Fred Gruber

CMPS, Director First Rate Financial Group NMLS #256707, CA-DRE #01455710
Fred Gruber has over 45 years experience in the business community. Using his excellent financial and analytical skills, he develops financial models and tools to present complicated concepts in simple terms. Fred has provided thousands of mortgages for a variety of clients and scenarios; from simple to complex qualifying situations.

Fred’s focus in educating clients is forefront; with guidance as the cornerstone of a practice that assists homeowners and buyers. Fred will present multiple options to make sure the borrower has an opportunity to make the best decision in selecting an appropriate strategy for financing their home. Fred uses a deep understanding of lending guidelines to uncover obscure options for borrowers, rarely leaving a stone unturned in the most complicated of situations.

Following a referral based business model, Fred recognizes that every transaction has two clients: the borrower and the referring party. Developing lifelong clients who become friends as well underscores his commitment to helping people achieve their goals.

First Rate Financial Group is a Mortgage Broker in Westlake Village, California, located in the heart of the Conejo Valley Business District. From its inception in 1989, First Rate Financial Group has become well known for its service, integrity and experienced loan consultants.

Fred's purpose is simply stated as "I Create Value Through Integrity."
Sep 15, 2020
Fred was a pleasure to work with...very knowledgeable & professional. He explained the whole process to me in easy to understand language and worked hard to get me the best terms available. I highly recommend him.
Sep 14, 2020
Working with Fred made the whole process of obtaining our refinanced loan very easy and everything from start to finish went smoothly. Much better rate and saving lots of $$. Couldn't have been easier!
Sep 11, 2020
Fred is one of the most honest and thorough people I have ever worked with. He takes the time to provide all the necessary options to make the best decision. It's hard to find people these days that treat everyone as they would treat their own family. As long as Fred is in business I will continue doing business with him.
Aug 19, 2020
Attorney
Fred was always in my corner throughout the process. He was readily available when I had questions and a wealth of information. The foregoing was incredibly important to me as this was my first home purchase. I would highly recommend Fred and his team.
Aug 13, 2020
Fred and the team are truly First Rate! They worked with many lenders to find and secure the best rate for our Re Fi. This is the 2nd opportunity to work with them, and they delivered each time.
The team is Highly professional and kind. Timely, secure and efficient options and signing.
We definitely recommend First Rate and would utilize their services if and when mortgage or refinance opportunities arise.
Sincere Thanks!!
Jun 9, 2020
Music producer and director
Working with Fred Gruber and First Rate Financial Group is always a pleasure. We have bought a property and refinanced twice for a better rate and they help things go incredible smooth every time. Not to mention, Fred and his team REALLY know their stuff so you're in the BEST capable hands. I HIGHLY recommend you do your due diligence and after your research, give Fred Gruber a call.
May 5, 2020
Building Contractor
Fred was real easy to work with I was able to refinance my without leaving my home. Everything was done by email. He lowed my payment by $300. and he got me a lower interest. It was very easy. If I did it again I would call Fred.
Thank You Fred
Apr 10, 2020
landlord, owner of Chaffee Property Management
Fred Gruber and his coworkers preformed at the highest level of integrity in my refinance during the middle of a pandemic!!!! They continued communication with me even when the world was living under dire circumstances. I highly recommend their office for refinancing, hopefully for you that will be in a much quieter time than the last two months. They came through even in the most difficult of times. Sincerely, Colette Chaffee 4/10/2020
Apr 6, 2020
Fred and his team did an amazing job of pulling together my loan for a very short escrow on a complicated purchase. I appreciate Fred, Suzan, Stacia and everyone at First Rate Financial Group for their hard work in bringing my loan to a successful close! Thanks for the personal service and professionalism!
Apr 6, 2020
Fred and his team helped with my recent home loan and I can't say enough good things. From the very beginning with a pre-approval letter, he was so fast in his response to my requests. Usually in just minutes. He and the team were always there when I needed anything. The whole process couldn't have better. They made everything so easy and seamless. I had complete trust that things were getting done, on time. I couldn't have asked for a better transaction over all. I highly recommend Fred if you need a home loan.
Mar 11, 2020
Attorney
We highly recommend Fred. We’ve worked with him in the past and just recently and his professionalism, knowledge and customer service has always been outstanding. Additionally his staff is extremely responsive and a pleasure to work with. He certainly deserves a 5 star rating.
Mar 5, 2020
Operations Manager
The most friendly efficient knowledgeable . They helped us all the way to the
end and found us the best rates.
Mar 1, 2020
Sales and Marketing Coordintor
Fred was able to put together the perfect loan for my home refinance. It allowed me to consolidate an old debt into a new mortgage and keep my payments close to what they were before. He also made it convenient to review and sign paperwork, and was responsive when I had questions. It was a pleasure doing business with Fred and his team!
Feb 17, 2020
Local Homeowners
Whether financing a purchase or a re-fi, we always trust Fred to do the right thing. The best rate and he and his staff make it easy and quick. It feel like we're dealing with family. Thanks Fred... as always!
Feb 11, 2020
Retired
This is the 2nd or 3rd time I've dealt with Fred and his staff. I've never had such an easy refinance process, as I've had with this group, every time. Fred and his staff are kind, courteous, knowledgeable and very professional. They make it a quick and painless process. I HIGHLY recommend Fred Gruber.
Feb 11, 2020
CPA
Fred and his team at First Rate Financial Group assisted me in refinancing my house. They were extremely professional throughout the whole process and allowed me to significantly save on my monthly payment. Any questions I had through the process were promptly answered. I highly recommend Fred and his team.
Jan 31, 2020
Great to work with! Highly recommended!!
Jan 21, 2020
Realtor/Buyer
ALWAYS USE FRED GRUBER! He communicated with us promptly and frequently about the status of our loan. The website they utilize makes it easy to upload and keep track of the documents. Other lenders I've used in the past have been nightmares. Not Fred. With all the headaches of moving and buying and selling, he makes it much easier. 5 stars
Jan 17, 2020
Fred and his team were great. Our financial situation and loans that we wanted to refinance were unusual. Fred and his team assessed all the information and cam up with a plan that took care of everything. The final finished product matched what Fred had told us was possible. Finally,Fred and his team were always available to answer our questions. FIVE STARS!
Jan 10, 2020
Business Owner
Fred Gruber made the process of obtaining a loan as painless as possible. He not only led me through the steps but kept me apprised if what it all meant. I definitely recommend his services.
Jan 7, 2020
Managing Member/General Partner/VP
My extended family, my wife and I recommend Fred Gruber of First Rate Financial Group highly for his professionalism and skills. He has in-depth knowledge of financial tools and analytical skills to acquire the best mortgage for your case.
Dec 23, 2019
Contractor
Working with Fred was very easy,
I worked with the banks directly before, but here everything was much easier (and I got the same interest rate), he was answering my e-mails and working even after hours, service that you won’t get if you work with the bank directly, plus I didn’t had to travel anywhere, everything was done by phone or by emails.
Thank you again for your service,
Dec 10, 2019
Program Manager
Fred went through great lengths to explain every step of the mortgage process on my first home purchase. He detailed the decisions and tradeoffs along the way, and answered every question I asked. His entire team was helpful, quick to respond, and a pleasure to work with. I can't recommend them highly enough!
Nov 12, 2019
Account Director
Fred and his team were constant professionals. They made the home purchasing process much easier!
Nov 5, 2019
Middle School Teacher
I can't speak highly enough about Fred and his team. We obviously had so many questions as first-time home buyers and he helped us answer them on top of getting us a better rate than other lenders approved for us. We were able to communicate with Fred directly and he answered our questions in an appropriate manner when he was unavailable during the workday. He even worked after hours for us when needed!

Partner Network