Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty - Chapel Hill

Making up one third of the Research Triangle, Chapel Hill is one of the most desirable places to live in North Carolina. The Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices York Simpson Underwood Realty team is proud to serve Chapel Hill, and can help you find your dream home.

Some fun facts about our office and the Chapel Hill area:

Our Chapel Hill office has been around since 1972 and has a deep history. From the original offices of A. C. Robbins & Associates (1972) and TriPointe Properties (1989), Prudential Carolinas Realty & York Simpson Underwood Realty merged in 2009 to form what is now BHHS York Simpson Underwood Realty.

Although each of our agents has an opinion about which ACC basketball team is best, since we are located in Chapel Hill we have a special place in our hearts for the University of North Carolina. Go Tar Heels!

We like spending our lunch hours at the Cafe Carolina.

Our favorite thing about the neighborhood is the beautiful location. It is convenient to major employers, close to schools, more than enough recreational activities to participate in, and it is fairly easy to get around with various modes of transportation.

Our office consists of over 40 team members who are ready to help you with your real estate needs.

Share

Recommendations (171)

Oct 17, 2019

Valma Cornell recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Scott was very helpful. Since I cannot drive, he drove me whenever I needed a ride.
Oct 15, 2019

Russell Cornell recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Salesperson

Scott was extremely helpful with the entire process of finding a place, picking out appliances and countertops, talking with the builders, and closing. He is a very knowledgeable, trustworthy, person who seems to really enjoy helping people. I felt very comfortable with him right from the beginning. I am very, very happy with the townhouse that we found and I would recommend Scott to anyone who is looking to purchase real estate in the Triangle. He is a true professional!
Oct 7, 2019

Taylor Gleeson recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Director of Sales, Cathco, Inc.

Scott went above and beyond our expectations every step of the way while we were building our first home. Very experienced, insightful and always responsive, Scott was able to quickly manage all issues and keep things moving forward. It was great to have an advocate like Scott in our corner who truly cares about his clients. We recommend Scott to all.
Oct 6, 2019

Kyaw Aung recommends K. Scott Hawkins

I had a wonderful time working with Scott! He was patient with me and very adamant with his work. He was able to find me multiple listings and would not stop searching until I found a match I was satisfied with. Though there was a bit of a communication barrier as English is not my first language, Scott was very responsive to my calls and emails.
Sep 30, 2019

Chelsea Hodsdon recommends Mercedes Vickers

Nursing Student

Mercedes worked with my family for about a year before we bought a house.This was my first home buying experience and my husbands third. She was patient with us considering our needs changed and grew as we looked into purchasing a home. She was flexible with times to show us the homes we were interested in. She set up an email the we recieved of properties that were within range and didn't try to sell us on the top of our price range. If we had a question she didn't try to lie about anything she found the answer and contacted us via email and text. Over all, I had a great experience!
Sep 13, 2019

Jaymes Nowicki recommends K. Scott Hawkins

We highly recommend Scott. I can recall our first conversation in how he offered a friendly reminder that the home buying process should be an enjoyable process. He explained how surprised his clients normally are when at the end they realize how smooth everything went. To his credit a lot has to do with him. There are many attributes that made our experience especially easy. He is someone that listens intently. He incredibly knowledgeable and thorough. He is offers opinions only when asked, and is critical in the best way possible (Trust us you need this). Most importantly, he makes himself available and is present with a purpose. You feel like you are his only client even while you know that you are not. With that said, he knows numbers extremely well (Previous CFO). He knows the market, price points, comps and is and is a valuable resource when determining how to list and where to start with an offer. We look forward to working with him again in the future.
Sep 11, 2019

John and Kaite recommend K. Scott Hawkins

Creative Director / Physician

Scott was funny, personable, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Purchasing a home from afar can be very stressful. However, Scott took away the guess work and actually made the process fun for us. That being said, Scott was attentive, professional, timely, and transparent. Also, our young son forgot his flip flops at the house and Scott gave them back to us at closing (three months later). That's good service! Thank you, Scott!
Aug 22, 2019

Melissa recommends K. Scott Hawkins

RN

Scott is a rock star! He's got such great personality. I enjoyed searching for a house with him. My family and friends are loving the new house. Thanks for all your help, Scott!
Aug 16, 2019

Tareq recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Physician

I have just completed the process of buying my first home, honestly a dream come true. I am not sure how I would have done it without Scott. I came in to the US market as a total newbie and he made everything so easy for me. I initially told him what I was looking for, he compiled a full detailed list of all properties matching my preference. I chose the townhouse I wanted and he got me inside for a look the next day. He arranged for everything (Inspection,pest,HVAC...etc) and they were done in no time. He would point out stuff that I did not even notice and demanded the sellers fix/clean.

We had some hiccups with my mortgage lender, and Scott was the main reason everything worked out eventually. I was in constant contact with him, he was very supportive. Scott answers my SMS messages in no time (I guess the longest time he took was like 5 minutes, no kidding). He literally answers my messages any time I send him that I doubt he goes to sleep at night.

He was in close contact with the seller's agents and took all necessary steps to secure the deal the even though my lender put the whole thing at risk multiple times. Honestly the best part was that I felt Scott was fighting for it, he was in touch with the lender's representative to facilitate stuff.

Now that it is over, I feel I was lucky that I got to deal with him. I am very grateful to Scott for all his help.

I told Scott that I have might have plans to invest in real estate later and that I will call him for that.

I would be more than happy to answer any questions if you are considering working with him (ask Scott for my number if you have any questions)
Jul 17, 2019

Ben Woolf recommends Tabitha Elien

The Coach

Tabitha is nothing short of amazing! She has been so kind and thoughtful during our search to move to Chapel Hill! She is professional and searched for places that met our criteria without asking! We can't wait to move to CH! Definitely planning to use Tabitha, the epitome of customer service for find our home when it's time!
Jul 1, 2019

Amy Bugno recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Scott went above and beyond for my home-buying process. As a single woman and first-time home buyer, I needed a lot of direction and guidance. He was there with me every step of the way - always quickly responding to my texts, emails, and calls, answering every question, big and small. I truly felt like he took the time to understand my priorities, must-haves, and nice-to-haves, and helped me find the most perfect home! I now consider Scott a friend and highly recommend him to everyone I know!
Jun 24, 2019

Maureen O'Rourke recommends Sara Kronenfeld

Sara has the perfect combination of qualities as a real estate agent. She keeps up-to-date on the local market and trends, and is a pleasure to work with, being both professional and friendly. Sara always wants her clients to be comfortable with decisions and has great negotiation skills. I highly recommend her!!
Jun 7, 2019

Catherine Wiley recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Registered Nurse

Scott has been a huge help to me on my journey as a first time home-buyer. He was very helpful in finding properties that met my needs and really helped to guide me through a process that very confusing and nerve wracking. I most appreciated how available he was for questions and advice and with quick responses every time I needed him. Scott is a very friendly agent who is easy to talk to and made me feel comfortable and confident. I would definitely recommend his services to anyone looking to buy a home, especially someone who might be nervous about the process like I was in the beginning.
May 20, 2019

Claire Gelion recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Smooth transaction, great communication!
May 16, 2019

Michelle Sabaoun recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Professor

Scott was fantastic in helping us find our new home in a very short period of time, and in a tight market. He was super responsive and on top of everything from A to Z. We will be back with him again when we turn around to sell. Look no further, you've found your guy!
May 13, 2019

Chris Blue recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Scott is one of the most HUMBLE and CARING realtor I have ever worked with. His was there every step of the way and was there to answer any questions with a smile l, no matter how horrible my questions were. As a first time home buyer and military vet he was there for everything and made it a whole lot less stressful. Even after closing he is still helping me, not just as a realtor, but as a friend. Dont choose any other realtor but him. You will not regret it!
May 7, 2019

Leah B recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Academics at UNC Kenan-Flagler

It has been an absolute pleasure working with Scott. My husband and I are first time home buyers and were completely nervous about going the process of buying a home. Fortunately, we found Scott (through a referral) as our realtor and he made us feel comfortable and treated us like family. Not only was Scott super supportive and there for us throughout the entire process and offering us much needed guidance, he made every effort and succeeded in keeping everything on track with our timeline. He's always just a call or text away and he never missed a beat. I am so so happy we were blessed enough to have Scott as our realtor and that he worked closely with us to find a place we are extremely happy to call our first home.
Apr 26, 2019

Margaret Brooks recommends Tabitha Elien

Founder and CEO, Brooks Hawkins Group

Tabitha delivers results and is a great team player! She has great insights and approaches her work with intentional precision. One of Tabitha’s best traits is her ability to pick up and act on the “little things” that make a big difference. You’ll be in terrific hands with Tabitha leading your home search.
Apr 18, 2019

John recommends Brian Turner

Homeowner

Brian Turner is an excellent agent. Brian is extremely knowledgeable, hardworking and will make sure you get the best deal possible. He is a consummate professional with a down to earth personality that makes these very stressful processes a little less so.
Apr 16, 2019

Rose Ann Plummer recommends K. Scott Hawkins

Appreciated K. Scott Hawkins’ quick responsiveness to my request to view 2 homes. He viewed them himself before the actual viewings which was helpful because he already knew details in the houses. He was already waiting for me at the first house before I arrived so there was no delay. Scott was cheery, informative, professional, and did not rush me. I will recommend Scott to all who may ask me for a recommendation of a realtor!
Apr 16, 2019

Colin Anderson recommends Brian Turner

Realtor

Brian is a great colleague, always available to provide insight and assistance. I hope we get to do a deal together soon!
Apr 12, 2019

Whit Brannon recommends Brian Turner

Broker

Brian is a consummate professional. He is a pleasure to work with. I expect him to be successful helping his clients in the Greater Triangle Marketplace for years to come.
Apr 10, 2019

Shaina Robinson recommends Brian Turner

Manager, Belted Goat @ Fearrington Village

It gives me great pleasure to write this recommendation for Brian Turner. Brian and I met at work almost three years ago, and he has been a dependable worker and a good friend to me ever since, and I fully support his decision to pursue his career in real estate.

Brian is without question one of the most benevolent and sincere individuals I've ever met. He genuinely cares about people and takes his position at work and in life very seriously. At Fearrington, we pride ourselves on providing nothing but the best in customer service and hospitality, and Brian holds these ideals to utmost importance. I also believe his outgoing personality and his problem solving skills will continue be an asset to him in his real estate efforts, and I know he will be successful in any endeavors he pursues.
Apr 9, 2019

Anu recommends Brian Turner

Goodine

Brian is the best! When I was looking for my future home he gave me honest advice and he definitely had my best interests in mind. I would recommend him to anyone looking to make the home buying process less stressful.
Apr 9, 2019

Brian Wagner recommends Brian Turner

Web Designer

I have had a the pleasure of knowing and working with Brian for a couple decades. He has always been a genuine people-person with an amazing ability to assess, recognize and understand what someone's needs are and help them work through options. He can be objective, but finds a personal connection in everything he does. He is a great partner to work with.