Dorothy Liu

Realtor/Broker Associate, ASP, QSC, CIPS, GREEN, CPRES, RELO Compass
Dorothy provides OUTSTANDING service beyond buyers and sellers expectations with her HIGH energy, enthusiasm, passion and professionalism. She services buyers/sellers in Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Los Altos, Mountain View, Palo Alto and nearby communities.

Outstanding service is her top priority in real estate. Dorothy is committed to providing the best information possible in buying and selling real estate. The ability to provide tech-savvy real estate tactics and offer creative sales strategies is the primary advantage Dorothy gives her buyers and sellers of homes in Silicon Valley.

She is a Broker Associate, Realtor, Senior Real Estate Specialist (SRES), Accredited Staging Professional (ASP), Distressed Property Certified (DCP), Relocation Specialist, & Global Specialist, Certified International Property Specialist, NAR’s GREEN certification for Green Building and Energy Efficiency as well as a Probate Real Estate Specialist.

Remember, there is no place like home! So let Dorothy prove herself to you in your sale or purchase of a home.
Aug 12, 2019
New Homeowner
We were excited to work with Dorothy to buy our first house this year. Our family has worked with her for years, and has found her service to be flawless. Dorothy was with us from the start, driving over to take a look at homes that we had short-listed, listening to our preferences, and setting up search results that would match. When we were ready, she went above and beyond to prepare our offer, working remotely with us while were were out of town to ensure the fastest delivery possible. Since there was a relocation company involved in selling the house, the process & paperwork was different than other kinds of sales. Fortunately, Dorothy knew exactly what to do based on her experience and ensured a smooth process. After we got the keys to the house, we wanted to do some remodeling. We hired Dorothy’s recommended contractors, who ended up completing the work even earlier than expected! Thanks to Dorothy’s help, we had a great experience purchasing our first home, and would recommend her real estate services to all of our family and friends.
Jul 1, 2019
Grateful Home Buyer
This was our very first home-buying experience, and I don’t think we could’ve been in better hands than Dorothy’s. From the very beginning, Dorothy was empathetic to our financial limitations and took the time to ask numerous questions to provide herself with a better understanding of our desires and preferences. Whenever we requested a showing, Dorothy was extremely responsive, regardless of the hour or day, and always came prepared with information about the homes and comps. She was also always very prompt to all our meetings and responsive to all of our emails/texts.

All these wonderful qualities in Dorothy were already very evident, but it was during the period between putting down a bid and closing that Dorothy really displayed her incredible energy and work ethic. Given the competitive Bay Area market, Dorothy wasted no time in pushing through our bid a whole day before others submitted theirs, and she expertly put together an extremely persuasive offer that led us into contract! During the period before closing, Dorothy continued to work tirelessly.

We are so very grateful to Dorothy for all she has put in for us, but what we appreciated most was that she was always genuine in looking out for our best interests. For example, when we looked at homes together that had questionable qualities, she explicitly pointed them out for our consideration. In addition, after walking through the home that we eventually closed, she asked the previous owner whether they could leave some unwanted household goods and tools since we didn’t have anything coming from an apartment.

Dorothy’s attitude and attention helped us secure a home that comes with so many nice extras. We couldn’t have done it without her!
Feb 25, 2019
Stanford Dr. & SJ Librarian
My husband and I were looking to buy our first house. We did a lot of research prior to going to open houses. But after meeting with Dorothy Liu, we realized that we were missing many important information typical to the Bay Area.

Dorothy is very energetic, strategic, and organized in her approach to helping home buyers. We have two little kids and a very busy work life. Dorothy was very understanding and flexible. Dorothy is a skilled market researcher. If you are a first-time buyer, you want someone like Dorothy. She is patient, honest, and genuinely cares about the buyers' needs. She guides her clients every step of the way.

We strongly recommend her for your real estate needs.
Aug 28, 2018
Happy first home buyer
I just closed buying my first home in Sunnyvale with Dorothy a week ago. The whole process of buying the place is super smooth and fast thanks to Dorothy's help! And the amazing thing is I got my condo the first time I put an offer and the purchase closed like a flash in only 21days!
Dorothy always put extra carefulness in the little details and small gaps in the terribly long documents and make sure you sign correctly and do not miss any of them. That's very important that someone is so professional and diligent to look out for you on the legal documents! Dorothy is always so nice during the process of showing us homes. My 9 year old brother was with us when seeing the places. He is easily getting bored and becoming crying around. But Dorothy was so patient and considerate and tried little tricks to him and gave him gifts to make him happy. Then my brother was much more happier and behaving.
Dorothy is so nice and always uses her powerful network resources to help me. My credit score and credit history were not ideal for lenders. Some banks won't even want to lend money to me. But Dorothy quickly find through her network and gave me references to some lenders that I could talk to. And eventually my loan was so smooth and fast! And whenever I ask Dorothy about anything from things about homes to where to buy stuff, she is always so nice and tell me so many detailed information and try her best to help me. I am truly appreciated to Dorothy's help and I would recommend her to anyone who wants to buy or sale a home!
Jun 3, 2018
Attorney
Dorothy was key to getting my house in San Jose. I spent a significant amount of time looking for the right house, and Dorothy was with me the entire time. She is very responsive, diligent, and incredibly knowledgeable.
When it came time to get into contract, I was extremely nervous, particularly because my lender selected an appraiser who had some very negative comments on the internet. Dorothy was super-prepared, and really fought for me by providing the appraiser with data that he hadn’t considered (for which he ultimately thanked her). In fact, her reputation really carries weight when it comes to getting into contract. For a single, first-time home buyer, the process of becoming a home owner was daunting, especially in a hot sellers’ market. Dorothy was a true professional and excellent guide throughout.
Dec 17, 2017
Software Engineer
Dorothy caught our attention right from the start. We were viewing an open house she was hosting, and while it was very close to what we wanted we decided to pass. The next day, although she was not our realtor (yet), she found a house in the same court that was not yet for sale but was getting remodeled, convinced the contractor to let her look around, contacted the seller, and contacted us with all the details!

We had a busy schedule, but Dorothy was able to accomodate us at nearly any time. She is an excellent researcher and always provided a wealth of additional comps and information about every house we expressed interest in. When we were finally ready to make an offer on a house, she was able to help us through a very competitive bid to win the contract and close on the house.

This is the 5th house I've bought and have worked with many realtors for both buying and selling. Dorothy is by far the best I've worked with. She is knowledgable, efficient, detail oriented, thorough, and kind. She listens and adapts to what you need and makes sure you get it.

Nov 8, 2017
SW Engr Sr Staff
There are many good agents out there but Dorothy is head and shoulders above all of them. I signed with her after the initial interview even though I had others lined up. Her enthusiasm and can-do attitude was what caught my attention and I just can’t say no to her. I am so glad I went with my gut.
I was dealing with a lot of personal and work related issues and stress when I signed with Dorothy so it was a god send when Dorothy was able to spare me pretty much everything except to sign things. Besides taking care of all the real-estate related paperwork such as ordering documents and overseeing inspections, Dorothy basically took on the entire remodeling effort on my behalf by setting up meetings with contractors, picking out materials, bargaining down the price and defining and overseeing the work. She even went as far as personally purchasing and installing door knobs and hinges to make the place look that much more elegant and stylish. A nice touch that brought many positive comments from potential buyers. During that whole process, Dorothy gave me daily updates of how and where things are. She even created a spreadsheet showing me date and time of past and future events.
Besides smooth sailing on the document front, her involvement with my remodeling efforts resulted in making my unit looked like a model home. Most home buyers who stopped by the open house all commented on how good the place looked as compared to other units that sold recently in the same complex. I have no doubt that contributed to the high offers I received.
Dorothy did not disappear after the sale, she offered to collect all documents related to the sale, including reports such as inspections, remodeling contracts and receipts, and put them all on a thumb drive for my record. Although that makes perfect sense to do but I have not heard from family and friends that any of their agents do that. Just another thing that Dorothy stands out on her service.
I can’t say enough about Dorothy’s energy, hard work, resourcefulness, responsiveness, dependability, and dedication. She makes an otherwise stressful situation a pleasure and rewarding experience. It was a total pleasure working with such an extraordinary professional.
Oct 17, 2017
First time buyer
Having read many stories about how hard it can be to buy a place in bay area, I prepared for a tough battle. However, I was lucky enough to meet Dorothy. She guided me hand by hand throughout my buying process. She is professional, knowledgeable, proactive, responsive and warm hearted. With her help, I won on the very first offer I ever put. As a first time buyer, this was way beyond my expectation.

A week after we started searching, I came across a place I really liked. At the early stage, Dorothy provided me a lot of data of near by sold places, helped me make sense of the listing price and evaluated the feasibility to bid on the place based on my conditions. She even reached out to the sellers / owners of those places to get more information. As we moved forward, she worked late hours to help me prepare all the documents, and again, shared a lot of valuable marketing trending data with me to help me make the right decision. At the time of offer, she even presented to the seller agent in person. In parallel, she proactively reached out to my bank officer to collect all the useful information to make my offer stronger.

After the offer was accepted, she prepared a buyer's timeline. This is super helpful for a first time buyer to understand the whole process and get prepared for all steps. The closing was very smooth because of her detailed arrangement.

Dorothy is very compassionate. She always thinks from my stand point. She's really concerned about what I'm concerned about. This makes me feel that she's not just an agent but someone who is part of my family. I would recommend her in a heartbeat.
Aug 30, 2017
Mountain View Buyer
We deeply appreciate Dorothy for many things.

First is to help us set up right market expectation. We were experiencing frustration in house hunting for a while, partially due to the gap between our pricing model and the (crazy) bay area market. She encouraged us and mentally prepared us during our first meeting. She is very knowledgeable about the south bay area, and is very good at finding right comparative properties and performing market analysis. We felt much more comfortable after discussing with her. It turned out that we finally got our dream house, I can’t image this being accomplished without her!

We were so much impressed by her superior communication skills. She proactively connected with the listing agent and our loan agent to make sure everything was secured. And kept us involved throughout the bidding process. She always makes her available to us from early morning to evening, all our questions were taken care of in a timely manner.

Many clients of Dorothy highlighted her willingness and effort to go the extra miles, which I would definitely agree with. Her service does not end with the completion of deal. She is continuously providing us great suggestion on remodeling, landscaping, and giving referrals. All these are extremely helpful.
Aug 25, 2017
Bay Area Buyers
We first met Dorothy three years ago when we purchased a condo from her sellers. She was incredibly professional, and we could tell she cared about understanding the potential buyers. When we ran into her again while she was selling a property across the way from our condo, we hit it off and knew she would be instrumental in helping us prepare and sell our home, and well as find our next home. Dorothy went above and beyond for us, and really became a part of our family. She consulted and guided through our home renovation, connecting us with the talented contractors in her network. Once our home was ready for sale, she worked her magic to stage the home. We received a ton of traffic, and multiple offers way above asking. She even ended up negotiating rent-back for us while we searched for our next home, but ended up not needing it because of her dedication - we were able to purchase the home of our dreams after only 2 weeks. As stressful as selling/buying a home can be, Dorothy made it a pleasure. You'd be lucky to work with her!
Aug 7, 2017
VP Marketing
Dorothy sets a very high bar for excellence and exceeds it every time. I have availed her services for few years now. In the past 4 months, she has helped me sell 2 condos in San Jose area. I am delighted with every step of the process she supported me. She goes out of her way to make sure all details are planned and executed in time. I couldn't be happier! Dorothy rocks!
Jun 22, 2016
Buyers of home in Los Altos Hills
We worked with Dorothy Liu to purchase our home in Los Altos Hills, California. Dorothy was a tenacious advocate for us throughout the buying process. We retained Dorothy after finding a home that was perfect for us but priced too high. Dorothy advised us on how to approach the offer and negotiated for us over the course of weeks to ultimately close the deal over $500K under the original asking price. Despite the deal almost falling apart numerous times, Dorothy’s commitment and dedication made it happen. We are very thankful for her work!
Jan 2, 2016
Mountain View Buyer
Dorothy is a very knowledgeable and responsible agent. Actually she is the best agent I have ever worked together. I would highly recommend her to others.
Dec 13, 2015
Client
Dorothy Liu has stood out from the beginning, her rankings are excellent, her social media presence is strong, and my family has used her services for years. Dorothy entered my search criteria, and contacted me personally about matches for a few weeks. Then, when we had narrowed down our results, she patiently led us to home after home. When we finally chose a home, Dorothy made the process extremely easy and took extra steps many other Realtors don’t. On the night before we made the offer, she stayed up for 2 hours explaining each portion of the paperwork to me. She even spoke with our mortgage consultant and directly managed the handoff of paperwork from him. When our offer was accepted we were blown away. Her hard work and knowledge of what it takes to buy a home really paid off.

I will be recommending Dorothy Liu to everyone I know. She is a true professional and a genuinely nice person. The process of buying a new home is not easy, but there won’t be anyone so dedicated to making it better than Dorothy Liu.
Oct 19, 2015
Home Buyer
I'm very happy to have Alex and Dorothy Liu as my real estate agents. It was a long process to find the right home in a seller's market. They were very patient and explained the information to me as I am a first time homebuyer. Alex was very knowledgeable about remodeling. They are quick to respond to any questions I have and flexible with my schedule.

Alex and Dorothy are truly professional, dependable agents. It's been a pleasure working with them. I would request their service again if I need to purchase another property in the future.
Oct 9, 2015
Sunnyvale Home Seller
Dorothy is dedicated, professional and really knows the market well. In a short time she was able to get my home looking its best. She kept me informed throughout the process and was always available to answer any questions.

My sale was very successful and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I highly recommend working with Dorothy Liu!
Jun 26, 2015
Seller
Dorothy Liu sold our house. She is highly professional, friendly, polite, courteous, meticulous, very efficient and extremely thorough in all her work. We are stupendously impressed with Dorothy in all aspects and herewith we share our experience.

We thank Dorothy very sincerely for all her help and efforts. We can confidently attest she is the best realtor for us and for everyone without any reservation.
Jun 16, 2015
Home Buyer
Dorothy was extremely detail oriented in assisting me with my home purchase. I really didn't know what was involved with buying a house but she walked me through it step by step, pointing out the things we needed to look for and what we should be careful of. By the time it came to making the purchase, I had a lot of confidence that I understood the issues that the house had. She helped me put together a well calculated offer based on the prices of homes in the area. After the offer was accepted she continued to be very detail oriented spotting extra fees that were being mistakenly applied by the title company and helping to negotiate fair compensation for a few things that a build inspection revealed.

Throughout the entire process her communication was excellent with frequent calls and emails to me and with the other parties. She also gave a lot of good tips for a first time home owner to make what I expected to be a big overwhelming step in life into a fairly simple transaction.
Jun 15, 2015
Engineer, home owner
Very organized during the entire process. Very efficient in accomplish task list. Insightful about the business and give very appropriate suggestions to greatly improve the chance of winning business. Always willing and take the extra effort to satisfy me as her client.
May 23, 2015
Seller
I’m writing to thank you for the amazing job you did selling my mom’s house. My sister and I interviewed several real estate agents but your thoughtfulness, knowledge base, enthusiasm, professionalism, and analytical abilities were clearly superior. But that was just the beginning! The fact that my sister and I live over an hour away made it crucial that we pick someone who could go the extra mile because we just didn’t have the time to be there during so many of the required steps in getting the house ready for sale.

Well, you delivered! I’m still in amazement how you managed it all. The transformation of my mom’s house, in which my family lived for over 50 years, was incredible. You spent countless hours doing so much work and always maintained your enthusiasm and humor. We were on a pretty tight schedule and you managed it all perfectly. It all came together and your “team” did an excellent job at very reasonable prices. I could go on and on about the myriad of details and decisions that needed our attention and how you helped us step by step while always keeping us informed and in the loop; it was quite a job. Finally, your expertise in negotiating during the sale was invaluable. The sale went so smoothly and we ended up receiving substantially more than the asking price. Our hopes and expectations were clearly exceeded.

Whoever may be reading this and thinking of hiring Dorothy as a real estate agent, all I can say is don’t hesitate. Get Dorothy working with you and you will most definitely not regret it. Dorothy Liu is the best.
May 23, 2015
Sellers
Thank you for the excellent service you’ve provided us. As full-time IT professionals, we were stressed on the move to a better school district until we met Dorothy.

We were selling while we were living there… You can imagine how challenging it was with two young children. The house was gorgeous when it was put on the market. There were about 400 people visiting during the two weekend open houses and was sold after only two weeks - with a price much higher than we listed.

We were so impressed by Dorothy’s professionalism, integrity, hard working, enthusiasm, attention to detail and always going one step beyond! We love her! Our two kids love her. She’s not only our agent, but we consider her our lifetime friend.
May 23, 2015
Sellers
Dorothy is the hardest working agent I have met. She consistently performed above and beyond our expectation. Anybody can do paperwork.

Dorothy was always willing to handle the surprises that inevitably arise. The sale with Dorothy was much smoother and less stressful than our other transactions I’ve had. This was almost totally attributable to Dorothy’s hard work. I will strongly recommend her to anyone buying or selling a home
May 23, 2015
Sellers, Sunnyvale
Real Estate Agent Extraordinaire – We asked our friends who had recently completed a move from Sunnyvale for a recommendation of a Real Estate agent. Based on their glowing accounts of Dorothy Liu we also chose Dorothy to represent us – smartest decision we could have made.

In preparing our house for sale, she provided very professional services, brochures, staging and contacts for us to utilize in getting the house ready for sale. Even in a “down market” Dorothy was able to show our house and within just 3 days we were in receipt of an offer over our asking price. We couldn’t have been more pleased!

Dorothy’s follow-up is exemplary too. In closing the deal she was there whenever we needed her, reviewing paperwork, making sure everything was in order and just plain looking out for our welfare in every way possible. In short, she is the consummate professional. We are both pleased to unconditionally recommend Dorothy with the highest commendation. The decision to use her services as your representative in any real estate transaction will be one of the smartest things you can do.
May 23, 2015
Seller, Cupertino
We would recommend Dorothy without reservation. Our family and neighbors were also very impressed with the beautiful remodel, as the home was not improved in any way since it was built 30 years ago. It looked like a completely different place.

We were able to have our property listed about two weeks before Thanksgiving. Dorothy and Alex went the extra mile and scheduled open houses even during the holidays. We were very pleased with the appearance of the property and the number of potential buyers who visited during the open houses. There was a very substantial level of interest in our place even though it was on the market very late in the year. All of Dorothy’s hard work and professional advice paid dividends. We were in contract within two weeks. The buyer’s offer was above our initial listing price. We closed without incident within six weeks of our home being listed. The entire experience exceeded our most optimistic expectations.
May 23, 2015
Seller, Cupertino
Dorothy is professional, energetic and dedicated to her job. She works very hard to meet our expectation. She takes care of almost everything: overseeing the complete remodeling job, staging the house, and doing massive marketing for the house.

We’re glad that we didn’t need to worry much once we put the job in Dorothy’s hand. And most of all, she helps to resolve all the problems that comes up and she enjoys her work.

It’s a good experience working with Dorothy, and we’ll recommend her to anyone selling or buying a home.

Partner Network

My Associations