John Lee, Esq.

VP, Account Executive IPX1031 Northeast and Mid-Atlantic Attorney, MBA, Qualified Real Estate Instructor(CE/CEC/CLE)
John is a member of the New York State Bar and is admitted to practice before the Federal Southern and Eastern District courts. John is a Qualified Real Estate Instructor for Continuing Education Courses (CEC). He also teaches Continuing Legal Education (CLE) to attorneys, which is also available to CPAs, accountants, real estate investment brokers and tax professionals. John is an accomplished attorney with over 20 years of experience in law, finance, tax, commercial real estate, estate planning, wealth management, corporate structuring, litigation and securities law. He holds a Master in Business Administration (MBA) degree with a concentration in financial planning and accounting from the Graduate School of Business at the University of Rochester. With his Juris Doctor (JD) from Cardozo School of Law and an MBA, John bridges the gap between law and finance by serving clients to maximize wealth and minimize costs. John was not only a general practitioner representing myriad clients ranging from real estate transactions to corporate structuring, but he also worked as an attorney at top international law firms and financial institutions. He brings a highly specialized skill set that enables him to bring the best legal, wealth preservation through IRC Section 1031 tax deferrals and investment strategy to IPX1031 clients.
Pinned Recommendation
Mar 5, 2019
Professor & Tax Parrtner
John is the consummate QI professional. He is conscientious and attentive, putting his clients' needs foremost. He has a diverse and accomplished legal and business background, which gives him a deep and nuanced perspective of issues that his clients face and helps him recognize and address client issues in an efficient manner. John is well-known and well-regarded in the real estate and legal communities. His access to such resources helps him connect his clients with the person who is best suited to address his clients' business and legal needs.
Dec 19, 2019
Sales Executive
John presented on IRC 1031 exchanges and title insurance 101 for us in East Hanover, NJ on December 4th. He did an excellent job, the presentation was informative and he was able to handle all questions from a room of about 50 attorneys.
Dec 11, 2019
VP & NJ State Manager of NJ Direct Operations for the Fidelity National Title Group
“John and I co-presented on Title 101 and IRC 1031 last week in Hanover, NJ for attorneys and CPAs. As the State Manager of Chicago Title New Jersey (FNTG Direct Operations), John and I tag teamed in the Q&A and John did extremely well not only presenting the complexities of the TCJA and 1031 tax-deferrals with an involved audience, but also fielded difficult questions ranging from financial accounting to local and Federal tax laws. We received all positive feedback and was well worth our efforts…”
Dec 9, 2019
“John presented on Title 101 and IRC 1031 last week in Hanover, NJ for attorneys and CPAs. John did an excellent job!”
Dec 9, 2019
New Jersey Direct Operations Counsel, FNTG
John and I co-presented on Title 101 and IRC 1031 last week in East Hanover, New Jersey. The seminar was for continuing legal education credits, and the attendees included our attorney customers and prospects. The presentation was very well received, and John did an excellent job explaining the complexities of the TCJA and 1031 tax-deferrals. Being real estate and tax attorneys, the attendees asked challenging, complex questions, but John did a fantastic job. John has also agreed to participate in the New Jersey State Bar Association’s annual Real Estate Conference, which I am organizing this coming April.
Nov 15, 2019
Partner at Song Law Group; NY & NJ Real Estate Attorney
Last night, John Presented on TCJA Updates, IRC 1031 Exchanges and Opportunity Zones to the Asian American Bar Association to attorney and CPAs. As a Real Estate Developer and Investment Professional that works with myriad of clients, John did a fantastic job of explaining the advantages of a 1031 cap gains deferral. He was engaging and answered complicated questions regarding the complex nuance and regulations…etc.”
Nov 15, 2019
Principal of Century New York City Regional Center
I attended a presentation by John Lee in Manhattan in the evening of Thursday November 14, 2019. John gave a talk on TCJA Updates, IRC 1031 Exchanges and Opportunity Zones to the Asian American Bar Association to attorney, CPAs, real estate developers, and bankers. I was very impressed as the presentation was clear and informative. I learned a lot from John.
Nov 15, 2019
Founder and CEO of Century Development Group
Last night, John Presented on TCJA Updates, IRC 1031 Exchanges and Opportunity Zones to the Asian American Bar Association to attorney and CPAs. As a Real Estate Developer and Investment Professional that works with myriad of clients, John did a fantastic job of explaining the advantages of a 1031 cap gains deferral. He was engaging and answered complicated questions regarding the complex nuance and regulations…etc.
Nov 15, 2019
Manager
Last night, John Presented on TCJA Updates, IRC 1031 Exchanges and Opportunity Zones to the Asian American Bar Association to attorney and CPAs that I hosted at my bank branch at First Republic. As a Banking Professional that works with myriad of clients, John did a great job of explaining the advantages of a 1031 cap gains deferral. He was engaging and answered complicated questions regarding the complex nuance and regulations, and we all enjoyed the seminar and learn.
Nov 15, 2019
Real Estate Attorney
Last night, John Presented on TCJA Updates, IRC 1031 Exchanges and Opportunity Zones to the Asian American Bar Association to attorney and CPAs. As a Real Estate Attorney that works with myriad of clients, John did a fantastic job of explaining the advantages of a 1031 cap gains deferral. He was engaging and answered complicated questions regarding the complex nuance and regulations. He is a great presenter!
Nov 14, 2019
Financial Advisor
“John and I co-presented on TCJA updates, IRC 1031 and DST Replacement Property investment strategies on 11/13/2019 in Parsippany, NJ for attorneys and CPAs. John did well not only presenting the complexities of the TCJA and 1031 tax-deferrals but he also fielded myriad of difficult questions ranging from financial accounting to local tax laws. We received all positive feedback and was well worth our efforts, Further, he was very engaging and kept the discussion flowing well and sparked interest from the audience--and initiated significant interest in services from our firms.”
Nov 13, 2019
Mortgage Loan Originator
John presented on 1031 Exchanges and Opportunity Zones to the CPA Club in Ocean County, NJ. John did well presenting the complexities of a 1031 Exchange when a client sells real estate. He was very engaging and kept the discussion flowing as well, helped the group and initiated significant interest in services from our group.
Nov 13, 2019
Attorney
John Lee provided an excellent overview of 1031 exchanges. His ability to field questions from the audience was outstanding . I was very glad I attended this informative presentation as it is an added dimension to my knowledge base which will enable me to better serve my clients.
Nov 13, 2019
Vice President, CRPS, CFP
As a CPA and investment Professional at Morgan Stanley (and president of the club), I attended the CPA club of Ocean County and I had the opportunity to attend a 1031 Exchange & Opportunity Zones Seminar”-- John did a great job presenting the benefits of a Like-Kind Exchange to a live crowd. He helped illustrate the benefits of a 1031 capital gains deferral and also comparing it to Oz’s…"
Nov 12, 2019
Senior Underwriting Counsel, First American Title Insurance Company
I am the Chair of the Pennsylvania Land Title Institute (PLYI). PLTI was fortunate to have John deliver an educational seminar on October 10th on the intersection of 1031 Exchanges and Title Insurance. John delivered! The audience could see that John really knew his stuff. They gave John the highest rating on their evaluation forms. I hope that John will be able to present for PLTI in the future.
Oct 14, 2019
John you information was great. It has been some time since I reviewed 1031 exchanges. Your information was very good.
Oct 14, 2019
CPA, practice owner
Thank you to John Lee for the informative seminar. His presentation was clear and understandable with questions accepted along the way. With the new tax law changes I had reviewed the new concepts last year, but it was a great refresher plus I learned about new tools that the investment community has to facilitate these exchanges. The seminar was time well spent.
Sep 24, 2019
Esq., CPA, Professor
John presented on 1031 Exchanges and Opportunity Zones to attorneys, CPAs and real estate investors. As a practicing attorney in NJ focusing on real estate matters, I found John's presentation to be quite helpful! He did a fantastic job discussing the rules and regulations of an exchange, and added examples to help with the audience's understanding of technical terms and requirements. He encouraged participation including a Q&A session and sparked interest among those in attendance. I was especially grateful for John's time in answering additional questions after the event. I now have a "go to" for my clients involved in 1031 transactions.
Sep 24, 2019
Vice President
John and I presented on 1031 exchanges and Opportunity Zones to attorney, CPAs and real estate investors. John did well presenting the complexities of a 1031 Exchange when a client sells real estate. He contributed to an engaging and well thought out discussion that helped the group and initiated significant interest in services from both our firms.
Sep 23, 2019
Realtor, Sales Associate at Village Square Realtors and REI of Multifamily Properties
John presented on 1031 Exchanges to the real estate agents and brokers at Village Square Realtors in Montclair last week. As a seasoned Real Estate professional that works with myriad of clients and investors, John did a fantastic job of explaining the advantages of a 1031 cap gains deferral to the brokers. He was amicable and engaging—opening an interesting dialogue and sharing valuable information to us, for us and for our clients. As an investor and in need of such information, John's speaking style and obvious experience and wealth of knowledge left me feeling that I would definitely like to have follow up discussions with John and would be happy to enlist his services myself and recommend him to clients. I'm not able to make all the meetings and presentations at our office, but I'm very happy and grateful that I made it to this meeting and having the opportunity to hear John's presentation! I look forward to finding the opportunity to work with John in the future and will be sure to pass along his information to those I speak to at the many investor meet ups that I attend.
Sep 23, 2019
Senior Sales Executive
John presented on 1031 Exchanges to the real estate brokers at Village Square Realtors. As a NJ Title Agent and seasoned Real Estate professional that works with sophisticated brokers and investors, John did an excellent job of breaking down the advantages of a 1031 cap gains deferral to a diverse group of agents and real estate brokers. He was amicable and engaging—and my clients were very impressed with his presentation.
Sep 20, 2019
John presented on 1031 Exchanges to the real estate brokers at our office this week. As a seasoned Real Estate professional, John did a great job of explaining the advantages of a 1031 cap gains deferral to the brokers. He was very professional, knowledgeable, cordial and likable. I would highly recommend him to my clients
Aug 30, 2019
President
On behalf of the Rutherford Rotary, we thank you for that amazing presentation. You made it fun and a healthy learning environment. You embraced questions from the audience and made sure to take your time around the more sensitive important area. The audience was engaging with you which made it seem they were intrigued and paying attention. Your presentation overall was much appreciated. The supporting handouts will make it easy for us to refer back go something that may have gone over our heads. After the presentation I received numerous messages saying how good the meeting was. Thank you so much for taking your time to meet and discuss.
Aug 12, 2019
President, Metz &b Sons, Inc.
In business as in life we have choices.
Metz & Sons, Inc has investment rental property in Bethany Beach DE (Sea Colony) and the closing attorney that closed that property provided us with two suggestions for a 1031 exchange agent. John Lee was one of those recommendations. After speaking with both of them and finding both to be experienced and qualified, there was just something about John that gave me comfort with his ability to walk me through the process. While I did not commit to him immediately, John was always able to answer follow-up questions for me. It was his attention to detail, providing information to educate me on LKE that won me over. Over the past 5 months, John and I have discussed the intricacies of our 1031 exchange and as a Entrepreneur and Real Estate investor John helped illustrate the utility of financing/refinancing in conjunction with a 1031 capital gains deferral for individuals and companies looking to leverage their income producing properties with better mortgage rate strategies. Members of the IPX 1031 team working with John are also cut from the same high level of customer service and attention to detail. All emails sent get a timely acknowledgement so that I am never left wondering if it was received, read and understood. I would not hesitate to recommend John to others.
Jun 11, 2019
Mortgage Loan Officer
John's presentation is not only of value and helpful but his strategies will further clients ability to build and protect their wealth. Thanks John excited to work with you.
May 24, 2019
Licensed Production Partner
John presented on 1031 exchanges in Pittsburgh, PA and as a mortgage finance professional that works with sophisticated investors, John did a good job presenting the benefits of a Like-Kind Exchange. He helped illustrate the utility of financing/refinancing in conjunction with a 1031 capital gains deferral for individuals and companies looking to leverage their income producing properties with better mortgage rate strategies. Having a resource like John will impact my clients and all me continue to grow my business.

IPX1031 Northeast and Mid-Atlantic - Team Members