Fred Gruber

CMPS, Director First Rate Financial Group NMLS #256707, CA-DRE #01455710
Fred Gruber has over 45 years experience in the business community. Using his excellent financial and analytical skills, he develops financial models and tools to present complicated concepts in simple terms. Fred has provided thousands of mortgages for a variety of clients and scenarios; from simple to complex qualifying situations.

Fred’s focus in educating clients is forefront; with guidance as the cornerstone of a practice that assists homeowners and buyers. Fred will present multiple options to make sure the borrower has an opportunity to make the best decision in selecting an appropriate strategy for financing their home. Fred uses a deep understanding of lending guidelines to uncover obscure options for borrowers, rarely leaving a stone unturned in the most complicated of situations.

Following a referral based business model, Fred recognizes that every transaction has two clients: the borrower and the referring party. Developing lifelong clients who become friends as well underscores his commitment to helping people achieve their goals.

First Rate Financial Group is a Mortgage Broker in Westlake Village, California, located in the heart of the Conejo Valley Business District. From its inception in 1989, First Rate Financial Group has become well known for its service, integrity and experienced loan consultants.

Fred's purpose is simply stated as "I Create Value Through Integrity."
Feb 9, 2021
My wife Saundra and I have known Fred for several years. He has helped us with our refinancing needs when required. Fred and his staff are very professional, and he is great to work with. We have recommended Fred to our friends and family and we will continue to do so in the years to come.
Feb 4, 2021
Home Owner
My late husband, Ed and I have worked with Fred over the last ten - fifteen years. Our meeting Fred was one of the best financial things that happened to us.
Among the great things we discovered in working with him was that he was honest, knowledgeable, reliable . . . we could always depend on him to tell us when something was or wasn't in our best interest. Doing what was beneficial for us was more important than just 'closing the deal'.
This became a very important quality when my husband passed away almost a year ago and I became responsible for making decisions on all of our financial matters. I have friends who work in real estate that were very cautious about my decision to re-fi my house since I know very little about this business, but when they saw the details of Fred's presentation they pronounced it 5 Star. And,
I give it 10stars, finding, just prior to closing, another loan with better options and a lower percentage rate. I know that he spent many hours beyond what was needed to be sure that I had what I needed to be secure.
We had always considered our meeting Fred a gift from God. I would not consider doing business with anyone else. I am always ready to pass on his information if I find someone who could use his help.
Feb 3, 2021
IT Support
I really appreciated working with Fred. He really explained all the details in refinancing our home that I have not been aware of before. There is so much confusing terminology and paperwork that I rarely deal with and therefore do not have much knowledge of, that it was nice to have Fred and his team help explain. We got a good deal and I understand things so much better. Thank you Fred.
Feb 2, 2021
Very thorough and professional throughout the process. Also quick to respond to any inquiries I made.
Jan 31, 2021
President
I felt I was in good hand throughout the entire loan proceeding. Fred was diligent and had great communication skills working with me , my employees and the loan officers. Great to work with
Leaves no stone unturned.
Enjoyed the process.
Ron Perilman
Jan 31, 2021
VP Sales-Katz Radio
My wife and I have worked with Fred on several re-fi's over the years. Fred is exceptional at what he does! His knowledge and professionalism are second to none. He puts his customers first and always has their best interest in mind.
Jan 30, 2021
Fred Gruber is the only one we even consider calling on for our mortgage/financial needs. Home purchase, re fi, or even just a question... we call Fred. We wouldn't recommend anyone else. He's the best.
Jan 30, 2021
Fred Gruber was exceptional in helping me buy my first home. Not only did he get me the best rate possible, but he was exceedingly patient in answering all my questions and making sure I felt comfortable. He helped me understand all the pieces of what I was signing, and made sure I was aware of things like the cadence of payment, taxes, and other nuances that a first time buyer may not know. I will be forever grateful to him!
Nov 2, 2020
Vice President Clinical Operations
I was introduced to Fred Gruber through my Financial Accountant. Since then, Mr. Gruber has helped me refinance my mortgage twice. His professionalism and customer-related approach are excellent and top of the business, simply he makes refinancing feel like an easy process, is independent and provides a number of options that he has researched ahead of time. He leaves it up to you to make the best decision for yourself but is also happy to answer any questions you may have in a thoughtful manner. While he refinanced my mortgage the first time and could have just stepped away, he kept my file and monitored the next best offers he could bring forward to me proactively. When I was ready to refinance again and reached out to him, he was already on the top of my files and circumstances, and as a result made the entire experience smooth and easy. Noteworthy my second refinancing occurred during the COVID19 pandemic, and his group sent a notary to my home to finalize the paperwork - a very much appreciated gesture. Once all the paperwork was signed, the loan company sent me their paperwork and I just went on with paying a significantly reduced cost mortgage from one month to the other without any hiccups transitioning from one bank to the other. For all of the reasons above, I highly recommend Fred Gruber for any mortgage assistance.
Sep 15, 2020
Fred was a pleasure to work with...very knowledgeable & professional. He explained the whole process to me in easy to understand language and worked hard to get me the best terms available. I highly recommend him.
Sep 14, 2020
Working with Fred made the whole process of obtaining our refinanced loan very easy and everything from start to finish went smoothly. Much better rate and saving lots of $$. Couldn't have been easier!
Sep 11, 2020
Fred is one of the most honest and thorough people I have ever worked with. He takes the time to provide all the necessary options to make the best decision. It's hard to find people these days that treat everyone as they would treat their own family. As long as Fred is in business I will continue doing business with him.
Aug 19, 2020
Attorney
Fred was always in my corner throughout the process. He was readily available when I had questions and a wealth of information. The foregoing was incredibly important to me as this was my first home purchase. I would highly recommend Fred and his team.
Aug 13, 2020
Fred and the team are truly First Rate! They worked with many lenders to find and secure the best rate for our Re Fi. This is the 2nd opportunity to work with them, and they delivered each time.
The team is Highly professional and kind. Timely, secure and efficient options and signing.
We definitely recommend First Rate and would utilize their services if and when mortgage or refinance opportunities arise.
Sincere Thanks!!
Jun 9, 2020
Music producer and director
Working with Fred Gruber and First Rate Financial Group is always a pleasure. We have bought a property and refinanced twice for a better rate and they help things go incredible smooth every time. Not to mention, Fred and his team REALLY know their stuff so you're in the BEST capable hands. I HIGHLY recommend you do your due diligence and after your research, give Fred Gruber a call.
May 5, 2020
Building Contractor
Fred was real easy to work with I was able to refinance my without leaving my home. Everything was done by email. He lowed my payment by $300. and he got me a lower interest. It was very easy. If I did it again I would call Fred.
Thank You Fred
Apr 10, 2020
landlord, owner of Chaffee Property Management
Fred Gruber and his coworkers preformed at the highest level of integrity in my refinance during the middle of a pandemic!!!! They continued communication with me even when the world was living under dire circumstances. I highly recommend their office for refinancing, hopefully for you that will be in a much quieter time than the last two months. They came through even in the most difficult of times. Sincerely, Colette Chaffee 4/10/2020
Apr 6, 2020
Fred and his team did an amazing job of pulling together my loan for a very short escrow on a complicated purchase. I appreciate Fred, Suzan, Stacia and everyone at First Rate Financial Group for their hard work in bringing my loan to a successful close! Thanks for the personal service and professionalism!
Apr 6, 2020
Fred and his team helped with my recent home loan and I can't say enough good things. From the very beginning with a pre-approval letter, he was so fast in his response to my requests. Usually in just minutes. He and the team were always there when I needed anything. The whole process couldn't have better. They made everything so easy and seamless. I had complete trust that things were getting done, on time. I couldn't have asked for a better transaction over all. I highly recommend Fred if you need a home loan.
Mar 11, 2020
Attorney
We highly recommend Fred. We’ve worked with him in the past and just recently and his professionalism, knowledge and customer service has always been outstanding. Additionally his staff is extremely responsive and a pleasure to work with. He certainly deserves a 5 star rating.
Mar 5, 2020
Operations Manager
The most friendly efficient knowledgeable . They helped us all the way to the
end and found us the best rates.
Mar 1, 2020
Sales and Marketing Coordintor
Fred was able to put together the perfect loan for my home refinance. It allowed me to consolidate an old debt into a new mortgage and keep my payments close to what they were before. He also made it convenient to review and sign paperwork, and was responsive when I had questions. It was a pleasure doing business with Fred and his team!
Feb 17, 2020
Local Homeowners
Whether financing a purchase or a re-fi, we always trust Fred to do the right thing. The best rate and he and his staff make it easy and quick. It feel like we're dealing with family. Thanks Fred... as always!
Feb 11, 2020
Retired
This is the 2nd or 3rd time I've dealt with Fred and his staff. I've never had such an easy refinance process, as I've had with this group, every time. Fred and his staff are kind, courteous, knowledgeable and very professional. They make it a quick and painless process. I HIGHLY recommend Fred Gruber.
Feb 11, 2020
CPA
Fred and his team at First Rate Financial Group assisted me in refinancing my house. They were extremely professional throughout the whole process and allowed me to significantly save on my monthly payment. Any questions I had through the process were promptly answered. I highly recommend Fred and his team.

Partner Network