Wendy Oshiro, Reverse Mortgage Professional

Certified Reverse Mortgage Professional Open Mortgage NMLS ID #391477, #2975
My parents lost their independence early in retirement just a year apart from each another. My siblings and I were unprepared to handle their care. We scrambled to find information about long term care options, LTC insurance policies and various other topics including adult residential care homes, medicare and medicaid. One thing we discovered was that long term care would be very expensive.

My dad desired to go back to the home he built and lived in for almost 30 years with my mom. I just couldn't see how we could afford it. During my quest for a solution, a friend tried to show me how home equity could be used to pay for their care but when she said that it involved a "reverse mortgage" I immediately shut down the idea. I heard only negative things about it and there was no way I was going to waste my time learning about something like that.

So I sold my parents' home a few months later to get the money to finance their stay in a care home. As it turns out, I learned soon after that a reverse mortgage could have helped my folks remain in their home but it was too late! This experience sent me on a quest to educate seniors homeowners about how home equity may help them achieve their financial goals.

I became a reverse mortgage specialist in 2007. Since then, I've taught hundreds of consumers and professionals about this unique financial product. I'm honored to help older homeowners achieve their financial goals via the reverse mortgage. As a former educator, I count it a blessing to help our kupuna live better in retirement.

Please let me know how I may assist you today. :)

Aloha & Blessings,

Wendy
3 days ago
Homeowner in Honolulu
Because so much data has to be absorbed, going through reverse mortgage process can be overwhelming!

I fully recommend Mrs. Wendy Oshiro @ Open Mortgage. Heaven sent! She is trustworthy, patient, accommodating and yes, knowledgeable in her field or Reverse Mortgages. You will appreciate her guidance and expertise as a Certified Reverse Mortgage Professional.
Jun 23, 2020
FIRST OFF.....WENDY OSHIRO IS THE BOMB!!! SHE IS OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!
I am lost with words.....This whole process brought a peace of mind for my mother(who was the one- who signed) but, I was there to provide Wendy with all necessary paperwork through this process.
I had called and met Wendy many.....years ago, was always bogged down with obligations towards caring for my mom's health, safety and wellness but, finally I saw Wendy with another client , just coincidentally and that was the sign to me to move forward!
Wendy was in constant contact and communicating- giving us all options and what would be "BEST" FOR MY MOTHER and her wishes.
Wendy is "local" which gave me a "piece of mind" knowing that her endeavors were legitimate.
The reverse mortgage is regulated by the government ensuring that especially, "our seniors" are NOT taken advantage of or scammed. There is an interview done also, to ensure that the person who is applying for the reverse mortgage understands what it is all about.
For those considering for a reverse mortgage, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!
Our parents or seniors have worked very hard all of their lives for their homes and it is about time that their homes can take care of them. It is a "win, win" situation because for us, as their children, it gives us a peace of mind that money is no longer an issue as before.
You also, will be happier and enjoy life a lot more!
Please call her and see what she is all about!
Jun 15, 2020
We cannot possibly say how happy we are with the way Wendy handled our request to get a reverse mortgage! We first inquired about four years ago, knowing then that we might be a couple years away from pursuing getting one, but wanting to know what all was involved, the pros and cons, etc. Because we are owners of a condo, we learned that condos need to be qualified in a special way before a reverse mortgage can be had. Unfortunately, our condo association was not on the then approved list. She worked hard and got it on the list. Unfortunately, we let too much time pass time pass and the approval expired. Wendy could not have been more patient with us!

This year we decided to try to go for it again, and without hesitation, Wendy AGAIN worked VERY hard to get not only our condo okayed, but all the condos in our association approved as well. We personally had to do nothing. Wendy did it all! Wendy worked closely with the condo association management team and got all the approvals needed to proceed, which we did. There are a lot of application details that we needed to tend to, but Wendy friendlily kept us on track, and we were easily able to take care of them as needed.

We closed just a couple weeks ago, and could not be more satisfied with Wendy. She is quite the professional and is a very wonderful lady too! We would wholeheartedly recommend working with Wendy on a reverse mortgage!
Mar 16, 2020
Screenwriter/TV Producer
My wife and I were a little leery and skeptical about reverse mortgages... until we took the time to contact Wendy Oshiro and have her explain how it works. She also advised us to wait for better timing when rates and new rules were going into effect, which made a tremendous difference when we were ready to move ahead. Wendy never pushed us to rush into doing it and walked us through each step. Since she used to be a teacher and initially learned about reverse mortgages to help her elderly parents tap into the equity they had built up over the years, she has a different perspective than others who might be more sales driven. I'd highly recommend Wendy Oshiro to anyone who is thinking about looking into a reverse mortgage!
Mar 3, 2020
Wendy is a caring person who made sure my husband and I knew what is involved in doing a Reverse Mortgage, from start to finish. She has given us helpful advice along with referrals so that we could achievie a better financial stability. She was proficient throughout the entire process and has truly exemplified the Aloha Spirit!

Tracy & Eleanore
Oct 5, 2019
Honolulu Resident
Very knowledgeable and helpful.... always with a smile 😊 🙏🙏
Aug 20, 2019
Retired in Honolulu
Wendy has a great attitude and energy. She went beyond the call if duty to get me a reverse Mortgage, often meeting in the evenings and on weekends. Obviously, there are many options and people out there who was willing to address my situation, but Wendy was determined to make it happen and did it all with a smile on her face. I am so grateful and appreciate that I was able to connect with her.
Apr 11, 2019
Retired
Have you heard all kinds of conflicting information about reverse mortgages from your family and friends? Me too. Wendy O. will make sure you have all the correct information you need to make the decision about how well a reverse mortgage may be the right fit for your particular situation.

Wendy is a caring person, more interested in you as a person, than enticing you into a reverse mortgage. She will gather a few bits of information about you and your current situation, and then she will work her wizardry to determine if a reverse mortgage is right for you. Wendy is upfront and honest and will let you know if it is the right fit.

If the fit is right and you decide to proceed, Wendy will assist you every step of the way with the very best customer service I have ever encountered, and this is my fifth mortgage experience!!

If you are just looking for the real "skinny" on reverse mortgages or actually interested in obtaining one, you can do no better than talking it over with Wendy. Highly recommended.
Nov 29, 2018
No great words can describe how much support, guidance, care Wendy put in to helping my parents with their reverse mortgage. She understood. She was very patient and explained things to both my parents and myself each step that was taken. Wendy Oshiro is a wonderful person. Please if you have questions about reverse mortgage I recommend giving her call and speaking with her. Thank you Wendy.
Aug 1, 2018
I wanted to get a HECM for Purchase, but Wendy was realistic about the timing since my building was not FHA approved at the time, and I could not meet the sellers time constraints. I later decided to do a reverse mortgage instead and she took care of all the paperwork of getting the building re-certified. Then when we began the process for the reverse mortgage, she explained every detail, and answered all my questions. Sometimes twice!
I highly recommend Wendy to help anyone even thinking about getting help for their situation. She is honest, efficient, and makes herself available to help you every step of the way.
Jul 30, 2018
From the first meeting until the very end Wendy was very professional, knowledgeable, and personable! She was very patient in her dealings with my elderly father and I think went above and beyond to ensure his full understanding before moving forward during each stage. I feel very fortunate to have worked with her and know that she has my father's best interest at heart. Thank you WENDY!!
Jul 26, 2018
Son-in-law to Wendy Oshiro's clients
Let me first say that I do NOT write reviews. However, in this case, I feel compelled to make an exception.

My name is Maurice Yuruki and I am writing on behalf of my in-laws… More specifically, my father-in-law and my mother-in-law. They are both in their late eighties.

In recent months, my in-laws have experienced significant decline in their physical abilities. So much so, that it’s come to the point where it’s no longer “safe” for them to live independently.

As a result, the family was forced to make difficult decisions.

After stewing over several possibilities, The decision was narrowed down to hiring in-home care takers. That way, my In-laws could “age in place” (in the comfort of their home).

This is where the “problem” arose…

As you might imagine, hiring in-home care-takers is prohibitively expensive! Hence, the predicament — how do we pay for it??

Eventually, the subject of a “reverse mortgage” came up — but no one knew anything about it. At this point, it was through God’s good Grace that we heard Wendy Oshiro on a radio spot. I decided to call her, and from the very first contact, Wendy was polite and sincere. She was never pushy or “salesy”.

We arranged a meeting with the family and Wendy Oshiro took the time to thoroughly explain the reverse mortgage concept. Again, she was never pushy or “salesy”. Throughout the entire process, she was very patient, polite, and sincere. As it turned out, a “reverse mortgage” was the exact solution we needed.

To make a long story short… Wendy Oshiro held our hands and walked us through the entire process — from A to Z. All the while displaying her trademark patience and sincerity. I would not be exaggerating if I said that Wendy Oshiro went waaaay above-and-beyond the call of duty to help us. Its not some fake persona... Wendy Oshiro really is a “woman on a mission”. Her heart is to serve and to help!

All I can say is call her, I promise you, you will see this for yourself. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself writing a raving review as well!

Thanks to Wendy Oshiro, my in-laws are now living in the comfort of their home with dependable care-takers.
Apr 16, 2018
Homeowner
I assisted my sister Joann Guild
in getting her reverse mortgage with the help of Wendy Oshiro.
Wendy was so patient and very professional throughout
the very complicated procedure which required her to drive to
Joann's house several times to get her signature on the many
sheets required.
It was a joy working with Wendy and I will contact her in the future
if it becomes necessary.

sincerely,
Herman Smith
Apr 13, 2018
Wendy's personality, "bedside manner", and product knowledge made the complex process of obtaining a reverse mortgage as stress free as could be expected.

I would highly recommend Wendy to any one looking at getting a reverse mortgage.

Michael Arashiro
Jan 29, 2018
Wendy Oshiro is an absolutely amazing and my mom and I loved working with her. She gave us all the information we need to help my mom get a reverse mortgage and everything went smooth. Communication was never a problem and she was on top of everything. She is easy to work with and very pleasant. She even answered all the questions we had. Overall, I highly recommend her.
Jan 27, 2018
Retired
When we first met Wendy Oshiro, we liked her right away. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, had good communication skills, a truly professional manner, and understood our financial goals. It took nearly six month to obtain approval for R/M application due to several challenges, but she handled all and always informed us on the progress. We never felt like giving it up since she consistently encouraged us and we all shared sense of accomplishment when it was approved. We are fully satisfied with her reliable and dedicated attitude. Wendy is a hardworking, top performing R/M professional. She has our highest recommendation.
Jan 25, 2018
Adviser
We had a long and grueling time getting our loan, but Wendy was always there
to keep us updated and doing all she could to push it along. Wendy is very professional and knowledgeable. I am glad we did this together. Wendy made it much easier to believe it was going to happen. I would not have wanted to do this with anyone else.
Aug 16, 2017
It was a pleasure working with Wendy. She has an extensive knowledge of the reverse mortgage process and made sure everything went smoothly. I do feel confident recommending her to others!
Jul 3, 2017
Honolulu Homeowners
We would like to express our deepest gratitude for this beautiful young woman, Wendy Oshiro, who helped us obtain our reverse mortgage about a couple of months ago.

I was opposed to (a reverse mortgage) for awhile because of hearing negative things about it. She was highly recommended by another lender who didn't offer the reverse mortgage. The lender said Wendy would be the right person to help us. At first, I was reluctant to meet her. However, after agreeing to a meeting, it only took a few minutes to feel moved by her sincerity and professionalism.

I truly believe God sent her to help us obtain our reverse mortgage. We are so relieved things are so improved for us financially. Wendy's beauty is reflected in how she handles her profession and we are so thankful God placed her in our lives. Truly, she's a special "gem."

With Much Gratitude,
The Sakanashis.
Jun 14, 2017
Wendy Oshiro is an absolute gem to work with. I worked with her to obtain a reverse mortgage for my parents who live in Hawaii. She made the extra effort to help me with documents and anything else, even after I returned home to San Diego. She is pleasant and easy to work with. She is also patient and willing to answer any questions. Communication was not a problem as I could call, text or email Wendy any time. She replied promptly and kept me updated. I highly recommend her.
May 20, 2017
Daughter and caregiver of mom
A friend suggested that my mom should consider getting a reverse mortgage for her expanding caregiving expenses. I was reluctant because we both didn't know how a reverse mortgage worked and I only heard negative comments about it.
After several months of worry, I kept hearing Wendy Oshiro's voice on the radio telling her story about her parents and how she wants to help others in need. I decided to call Wendy to inquire about how a reverse mortgage really worked and how it could help my mom.
From the first phone call and meeting her in person, Wendy was pleasant, caring and knowledgeable in her business. With that, we decided to go through with it. During the whole process, we were very comfortable working with Wendy and felt a trustworthiness in her. Everything went smoothly and quickly because of her efficiency.
Today, our family feels very blessed that Wendy has helped my mom in getting the quality care she deserves!
Apr 28, 2017
Wendy was awesome. We contacted her to help my mom with a reverse mortgage on her home. Wendy was so reassuring through the whole process. She is extremely knowledgeable about the process and procedures and she was able to explain everything to my mom in clear terms that she could understand and be comfortable with. Wendy was always available to answer any questions and we appreciated her professionalism and attention to detail. What really stood out with us was her genuine concern for my mom. My mother is now living with financial freedom. She is able to pay her monthly expenses and have money left over to do things for herself. I am extremely grateful to Wendy for helping my mom get the financial security she deserves. I would absolutely recommend Wendy for anyone looking for a reverse mortgage.
Apr 24, 2017
Wendy was recommended to me via Bank of Hawaii officer. My case for getting a Reverse Mortgage was quite complicated. My condo association had let our HUD approval lapse and we had to start from scratch. Much documentation was required. Luckily I had a very cooperative Resident Manager who helped out a lot. Wendy was patient and determined which was truly all that saved me. She worked hard, was always pleasant, showed she knew her subject matter, and most of all understood all of my emotions throughout the process. It was long and arduous, but Wendy never flinched. Thanks to Wendy, I recently got my Reverse Mortgage, which has saved me from losing my condo. I can't think of finding a better person to take me through to victory. Wendy is the best and I highly recommend her.
Jan 17, 2017
I definitely recommend Wendy Oshiro if you are looking to get a reverse mortgage.
She gave me excellent service throughout the application process.
She has a thorough understanding of the reverse mortgage instrument, and diligently and patiently addressed each of my concerns and questions.
A reverse mortgage can be overwhelming to the uninitiated, but Wendy's expert knowledge and guidance helped me to make the right choices that fit my needs.
She also walked me through each step of the application process, which allowed things to proceed without any delays. In no time at all I received my first check.
Thank you, Wendy.
Jan 11, 2017
I finally made a decision to do a Reverse Mortgage. I wanted a lender here in Hawaii to help me with the process. Upon making a few phone calls Wendy, was highly rec.ommended. I contacted Wendy and I was very happy I did because she was pleasant, understanding of my needs and very informative on questions I had about the Reverse Mortgage. Any further questions I had we communicated mostly by emai which was convenient for mel. When I had a question(s) she responded quickly even after hours. I would definitely, recommend Wendy to assist anyone who are thinking of doing a Reverse Mortgage. SHE IS THE BEST!

My Associations