Compass Los Altos

Share

Recommendations (458)

Apr 30, 2021

MK recommends Dorothy Liu

Buyer of a Home

"My husband and I were looking to buy a house and we met Dorothy at an open house and immediately took a liking to her. Dorothy agreed to help us and she has been amazing. The Bay area market is a tough market for buyers but Dorothy helped us close on our dream house. Her knowledge about the area we were looking in is exceptional and goes to show that she has been working in the market and has a deep understanding and important information about the area.

Dorothy is a skilled market researcher. She is also very flexible and accommodating. Dorothy is extremely responsive. Whenever we had questions or needed information, Dorothy was quick to respond and address our needs. Dorothy is a good relationship builder and works well with all parties including, the seller’s agent, appraiser, loan agents etc. Dorothy also is a great resource with any construction work that you might need to get done in your new house.

I would not hesitate to recommend Dorothy for all your real estate needs."
Apr 29, 2021

Steve & Cindy G. recommend Dorothy Liu

Sellers

"I never would have imagined that the sale would have been as quick and as successful as it turned out. Both Cindy and I were very impressed by how Dorothy quarterbacked the entire process from start to finish with terrific attention to detail. We recently sold our home in Los Altos. After reviewing a number of agents, we decided that Dorothy Liu was, hands-down, the best choice. We were impressed by her deep understanding of the market, incredible attention to detail, pragmatic perspective, and high level of enthusiasm and energy.

We ended up selling our house in record time! Dorothy was instrumental in helping us prepare the house for market in record time. She had a terrific rolodex of various service professionals (cleaners, painters, etc.) that helped our house show well. Dorothy provided valuable help in reviewing the offers submitted and getting us into contract with a buyer. Her diligent efforts and follow-through continued through Closing. We were delighted to work with Dorothy on this transaction and would look forward to working with her again in the future."
Apr 29, 2021

Alena & Jesse J. recommend Dorothy Liu

Sellers

"Dorothy went above and beyond for us, and really became a part of our family. She consulted and guided through our home renovation, connecting us with the talented contractors in her network. Once our home was ready for sale, she worked her magic to stage the home. We received a ton of traffic, and multiple offers way above asking. She even ended up negotiating rent-back for us while we searched for our next home, but ended up not needing it because of her dedication - we were able to purchase the home of our dreams after only 2 weeks. As stressful as selling/buying a home can be, Dorothy made it a pleasure. You'd be lucky to work with her!"
Apr 28, 2021

TF recommends Dorothy Liu

Seller of Home

March 2020 was the second time we hired Dorothy Liu to be our real estate agent. The first time was in 2007 when we sold our home of 24 years. With Dorothy’s expertise we were able to sell our house quickly and for over asking price.

When it came time to sell our townhouse, we did not hesitate to hire Dorothy again. Our house sold quickly, and we are delighted with the price.

Dorothy has a breadth and depth of knowledge that is hard to find. She knows the market. She knows how to price your home so that it can sell quickly and at the best price. And she knows how to prepare your home so that it can shine and be at its best.

We find Dorothy honest and extremely hard working. We give her our very highest recommendation!"
- T & R
Apr 28, 2021

JL recommends Dorothy Liu

Buyer & Now Seller of a Home

"I have purchased 2 homes and recently sold one - all with Dorothy Liu. She's an exceptional agent who goes above and beyond to ensure her clients are 110% satisfied. In my recent home sale experience with Dorothy, she provided me with a complete list and schedule of everything that would be done for my home to go to market. Dorothy communicated with me daily on progress. If I had a question or concern, she replied immediately day or night with thorough responses. There is no detail large or small that goes unnoticed with Dorothy. She made sure anything related to the sale (eg paperwork, house painting, gardening, handyman work) was done correctly and in a timely manner. In fact when the appraisal of the home came in, Dorothy immediately flagged multiple issues with the assessment. She noticed many large mistakes and carefully documented all of them. Dorothy sent this documentation right away to the buyer agent who forwarded along to the appraising bank. This resulted in a significant increase in the appraised value of the home! I honestly feel so fortunate to be a client of Dorothy's and can't imagine working with anyone else. If you are lucky enough to become her client, you can trust things will get done and done correctly. You will receive the best service you can imagine."
- JL
Apr 12, 2021

Shauli G recommends Susan Sims

When we started looking for a house in Palo Alto, some realtors led us to believe this is a "mission impossible". Given our budget and the strong competition in this hot market, we tried to keep our expectations low. However, when we met Susan, we immediately liked her optimistic, practical and respectful attitude. It was a long house hunting... about 18 months. There were times we almost gave up, or were concerned that Susan would give up on us. But the long waiting paid off. We found a house that had everything we were looking for. Susan was a great mentor for us in the entire process, and we felt like she's always there for us to answer any question. Thank you, Susan, for making our dream come true!
Apr 11, 2021

Joe and Kathleen Wilson recommend Lynn North

We faced a daunting task when my elderly parents could no longer care for themselves in their own home. The time came to move them into assisted living in a minimally disruptive fashion, and then figure out how to disposition 60+ years worth of household items in order to put their house up for sale. We spent many sleepless nights worrying while trying to figure out where to begin.

We were fortunate to meet with Lynn who kindly offered her expertise not only in selling my parents home, but she provided us with recommendations on how to make sure my parents transition to assisted living went smoothly. She put us in touch with a wonderful senior moving specialist who was amazing. Rather than rush their house to market she wisely suggested taking care of my parents first, then take some time to recuperate before quickly jumping into the daunting task of preparing their house for sale. 

We are extremely grateful for the expertise Lynn provided in selling my parents house. She arranged for an amazing estate sale company to remove the remaining items that we left in the house, and when they were finished the house was very clean and ready for the next phase. It was a comforting feeling to be able to fully trust Lynn to recommend the repair and upgrades the house would require in order to provide a beautiful turnkey house that buyers are looking for. Lynn has a fabulous team of contractors in all trades who seemed to magically appear on the exact days that she needs them. Each one was very professional and completed their jobs on time so that the house was ready for sale on the date promised. Her team patched damage to walls, removed the existing kitchen and the popcorn ceiling, repainted all interior and exterior walls,  installed a beautiful new modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances and quartz countertops, installed all new flooring, and updated the landscaping with new plants, lighting and grass. Lynn has been working with these contractors for many, many years and it shows in the quality of their work. I am not sure how Lynn is able to manage all of these tasks, but it was a huge relief knowing that we could focus on my parents’ care while she handled the sale of the house.

Lynn’s expertise helped create a home that yielded thousands of views on a beautiful custom website, and her marketing resulted in over 50 carefully screened in-person tours in just 10 days, despite the restrictions created by the pandemic. Once finished, she presented each of the offers to me and my wife and highlighted the pros and cons for each one before making a recommendation on which offer provided the best return, all while carefully considering any contingencies and the likelihood that the sale would close quickly without any issues. 

Just before the close of escrow Lynn invited us to meet the new owner. We enjoyed sharing our many memories of the home with the buyer. It is comforting to know that the buyer will find joy in my parent's home as she personalizes it and starts a new chapter in her life. As for Lynn, she became so much more than just a realtor because she helped us navigate one of the most challenging events of our lives with an amazing amount of enthusiasm, compassion, and professionalism. We will be forever grateful to Lynn and her team of professionals. 
Mar 17, 2021

Daniel M Green recommends Susan Sims

Partner, Gunderson Dettmer

Susan and her team were fantastic to work with. They were patient, knowledgeable and provided good guidance both on the sale of our prior home, and the purchase of our current home, over several years. Susan knows the Los Altos market very well, and was great helping us maximize the sale price of our prior home. She also did an excellent job making recommendations for various service providers who helped get our prior home in tip-top shape for sale. My wife and I would definitely work with Susan again!
Feb 21, 2021

Marie-Annick Glon recommends Erika Ameri

When I say that Erika is highly professional, it doesn't begin to describe her skills and experience. Erika was instrumental in getting my home on the market in just 5 weeks during the Holidays and the pandemic. She has a large network of contractors and other contacts and made great recommendations to prepare my property for sale. She is prompt and make decisions quickly. Her experience really came through in a big way: my condo sold in just 6 days! She is ethical and was 100% transparent with all the disclosures: potential buyers had no questions as Erika had disclosed it all. Erika is a real PRO and I can't recommend her enough. You will not regret working with Erika.
Jan 8, 2021

Gautam Shanbhag recommends Susan Sims

Susan Sims was an amazing partner for us in our journey to find a dream home in the bay area. Our home search got impacted by the covid crisis and Susan was incredibly helpful in navigating the market during this time. The bay area market is extremely competitive and it took us some time to find the right home. During all of this search, Susan was a voice of patience and encouragement. After every unsuccessful house search, she would say - "your dream house is out there and it's getting close - there's lot more coming". And she was right - we landed on our perfect home. Susan went above and beyond in helping with the move logistics as well as handling setting up inspections for us during the transition. We would highly recommend Susan for anyone looking in the bay area.
Jan 7, 2021

Adam Schellinger recommends Erika Ameri

Erika is absolutely fantastic! We highly recommend her to anyone looking to buy or sell their home. She helped us buy our first home 6 years ago and just helped us sell it (despite the pandemic, she got our house sold within a week and above asking price). She is superb with organization and always on top of every detail - the process was clear and manageable every step of the way. Erika is a great, clear communicator and always available for questions big and small. She deeply knows the market, surrounds herself with a great team and has quality recommendations and connections for any needed services related to buying/selling. Couldn't recommend anyone more highly!
Dec 8, 2020

John and Noriko recommend Susan Sims

Susan worked with us to purchase our new home in Palo Alto. From the beginning of our search she was extremely responsive and generous with her time, as we worked through the options in the market. She gave us keen advice which allowed us to make the right bid on a very competitive property. During and after closing Susan continued to be extremely proactive, following up with the seller on questions, and helping us to find a contractor to get some last minute work done on the property before moving in. We’re so pleased to have Susan as our agent, and we highly recommend her!
Dec 1, 2020

Jay and Dani recommend Susan Sims

Susan helped us purchase our condo in Mountain View just as we were starting our family. Two kids later and we were ready to sell and move closer to family. We immediately knew Susan would be the person to sell our condo.

Susan helped arrange everything while we were two time zones away and navigated the challenges of selling during COVID. We would highly recommend Susan to anyone looking to buy or sell in the Bay Area. Susan is professional, honest, and always had our best interests in mind.
Nov 13, 2020

Dan Green recommends Susan Sims

Partner, Gunderson Dettmer

Susan was incredibly patient throughout our home search process (working with us for 4+ years and seeing many homes), and was resourceful and thoughtful throughout the process. Once we went into contract, she went the extra mile to help guide us through the key milestones and offered suggested service providers. She saved us a lot of time and was a reassuring voice throughout. We highly recommend her!
Oct 27, 2020

Harald Lohsse recommends Susan Sims

CEO Software Design Lohsse GmbH

What do you do if you live in Germany and want to sell your house in California that you bought a long time ago when you lived and worked there?
Well, you call Susan Sims!
She really was extremely helpful in every respect. Do you know what an Apostille is and why you need it and what for?
Susan will tell you!
Thanks to her untiring efforts and deep understanding of all aspects of marketing we were able to close the sale in record time.
Very well done, Susan!
And thank you again very much!


Oct 3, 2020

Sujeevan Rajayogam recommends Erika Ameri

Engineering Manager

We first met Erika 7 years ago and she helped us buy our first home. She provided a lot of guidance and valuable information on making a wonderful purchase. That home appreciated by 100%. Last month, we asked Erika to sell that property for us. She took care of the whole process from start to finish without us having to physically be there. She sold our house over asking price in 3 days. Nobody can do it better than Erika!
Sep 7, 2020

Xie Family recommends Lynn North

Happy Homeowners

We were referred to Lynn by our loan agent who recommended Lynn not only because Lynn is a top agent but more importantly for her honesty, dedication and quality of service. As soon as we met with Lynn in person, it became clear to us that she’s the right person to sell our townhome in Sunnyvale. She presented us with the market analysis for the target price, a plan to remodel our home to increase the value, and a detailed plan to promote our home in both online and offline channels. Covid-19 came unexpectedly in March and Lynn reassured us that everything is going to be fine, but we know it only means she will have to put in more effort to make sure our home are presented to the right buyers. With her advertising and marketing strategies, our home was the top viewed home on Compass website for the week that we were on the market, and around 30 potential buyers/agents showed up in person to check on our home, which is unbelievable given all the difficulties due to the Covid-19. We really appreciate all the effort and patience from Lynn and very satisfied with both her service and the outcome.
Jul 24, 2020

Tom and Judy Brosz recommend Lynn North

Early this year we decided it would be in our best interest to move from our home of 40 years in Mountain View to southern California. We would be closer to our children, and able to get out from under our mortgages, and get a single-story home for Judy’s disability.

We already knew Lynn North from church, and that she was a realtor with a good reputation, and we approached her to handle the sale of our Mountain View home. She first tried to be sure it was really a good idea for us to sell, then when she heard that our reasons were sound she went all in on supporting the process.

Lynn not only worked on selling our home, but she took us in hand, and helped us with many other aspects of our move.

The realtor she recommended in Southern California did an amazing job finding us a new home down there. The movers she recommended were able to help us move a house with 40 years of memories in it (and maybe a little too much stuff) and they managed to get it done before the virus lockdown. The financiers she worked with arranged a bridge loan so we could find and buy our new home without selling the old one first.

With all this, Lynn still did a great job of selling our beloved old house, and under extremely difficult conditions, encouraging and reassuring us along the whole way.

During this entire period, the COVID-19 crisis was in full swing. Lynn arranged with multiple contractors to get our house upgraded for sale, working within many restrictions on contractor activity. She developed methods of showing the house to potential buyers without the usual in-person walkthroughs, and many of the other techniques that are normally used by realtors to sell homes.

With all this going on, Lynn upgraded our home, brought our house up for sale June 1, and we closed the sale July 21. Less than two months, in a terrible environment where we were worried that it would sell at all.

Lynn arranged for all the upgrades to be paid for, with payment in the end from escrow, a great help with our limited finances. Any difficulties along the way were smoothed over with no stress for us. Everything was set up to make it as easy as possible for us.

We could not be more grateful.
Jul 6, 2020

Tamer & Adriana recommend Carolyn Botts

We met Carolyn 11 years ago and have been working together ever since! We had many positive experiences purchasing our first home in Redwood City in 2016, and renting it out a few years later to our first tenant and again this year to our second tenant. Carolyn helped us in all those cases, and it has been a pleasure working with her. She is trustworthy and dependable, knowledgeable, easy to work with, and helped make the home buying and renting processes smooth. She helped with all aspects like home inspections, getting issues fixed with various contractors, and providing her valuable insight on various issues. We are so grateful for Carolyn’s help and highly recommend her. We love Carolyn and look forward to continuing to work with her!
Jun 11, 2020

Sue and Dave Kelly recommend Lynn North

homeowner

Our first experience with Lynn North was in 2013 when she sold our Los Altos home to us. And though she was not our realtor at the time, she was a wealth of information, advice and support, even after our move-in.

Fast forward 6.5 years when we had to move once again. There was no doubt in our minds that we wanted Lynn to sell our home. She is extremely knowledgeable about the market, and so honest and fair. Unfortunately, our timing came right when Covid-19 was taking off, but that didn't phase Lynn. She remained incredibly positive and became a leader in how to accommodate all the new guidelines while continuing to move forward. Her experience and hard work made our move and the sale of our home very easy and worry-free.

Bottom line, Lynn North is amazing at what she does! She cares about both her buyers and sellers. She is very professional, honest, well-connected and hard-working, all while making you feel like you've been friends forever. We highly recommend her!
May 1, 2020

Amy Lee recommends Erika Ameri

Program Manager

I have known Erika since 2015 and I am so glad that we met her. We have worked with her many times over the years and she's very dedicated and most hard working person I have ever met. I highly recommend Erika to anyone looking for a realtor.
Apr 24, 2020

Betty deBettencourt recommends Susan Sims

We had a wonderful experience with Susan selling our home. She is extremely knowledgeable and professional, and very easy to work with. Her ability to negotiate the transaction and close the sale given the pandemic was amazing. We always felt we were in good hands and never worried about the details.
Jan 1, 2020

Anonymous recommends Erika Ameri

Erika is knowledgeable and efficient.She is able to orchestrate and have your house sold in a short time in any condition which she did for me.Erika will work with your needs and wants.She is a great agent who can get things done as you wish.
Dec 18, 2019

Sabrina Robbins recommends Dorothy Liu

Client

I'm happy to write this recommendation for Dorothy Liu.
I met Dorothy at an open house and liked her right away. Her passion for her work and professionalism were evident. She helped me purchase that home and then helped me update and sell my home. It was a stressful time made better by her support and advice. Her knowledge of buying and selling real estate made the entire process easier than I expected. Dorothy was attentive to my needs and guided me through the many decisions I needed to make. It's her caring nature and experience with the housing market that makes her tops in my book!
I would recommend her to anyone without hesitation.
Sabrina Robbins
Dec 11, 2019

Eve Cohen recommends Susan Sims

Chief Financial Officer

Susan is that rare agent who is ONLY in the deal for YOU. She never forgets who she is negotiating for and she is always available for answering questions, scheduling needed improvements and just being a friend. I cannot recommend her highly enough.

Our Team