William Smith

Broker / Team Leader of the William Smith Luxury Group Coldwell Banker Del Monte Realty - Pebble Beach Office Broker BRE 01064866
About William L. Smith
Confidence and an intense focus on your personal needs and objectives are qualities you'll notice first and foremost about William Smith, Team Leader for the William Smith Luxury Group. He and his team offer seasoned council, an extensive knowledge of the local market and genuine enthusiasm for what they do. A full-time real estate broker since 1990, William has personally closed more than 1,640 transactions. William understands that the key to success in today's market is a keen focus on digital marketing, participation in social media, active broker networking and extensive online exposure. William was born and raised on the Monterey Peninsula and is a proud member of a multi-generational Monterey Peninsula family. He grew up with a native's appreciation of our pristine coastline, was an avid local surfer and has developed an appreciation for our rich history and importance of its preservation. Having opened his first real estate office in 1990, William and his wife were the owner/brokers of the two Prudential California Realty Offices in Carmel and Monterey. He was one of the more accomplished Realtors in the Prudential Real Estate Network and was ranked #2 selling agent in Northern California and #11 internationally. In 2006 he sold his real estate business and joined Coldwell Banker Del Monte Realty. Today, William is best identified as a Coldwell Banker Global Luxury Broker, earning many of the highest ratings offered by Coldwell Banker NRT. William also heads the Commercial Sales Department for the six offices locally for Coldwell Banker Realty. His Team has been awarded the International President's Premier and International President's Elite designations and ranked in the Top 100 agents and Top 10 Teams in Northern California. His sold listings include Monterey’s historic Marsh Asian Art Building, the legendary 392 acre Holman Ranch, the Quail Creek Ranch, the El Milagro Ranch, the Carmel River Ranch, and the Spencer River Ranch.
Jul 1, 2020
It's a pleasure having William as a realtor. He's hard-working, effective and honest. His broad experience enables him to negotiate solutions that are acceptable to everyone: buyer, seller, bank, title company, etc. Over years, he has built up trusting relationships with a broad array of capable and reasonably priced contractors/subcontractors to handle everything from plumbing, painting, lawn care, carpentry, electrical work and staging, to help facilitate the sale. He also, of course, knows his market well. I already miss our regular conversations updating me on deal status, about which he was quite conscientious. I highly recommend his services.
Apr 26, 2020
First Time Buyer
William was great, he helped me purchase my new home and he was extremely helpful going above and beyond to walk me through what was needed and when. I'm the first home owner in 4 generations and I couldn't have done it with out William!
Feb 9, 2020
Home Owner
William Smith’s 5 star review

In today’s world, we live in a consumer society- buying/selling, always better, always more, never enough- little chance to take root, grow build and contribute to a community.

After 20 years of helping to build sustainable community in the developing Eastern European countries, I returned home to continue my journey in the ‘village’ that once nurtured me.

It was WILLIAM SMITH who, in 2011, listening to my story and hearing my hopes and my dreams, helped me to find “L’Hermitage’ (my home in beautiful, sunny Carmel Valley!) which has become a place of nurturing, healing and peace for myself and others, enabling me to share in the nourishing of my community.

Now, 9 years later, when age and the vagaries of government have drastically reduced my finances, it was WILLIAM SMITH I turned to, feeling that selling the Hermitage was the only solution.

“Wow, the view and the property are fantastic- I can sell it for a million dollars tomorrow!” cried William. “But, I’d like to help you find a way to remain in your home without relinquishing its value in the future. Yes, we live in a consumer society and my job is the purchase and sale of real estate. But we, you and I and all of us belong to a larger’ village’.”

“Just as we’ve done for the past 30 years, it is our gift and our blessing to continue the job of building a sustainable community for our children, grandchildren and village elders… ”

This is our WILLIAM SMITH - Realtor extraordinaire-
planting one family at a time,
nurturing it,
enabling it to grow,
to dream, to love, to serve,
to belong in our community!


With deep felt joy and thanksgiving,

Maria Canavarro
“L’Hermitage”
February 8, 2020
Carmel Valley, CA
Dec 28, 2019
Seller for Two Properties
"William Smith is an excellent realtor, very sensitive to the seller and buyer's needs. He has extensive experience and skill. He is able to expertly navigate all of the challenges in selling a house. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs to sell or buy a house."

rewmll
11551 Hidden Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 92924 and 657 Lyndon St., Monterey, CA 93940
Dec 17, 2019
Customer
William Smith is the most honest realtor...and he takes care of his clients with respect and patience. He has great insight into the value of a home, instead of arbitrarily inflating the value, as some famous realtors do, in our area. Once your home is priced correctly, with a fair price, he will sell it quickly. And he is a great negotiator when you wish to buy a home. I recommend him highly!
Nov 18, 2019
Broker

"Yes very efficient and smooth transaction John" -John Davi






Apr 20, 2019
Seller in Pebble Beach
William, congratulations and many thanks. We’re very happy with the outcome and the William Smith Luxury Group / Coldwell Banker team.
Feb 8, 2019
Sold a Single Family home in 2019 in Pacific Grove Acres, Pacific Grove, CA.
I have interacted with William periodically over several years as I struggled with whether to sell my property in Pacific Grove. After each discussion about current conditions I would reconsider and let him know that now was not the right time. Given my history of vacillation I already knew that he possessed endless patience and professionalism and late in 2018 I finally informed William that I was prepared to sell but I added a new twist - a neighbor had expressed interest in the property and made me a strong private sale offer. William was unfazed by the situation. He suggested that I sign a listing agreement contractually excluding the existing offer and went to work. He proceeded to identify and nurture an alternative purchaser who wished to relocate to the area and in January 2019 we closed on a largely contingency-free sale for a price which left me comfortably ahead of my private offer. And he, rather than I, did all the work involved - a huge plus as I live out of state. During the entire process I was impressed by Williams proactivity, his grace, his interpersonal and negotiation skills and knowledge of local sales requirements in such as building department quirks and requirements which abound on the Monterey Peninsula. We closed within a few days of the originally projected date and the whole process could not have been more painless - certainly the easiest sales process I have ever experienced - and was a true "win, win" for both buyer and seller. I recommend William without hesitation for your RE needs
Feb 7, 2019
Seller of a single family residence in Marina, CA
William sold our house in a few short weeks. He also helped in purchase details in our new home. He is very knowledgeable with all the details needed to close the deal.
Feb 7, 2019
Buyer in Carmel
William Smith helped us buy our vacation home in Camel. We have dealt with several good agents to buy or sell in the past, but from our experience, William tops them all. He knows the area very well and you can trust he will give you the best advice. Since we are out of town buyers, William managed the transaction and contractors step by step. He even sent us narrated video updates of the work in progress. He was always available to take our calls and responded immediately. William and his team made the purchase close right on schedule. We highly recommend him.
Feb 7, 2019
Seller in the Salinas Valley
William contacted us right away to meet and discuss selling our rental. He was very informative and listen to what we wanted and our concerns. We had never sold a house before and had lots of questions. He answered all our questions until we were satisfied. By the time he left we were not so nervous anymore. I liked that he gave us a few days to think things over. We did call other realtors and met with a few but they didn't seem to listen to us just told us what they thought we should do. Our experience selling the house was wonderful. William always calling us or emailing us the same day when we had question was fabulous. We always felt informed about the process. I would call William again if we ever sell or buy another house.
Nov 25, 2018
Seller in Tierra Grande, Carmel Valley, CA
You two were great in selling my parents home and I thank you. Instead of Cambria, I have bought property in a small community in the South West and they're building my forever house. Thanks again for being so great!!!
Aug 23, 2018
Retired Business Exective and Bank Director
WILLIAM was very responsive and did a great job. We were on the market for about 6 months, but when our first offer came in, he made it work. I would use him again! RB
Aug 23, 2018
Acquisitions Manager
William Smith and his team successfully negotiated and closed the purchase of a beautiful home in Carmel for our company. He has a thorough knowledge of the area was very helpful with the water issues and other factors in that specific neighborhood. When there was a need, he also facilitated seller financing to supplement the first loan with our bank. In all, we would strongly recommend the professional services of William Smith and his team.
Aug 23, 2018
Retired Educator
William has lived on the peninsula all his life, so his contacts and knowledge are full and essential. Once we had our house emptied, he took over, getting inspections and repairs underway. He got the word out to fellow realtors who toured during the construction which I believe showed our intent to make the house move in ready. On the day we listed we got a full price cash offer. What more could we ask for?!!
Aug 23, 2018
Property Owner
William Smith is head and shoulders above the rest. He is by far, the greatest real estate agent I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. I interviewed several agents before I met William. Within the first 2 minutes I knew I would be working with him and I was extremely impressed! He knows the area and market better than anyone, he immediately had suggestions and a game plan that made perfect sense. He is a major resource for people in the area that helped with anything that was needed and he’s prompt, returns all calls and follows through on EVERYTHING! He’s quick, upbeat and friendly. Unfortunately for him, I changed my mind and took my place off the market for the time being, but he was gracious and full of ideas for a problem I have going on in my personal life. From now on looking forward I can be relaxed and confident because I have the real estate contact who I will always use from now on! William is knowledgeable and a joy to work with!!!
Aug 15, 2017
If you are looking to sell, or buy, a house, I would HIGHLY recommend William Smith and Marlene Wilson!
William's expertise and follow-up was way beyond my expectations of a broker. Not only did he and Marlene do a fabulous job staging my house and giving suggestions that would lead to a fast sale, he followed up with me on the house that I bought in Oceanside, and helped me with directions and suggestions that the broker down here was not doing. If I had any type of question at all, I would call William, and he would give me the correct direction for me to go in.
He became someone that I smiled and looked forward to receiving his call each day, whether I was in Pacific Grove, trying to sell my old home, or I was in my new home in Oceanside!
When I was tired and stressed (which comes normally with a sale and move), he would cheer me up with his "stories" and his wonderful sense of humor.
Marlene Wilson, his right-hand-gal, was equally as fabulous! She staged my home so it looked beautiful and sold quickly (as it did!). Any question I had.....Marlene had the right answer.
William and Marlene worked so closely with me, that, I now consider them friends!
If you want someone who knows the area and the market, has a wonderful ability to communicate with his clients, and spreads the excitement of his job to you as he quickly sells your house, WILLIAM AND MARLENE ARE YOUR PEOPLE!

If I could give William and his team 10 stars, I would!!!

Lisa Milligan, Oceanside, CA
May 24, 2017
Art Dealer
William Smith was extremely helpful with his real estate advice. I referred a client to him as well and he handled every aspect of the real estate transaction very professionally.
May 23, 2017
Environmental Consultant
I have worked with William Smith regarding the potential sale of my home and the purchase of another. His knowledge and expertise in the industry and the area are what lead me to call on his services. His reputation is beyond impeccable.Not only is he knowledgeable in the buying and selling of property he is also very helpful in his knowledge of remodels and contractors.
The real reason I used William Smith...he is a good man. I trust him and I have for many years.
May 16, 2017
Seller
William has sold been our Realtor for the sale and purchase of a number of properties over the last 15 years and we have always been more than happy with the professionalism he displayed for each transaction.
May 16, 2017
Seller
William Smith and his assistant Marlene Willson are a perfect team. They take charge and make everything easy for an out of state seller. No high pressure tactics. I would do business with them again!!! Sold the house in 6 wks!
May 16, 2017
Retired
William Smith was recommended to us by a good friend. I could not have found a more knowledgeable and professional representative to sell our house. He quickly relieved our worries in a stressful time of selling our family home of 30 years.
I am so thankful we used William Smith. We had a few hiccups with the buyers qualifying but William's knowledge was unlimited in getting everything processed.
Apr 10, 2017
Buyer and Seller
I have worked with William Smith numerous times over the past ten years. He provides excellent advice and market insights. He is a true professional and a thoughtful person.
Apr 10, 2017
Buyer
William helped us find a home when we were first-time homeowners. Now, 20 years later, he has found the perfect home for a retiring friend. I know that everything he has done in between has been stellar!! Very personable and easy to work with.
Apr 10, 2017
Seller
William Smith was recommended to us by a good friend. I could not have found a more knowledgeable and professional representative to sell our house. He quickly relieved our worries in a stressful time of selling our family home of 30 years.
I am so thankful we used William Smith. We had a few hiccups with the buyers qualifying but William's knowledge was unlimited in getting everything processed.