2014
Client, Purchasing a home
John was an amazing agent to work with. He helped our family over months to find the perfect home – a home my husband and I (and the kids!) could all agree on. We searched high a low and John was always flexible and able to work with our crazy schedules. We considered several locations in Placer County, all of which John was knowledgeable about. During the home search process we appreciated the way in which John would explain the pros and cons of every home, neighborhoods and schools in the area. John would discuss both the good and the bad of every home and was not simply highlighting the positive to get a sell. This helped us get a fuller and honest picture of the home that we were purchasing. We ended up falling in love with a foreclosure which presented with its own set of challenges but John was always professional and made sure that we were informed throughout the whole process, as well as making sure that we were getting the best deal for our situation. He advocated for our family and made this whole process run smoothly. John was present throughout - during inspection, appraisal, meetings with our mortgage broker and even during the final signing. Whenever we had a question we could always count on John to give us honest feedback, again both the good and the bad. We are now in our lovely home, in an ideal community for our family and are now looking forward to raising our kids in a wonderful school district.
Mar 3, 2014
Electrical engineer, retired
I am very happy with John's help and highly recommend him to others.

My house search took a year and was quite a learning experience. First, I needed an education as to how house buying and the market worked. John eagerly stepped up to the plate and we looked at many houses. I learned, through John's assistance, what price range I could afford and hence where my search areas were to be. I also learned about what types of houses that I liked and didn't like. He did all this with the utmost respect for me. In fact, he never faltered in his professional demeanor and honest desire to help me be successful. This core behavior sets him apart from others.

During our business time together, we even became friends. Now, how many business relations can you say that about? So, all said, I highly recommend John as your premiere realtor of choice for all of your future house sale and purchasing needs.
Feb 21, 2014
Manager-Best Buy LLC.
When it came time for me to short sale my home, I remembered that a friend of mine who also did a short sale had raved about his realtor. I called my friend and he gave me all of the contact information for John Hughes.
When I first met John he took his time explaining the process putting "zero" pressure on me to sign on the spot. As he placed a well detailed short-sale package on my table, he said look it over and let me know if this will work for you. I said, I already know it will so can I sign with you right now? He smiled, I signed and it was one of the easiest real estate processes I have ever been through.

I would recommend John to anyone who is needed help not only for a troubled short-sale, but a purchase or conventional sale as well.
If you want to be treated with great professionalism then John is your Man!
Dec 14, 2013
Worked with John in 2012 / 2013 on the sale of my property. John was very thorough and helpful and went above and beyond in every way. In addition, he's very knowledgeable and was a person I could trust to help me through the process. His follow-through and follow-up skills are exemplary. John also had excellent resources to draw from and a great support team to help all the way through. He came highly recommended to me, and in turn, I would like to highly recommend him to you.
Oct 22, 2013
Buyers of a 1031 Tax-Deferred EXchange Property
We would definitely recommend John Hughes not only to our friends and acquaintances but to anyone who might need the services of a real estate agent. About 4 months ago, we sold our condo and need to get a real estate agent to find a replacement property, ,it being a 12031 deferred exchange property. We were not happy with the first agent we hired and our lender recommended John to us. We had some issues pre-qualifying and getting approved for a loan due to a short sale on one of our properties 3 years ago. We have gone through three lenders and the process was not only nerve wrecking but definitely put our lives on hold. Throughout the whole process, John stayed put and did not stop until we found the right lender. HIs professional demeanor, work ethics and attitude certainly helped ease our load during those difficult times. His assessment of how much a buyer should offer on a property is just amazing. At one point, he even brought a wrench to tighten up the bolts on the toilet during our inspection! There you go, folks, you will also get the services of a handyman = but don't forget, he is a Real Estate Agent!
Sep 23, 2013
When my husband and I decided it was time to start looking into buying a house, we had no idea where to start. We found John through a friend of ours who knew his family. She told us they were just opening up a new office in Rocklin and that he was the one to help us find our dream home. When we first met with John he was able to answer all of our questions and was super patient with us. He really took his time to try and make sure we were all on the same page. We only ended up seeing around dozen houses. That's all we needed. John helped us write some great offers. And one of them was accepted. We had some issues with our lender and closing on time but John was able to make sure everything worked out smoothly! Even while on vacation he was making phone calls and emails to get the job done on time! We really appreciate all the hard work that he did to make it possible for us to get into the house of our dreams. We will definitely use John in the future and we recommend him to all our friends.

Partner Network

My Associations